top ten tuesday

TTT 63 – All Time Favorite Second Book in Series

The second book syndrome is something we all dread. There is nothing worse then loving a first book in a new series only to have the second book completely dissapoint you. I believe this can happen to not only trilogies but four part series as well by the way. However it is more likely to happen with trilogies.

There is nothing worse than reading a second book and wondering how this could come from that amazing first book. Plots that drag on to the point where you wonder if this book is really nessecary or characters who got a personality transplant. And I can really go with the flow with character growth but sometimes characterization goes so off course it’s hard to recognize a character back besides for their name.

But let’s talk about the good. Because there are of course books out there that do not suffer from this dreaded syndrome! Here are some of my favorite ones.

This week The Broke and the Bookish prompt was ten all time favorite books of x genre. Obviously I took that slightly different as I feel we just did a genre/setting  one not too long ago, didn’t we? 

  1. The Golem’s Eye (Bartimaeus 2) by Jonathan Stroud 
    Surprise, a Stroud book! You weren’t expecting that one at all, right? Because it is only one of my all time favorite books. I feel like this book takes it up a notch from The Amulet of Samarkand. Nathaniel has gotten older, Bartimaeus has gotten sassier and we get to know some more of Kitty. Lots of things just fall into place with this one.
  2. Het Stille Labyrint (De Verborgen Universiteit 2) by Natalie Koch // My Review
    While this book is quite massive like the first book there is still so much to love about this world and the characters in this. I felt that the plot took a step up from the first book.
  3. The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle 2) by Maggie Stiefvater // My Review
    This second book steadily continues on from where The Raven Boys left off. There is so much to love in it. From the characters to some of the events.
  4. The Kingdom (The Graveyard Queen 2) by Amanda Stevens // My Review
    After reading the first book I had some doubts about this series, but this second book took that completely away from me. We learned more about our main character along with her and I felt that the change of setting was really beneficial to her.
  5. Murder of Crows (The Others 2) by Anne Bishop // My Review
    With the first book of The Others I had the same feeling as with The Graveyard Queen. There was just so much to get into with this world. But once dealt with that this second book took off right away.

So these are the top 5 that spring to my mind. What are some of your all time favorite second books in trilogies or series?

27 thoughts on “TTT 63 – All Time Favorite Second Book in Series

  1. Great idea to do second books! I’m pretty unfamiliar with these but the raven Boys obviously I’ve heard of- and it’s nice that it continues the good momentum. Stiefvater seems to do well. 🙂 One of my favorite second books is Stone of Farewell- it’s a big doorstopper fantasy series but that second book is so good. It’s nice when that happens. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice spin on the topic! It is true that a lot of sequels suffer from Second Book Syndrome and that’s a pity. The Dream Thieves was indeed amazing – I even loved it more than the first book! I haven’t read the rest yet, but I have the first book of The Others ready on my shelf to be read soon. I didn’t know Jonathan Stroud, but I’ll definitely be checking his books out!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice theme! I love when second books are awesome, it just drives the high expectations even higher! The Dream Thieves is great 🙂 I think one of my favorite second books in a series is Words of Radiance, book 2 in the Stormlight Archive, it just takes the characters and the world already established in the first book and goes wild with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh wow, I can’t even think Annemieke! I’ve joined this linkup for the first time today and had so many inclusions I was going to put in my ‘fave series’. Perhaps that can be for another time!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas is definitely better than the original book of the series, I think. Also, I (*gasp*) really thought Tolkien’s The Two Towers a lot better than Fellowship of the Ring. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, mijn geheugen is zo’n ramp hé. Ik heb het onlangs nog met een boek gehad. Eigenlijk had ik me al helemaal ingesteld op dat klassieke 2d book syndrome en toen bleek het tweede deel zelfs nog beter te zijn … Oh ja, het tweede boek uit de Firebird-reeks van Claudia Gray.

    Net als jij had ik echter hetzelfde gevoel bij Zwarte veren en Het stille labyrint. Ik moet ooit nog eens verderlezen in de reeks van Amanda Stevens. Tot nu toe heb ik enkel het eerste deel gelezen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh het tweede Firebird book is inderdaad ook wat beter dan het eerste.
      Ik ben echt heel verdrietig dat de nl uitgever het derde deel niet op nieuw gaat uitgeven in pb van Amanda Stevens. Mijn pre order bij Bruna is gisteren gecanceld. 😦 Huilen.

      Like

  7. Of recent times it would have to be Gemina, to follow on from the amazing Illuminae is a big deal and it is just as good if not better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

