top ten tuesday

TTT #64 – Audiobooks I’d Like to Try

Audiobooks are a rising star amongst many readers. They make it easy to finish books when you are busy doing household chores or driving. And some are made into a bit of an art.

Unfortunately I haven’t been able to get into audiobooks like others have been able to. I tried one, Dodger by Terry Pratchett, but that didn’t quite work for me. I didn’t hate it but as my mind wandered I would miss pieces. I’m scared that I would have that more often.

Still there are some that sound interesting as an audiobook. You will see that this list mostly consists of books I have already read as I think that would be best for me to give audio books another try. I didn’t actually look if these are all available as audio books. But then they should be made into audio books.

This was prompted by The Broke and the Bookish with this week it being all about audio freebie.

āšœ

D0F7E7DF-4C82-47F8-AC0F-796524672D50_zpskgbm8xsn

  • The Bartimaeus trilogy by Jonathan Stroud
    I would love to hear how this trilogy would be done with Bartimaeus and his footnotes. Bartimaeus has such a distinct voice in the books that I think that would be hard to get right.
  • The Demon King (Seven Realms 1) by Cinda Williams Chima
    I’d also love to try this favorite book.
  • The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle 1) by Maggie Stiefvater
    I wonder how the characters and the general feeling of the book would come across on audio.
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
    I heard this audio book is rather good.
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman
    I haven’t read this book but I heard there is an audio book with a full cast. That sounds rather interesting.
  • Illuminae (Illuminae Files 1) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
    I’ve seen people reading this as audio book and I can’t keep wondering how that would be. Do you need the book next to it or is it vividly described?
28 thoughts on “TTT #64 – Audiobooks I’d Like to Try

  1. I’ve wondered about trying Neil’s novels for a while now, but I’ve not picked any of them up nor have I ever read an audio book. Hope you enjoy these when you listen to them, Annemieke!

    …and thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not against audiobooks it’s just that my attention wanders too. If I’m driving it’s okay but if I’m home doing other stuff I keep having to go back. So I don’t read very many. I’m wondering about Illuminae too- how would that work? Probably still good just missing that little extra oomph from some of the images…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m also not really into audiobooks, but I would like to try some more. I’m afraid I will just stop whatever it is I’m doing and focus on the book. So I’d still get nothing else done šŸ™‚ Would be interested in hearing The Raven Boys as an audiobook though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaah, that really sucks. šŸ˜¦ I found a ttt that reccomended classics to read through audio books as well. I hadn’t really considered that. Hearing pride and prejudice or sherlock holmes that way would be interesting. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I heard someone else mention that his female voices weren’t the greatest.

      Also just a note: I haven’t been able to come back to your blog since my husband changed something on this computer. The comment box won’t load and no matter what settings I change it won’t appear. But it should appear on my laptop so you are on my to do list to visit for comments. It just is going to take me awhile with the baby. Just so you know because I haven’t commented back in a while. ā¤

      Like

  4. I found my mind wondered when listening but on advice from a friend I stuck to it and it definitely got much better. I have recently just finished the first 2 Game of Thrones series and I know I would never have waded through the book. It helps that my hands are usually full of glue/paint/soil so I have to concentrate so I don’t try and rewind šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

