Sunday Post

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #44

 

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

Personal

Good day to you all on this Sunday. Merijn is now a little over 3 weeks old. And I had my first week with the days alone with him, and getting up in the middle of the night all nights. Which is really only one moment somewhere between 2 and 4.  For the most part that went fine. Too bad for him that 3 days were super hot here. He did not enjoy that very much on the first day. We also took him out on his first larger trip out of the house to the Ikea and a book store of course on Saturday which went fine. He just wouldn’t drink at the Ikea.

As for me, I got a small reality check as to recovery on Thursday afternoon when my stomach started stabbing agian because I had walked a little too far and had been tidying up. It is frustrating. My lower stomach still feels very bruised. But on the up that made me feel okay with not doing anything on Friday and spend mostly reading in between Merijn feedings and moments. I read over 400 pages which felt pretty good to me.

Did you know that whatsapp is going to stop having updates for older phones like my blackberry? So at the end of the year I can’t use it anymore. Blah.

There was also lots of drama over on twitter. Too many things to really mention. But I do think it is sad that as an author you can’t voice your opinion anymore without being attacked with 1 star reviews on Goodreads. Sad world it is becoming really.

‘Sometimes fries are the only way to keep you sane.’

-Lucy, The Creeping Shadow (Lockwood & Co. 4) by Jonathan Stroud

So very, very true Lucy.

Currently Reading

The Graces by Laure Eve
So far, not impressed

Blog Posts

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #43

TTT #62 – TV Shows to Watch If You Like Sci-Fi
Books and Cats #4
Creatures of the Night Tag

TTT 63 – All Time Favorite Second Book in Series
Dutch Book Weeks

Reviews

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle 2) by Maggie Stiefvater
Firefight (The Reckoners 2) by Brandon Sanderson

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle 3) by Maggie Stiefvater
The Elfstones of Shannara (The Original Shannara trilogy 2) by Terry Brooks

Instagram

Best liked on my Bookstagram these last two weeks. Find me there! My username is signourney, as it is almost everywhere.

Elsewhere

I suck. But I only have one thing to really mention here. I’ll try and be better in the next few weeks.

★ Cameron from Bookmovieguy on Booktube uploaded his huge library tour a few weeks ago. I am in love and total goals right there.

17 thoughts on “(Biweekly) Sunday Post #44

  1. Cute pic! And way to go getting him to a bookstore already! Young readers are made early. 🙂

    I’ve managed to avoid Twitter drama for the most part (knocks on wood) but I think I did hear some of that. But yeah opinions are just that, and we’re not all going to agree, but I might disagree w/ an author personally but I hopefully wouldn’t one star their book because of that?

    Love that quote about fries!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes they are 😀

      It just keeps popping up on my feed. The sad thing is that these people couldn’t have even read the book since it is far from being out (as in no arcs either) so they really went out of their way to leave her book 1 star reviews on Goodreads.

      It is a great quote.

      Like

  2. Awww Merijn is so cute!!! Honestly, I don’t even know what the Twitter drama is that everyone is talking about since I hardly even use Twitter and I avoid drama as much as possible. I feel very out of the loop lol. But yes, fries, very helpful for sanity. That’s why I have some in my freezer right now 😉 (OK that’s not why I have them, but they’re yummy, so close enough!) Feel better and have a wonderful week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Merijn is so SWEET! I cannot believe it has been three weeks! Yeah, that Twitter/Gooodreads thing was horrible. I am goiing to talk about it on my Thursday Thoughts feature. 400 pages is fabulous. I have been reading a bit more than last week the last couple of days. I featured your Dutch Book Weeks post in my Around the Web. Have a fanastic week. And take it easy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s a cutie-pie. Time is flying by to be honest.
      Glad to hear you are reading a bit more now too. It sucks when you don’t have the time or the frame of mind to pick up a book.

      Like

  4. What a cute photo! And sorry to hear you overdid things. I had some surgery a couple of months ago and one day went a bit too far and pushed a bit too hard and my stomach (where I’d had the surgery) hurt and I felt like I was going to drop to the ground.

    I missed the Twitter drama as well, but then again I tend to binge on Twitter – just checking every now and then!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

