Book Tags

Creatures of the Night Tag

Back in May the lovely Marcia from Oog op de Toekomst tagged me to do the Creatures of the Night Tag. In this tag you name your favorite book with each supernatural creature. This I found hard. While I have watched a lot of things with some of these creatures, a lot of books didn’t quite appeal to me with these creatures which makes this a hard tag to give answers to.

 ⚜

Vampire

Back in high school I used to create a lot of vampire characters for stories. It was one of my favorite things to play with. I can’t say I actually read a lot of books with vampires though. I suppose it would mess with my idea of my own vampires in my head. At one point I thought the Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice sounded interesting. However after reading the first book, Interview with a Vampire, I realized that wasn’t for me.

Lately I am not drawn to vampire books at all. The only real vampire books on my shelves at the moment are The Morganville Vampire books by Rachel Caine, a long series about vampires in a town. I read the first book, and while I wasn’t impressed I do want to continue the serie at the moment.

Werewolf

Werewolf was not a creature that every really appealed to me. Even now I am struggling of thinking of books that had werewolves in them. I can only think of Twilight and The Darkest Powers. Of which I liked The Darkest Powers by Kelley Armstrong a whole lot more. But that had to do with the character, and not the actual creature.

Fae

Of this creature species I have read more. They often come by in fantasy type books in various ways. But two books that spring to mind where I enjoyed reading about them were The Mysteries by Lisa Tuttle and The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black. Both have the more darker representation of them, and I like that.

Zombie

Have I ever read a book about zombies? I don’t think I have. I do however own Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. So I can rectify this. I had actually meant to read it before the movie came out earlier this year, but that obviously didn’t happen.

Ghosts

Ghosts also appear in various type of fantasy books, sometimes as side characters. Just think of the Harry Potter books. But for this I have chosen to go with The Graveyard Queen series by Amanda Stevens of which I so far have read the first two. I especially enjoyed the second one.

Witch/Wizard/etc

I have obviously read a ton of books with this ‘creature’ and there are so many out there that I really enjoy. But some at the top of my list are The Demon King from the Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima, with our favorite wizard Han Allister. Even if there are times where I would like to smack him. He growns on you. And another is Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. Howl is amazing of course, and I love the magic and world in this.

Demigod

Rick Riordan has given us a large world of demigods that I have been reading for a while now. But I prefer The Heroes of Olympus, and especially The Mark of Athena. Annabeth is the best.

Demon

Demons is another creature that pops up in various ways. But my all time favorite demon is of course Bartimaeus from the Bartimaeus trilogy by Jonathan Stroud. Such a surprising answer, right? You all didn’t know by now that The Golem’s Eye is one of my favorite books of ever, right?

Angel

Angel books are books that I haven’t picked up a lot of though I always am initially graviated towards them. But I see so many negative reviews for them that I tend to stay away. However I really loved Angelfall by Susan Ee.

Alien

Aliens are so interesting. I love sci-fi tv shows, because there are so many ways you can go. But out of the books I really liked The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

People with Superpowers

Another hard one. I mostly read about wizards and so on. But I will go with The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken where there are children who survived a virus and developed powers later on. I really enjoyed reading this one.

Tagging

 

9 thoughts on “Creatures of the Night Tag

    1. I know. My birthday is in like a month, haha 😂
      Nope. We do very little for Halloween here. There might be some Halloween themed parties and some scary movies on tv but no more beyond that really.

      Like

  1. Sorry dat ik je met zo’n moeilijke tag heb opgescheept XD ik heb van The Morganville Vampires de eerste 7 boeken gelezen en ik vond het wel een originele vampierserie, maar tegelijkrtijd niet super goed ofzo.. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy daarentegen ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dankjewel voor de tag. Je weet ondertussen al dat ik deze tag al eens eerder heb ingevuld. Al vraag ik me nu wel af of ik dat niet verkeerd heb gedaan. Ik heb toen immers steeds mijn favoriete vampier/weerwolf/alien/… – personage vermeld.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

