reviews

Book Review – Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Book: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle 3) by Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: October 21st 2014
Genre: Paranormal
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

B8AE28E2-BE28-4273-9C87-8B8B7FBCEC4C_zpspumgliou

Other books in this series I reviewed
The Raven Boys // The Dream Thieves

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the first and second book in this series

Synopsis

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up. Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs. The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost. Friends can betray. Mothers can disappear. Visions can mislead. Certainties can unravel.

Review

 ‘The Raven King, make way for the Raven King.’

Blue Lily, Lily Blue is the third installment to The Raven Cycle. I can honestly say that I am a little in love with this series. While I still love this third book, I did think it was a bit weaker than the other two so far. In general this book has a different feel to it. It has such a sad undertone. Don’t get me wrong, I still laughed. But we all knew starting this series there were likely going to be some heart ripping moments. And there were in this book.. From Ronan’s secret spilling, to the tomb, to the deaths. Certainly up to what I shall refer as the Persephone moment, this book was solid. But they were in the middle of the book. After the Persephone moment we still had another 25-20% or so to go. And the ending lacked a certain excitement. For me it felt like we already had hit the high point and the ending couldn’t quite fight with that. I also felt that compared to other bits and pieces of the plot, this ending just went a tad too easy and was slightly predictable. But on the up, I now know where Neeve is which is what I was wondering throughout The Dream Thieves. There was also the addition of Greenmantle who we learned about in the previous book. We got some chapters in his point of view and got to know his wife. For me they weren’t a great addition. They were slightly annoying, and they only had a real role to play in the ending.

‘And something else: friendship of the unshakeable kind. Friendship you could swear on. That could be busted nearly to breaking and come back stronger than before.’

Maggie Stiefvater does have a way with words that touch you, grab you. There are a lot of great quotes throughout this book. And the characterization is still so strong. They all are so flawed, but human and likeable. That remains one of the strongest bits about these books. And they all grow and develop. Especially Adam and Ronan in this book. And their friendship isn’t about roses. They have their problems and issues. And they work through them in some way. Some things they don’t necessarily talk about. Not all things in friendships require talking. Sometimes you can see it in somebody’s body language that they appreciate something. I think that was the case with Adam sometimes in this. I also loved the part where Blue thought about how they were all a little in love with each other. Because I think it is true. It shows throughout the books.

 ‘It was a shame she and Ronan didn’t get along better, because they were different brands of the same impossible stuff.’

0A07009B-033A-4581-BAA1-D7BC1ACFAC0C_zpsyzn0hl2u

It is interesting how Adam thought this, because Blue does have a bit of fierceness in this. I do think that they have the least bonding going on as they can’t quite grasp each other, Blue and Ronan. There was an attempt in the ending I suppose but I don’t think that quite worked out.

Other duo’s got their bonding moments though. I especially loved the bonding between Blue and Mr. Gray. I am liking Gray more and more, and I love how Blue has embraced him as her mother’s lover and a part of her life. Another interesting duo is Persephone and Adam. Persephone clearly knows a lot and wants to help Adam, but she isn’t quite so straight forward as he’d like her to be. They do have an odd understanding between them, and she gives him insights on himself sometimes.

Another bond Adam has intensified is with Ronan. Something that started in The Dream Thieves continued on in Blue Lily, Lily Blue. They struggled still in arguments, but there is clearly something between them. Ronan even showed Adam things that he hasn’t shown to Gansey.  I have a feeling of something heartsy here…

There is also clearly something between Gansey and Blue that is growing bigger and bigger.  There is no way they can escape these feelings they have for each other but they also can’t do anything with it.  So there is a lot of frustration between them. I’m so curious to see how that will continue  in the Raven King. Because I am honestly rooting for these two.

And the last little bond that I found interesting was Gansey and Mallory. Mallory comes to visit, to see the ley line. He is an interesting character. I can understand how a young Gansey might be drawn to him. And thinking about a young Gansey pains me, to know how difficult it was for him to deal with certain things. Hugs to young Gansey forever.

 ‘As she did, she could feel something inside her begin to hum agreeably, a sensation very much like the satisfaction that came from aligning book spines on a shelf.’

I love this quote.

6 thoughts on “Book Review – Blue Lily, Lily Blue

  1. You were really perceptive picking up on the developing Ronan and Adam changes so early. I didn’t see it until it was stuck in my face. Ha ha. I agree with the anticlimax of the last 20-25%, too. I really warmed up to Mr. Gray in this book also. Mr. and Mrs. Greenmantle, I think could have been combined with those other characters in The Raven King (I know you know who I mean) and skipped adding even more extraneous characters. I agree on all the points you have made..And as you said, despite all the criticism, her writing is so sublime it still emerges as as much loved book. I love your flower toed shoes, by the way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I somehow seem to have a radar for romance even though I don’t even enjoy reading about it 9 times out of 10.
      Really agree about Greenmantle yeah.

      Haha, yeah the shoes are great. Now I just need to start wearing them 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

