reviews

Book Review – The Raven King

Book: The Raven King (The Raven Cycle 4) by Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: April 26th 2016
Genre: Paranormal
Rating: 3,5 out of 5 stars

8C93B49F-68F9-4402-80B5-60CE5F7E7315_zpstqwbkpl4

Other reviews of books in this series
The Raven Boys // The Dream Thieves // Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the other books in this series

Synopsis

All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Review

He was a book, and he was holding his final pages,  and he wanted to get to the end to find out how it went, and he didn’t want it to be over.

I think Gansey just said how we all felt holding this last book in our hands. Wrapping up a highly anticipated end book to a very popular series is always very hard. I had my expectations, I can’t deny that.  I can say for one though that I am glad I was able to read this series over the course of a month, and did not have to wait for the release of the next one. I don’t think my heart could have dealt with that. Maggie Stiefvater really made me so invested in these Raven Boys and Blue, but also Maura and Gray. I was sad for Gray nearing the end. It’s not fair. There is something so flawed but likeable about them. I just want to hug them all. Well maybe not Ronan, he might kick me. Ultimately this book had a similar problem to Blue Lily, Lily Blue for me. At about the half way point my emotions were already frayed from what happened there with our characters. I almost cried for one of them, and I don’t easily cry with a book. We were already at a high tension point and as we moved towards the last 50-60 pages or so for two things we knew were going to happen from the start it kept building. Finding Glendower and Gansey.  One of them deflated the tension in the book for me completely and even though it tried after that to grasp it back, it just didn’t work for me. I couldn’t find that same tension back in the story. Some answers also felt a bit too easy for me personally. I also have to say that the addition of Henry, especially from the midpoint on confused me. I feel like he was added to replace Noah, and I couldn’t get used to him being around. I don’t dislike him, I’d just rather not have seen him being injected into the group or have him be at least more to the side. 4E86134B-8C1C-4C69-8FE2-01BABAD8365E_zpsx8icgek2
Throughout the book I wondered a lot about the roles Artemis and Gwenllian would play in the ending. For me their roles felt so minimal from what I was expecting. Though I found it very interesting to hear about Blue’s genetics. Also the addition of the twins I wondered if it was truly nessecary to add them.

Regardless I don’t think this is a bad final book, I just don’t think it quite lives up to the first two books. I wasn’t completely satisfied. But as I said at the start of this review, that is so hard to achieve with a book from such a popular series. Full with characters that we love. I do believe the author wrote the ending that she envisioned. And perhaps I’ll feel different when I reread this series in the future. I feel each book has so many hints and things that refer to future things that you don’t automatically pick up in a first read through.

‘I want you to give me a straight answer,’ Declan said. ‘Are you even thinking about going to college?’

‘No.’ It was satisfying and terrible to say out loud, a trigger pulled, the explosion over within a second. Ronan looked around for bodies.

Declan swayed: the bullet had clearly at least grazed him near a vital organ. With effort he got the arterial spray under control.  

What I predicted in my review of the first book happened. Ronan became my favorite.  This little section is what I remember most from this book and made me laugh the most. I had to put the book away to just laugh and roll my eyes at him. A few times. I’m so glad to hear that Maggie will most likely write a Ronan centered trilogy. I can’t wait.

4 thoughts on “Book Review – The Raven King

  1. Yeah… everything you said, but you already know that. This would be my exact review. After BL, LB stumbling along I was expecting this book to blow me out of the water and all we got was another anticlimax. And Kevin, ugh. I am curious what you will pick up with a reread. Whenever you plan to do it let me know and I just might join you! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

