reviews

Book Review – Firefight

Book: Firefight (The Reckoners 2) by Brandon Sanderson
Release Date: January 6th 2015
Genre: Dystopia/Sci-Fi
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

64A6E340-524F-4B55-A822-979EE9668000_zpsrk7dnrqd

Other books in this series I reviewed
Steelheart

Other books by this author I reviewed
White Sand

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for the first book in the series

Synopsis

They told David it was impossible—that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet, Steelheart—invincible, immortal, unconquerable—is dead. And he died by David’s hand.

Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life more simple. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And there’s no one in Newcago who can give him the answers he needs.

Babylon Restored, the old borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic, Regalia, David is sure Babylon Restored will lead him to what he needs to find. And while entering another city oppressed by a High Epic despot is a gamble, David’s willing to risk it. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David’s heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic—Firefight. And he’s willing to go on a quest darker, and more dangerous even, than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.

Review

After Steelheart I was disappointed at the start of this series. I had high expectations of Brandon Sanderson. I had hoped that this second book would be a step up, but unfortunately it is not. It is messy, and its biggest downfall for me is the main character.

I already had some problems with David in the first book, but with the book being solid and goal orientated it was easier to look past him despite the first person point of view.  However in Firefight there is no getting past David. He is all consuming. His silly metaphors, his recklessness, his puppy crush on Megan, and how he is of course our very special snowflake who figures everything out.

That I think is what bothers me the most about David and this book. David figures everything out. Just grabbing to the start of this book where an epic is killed by kool-aid. How do you even come up with kool-aid as someone’s weakness? Even if later on in the book there is a reason for the epics weaknesses, David didn’t know that at the time. He could only guess. So how did he come up with kool-aid, hmm? I still have no answer.

And getting to the weaknesses thing, of course it is David that figures this out. A side character says this is because his dedication. Yeah, right. Because nobody in the Reckoners are dedicated, like Tia. Later on it is said that it was thought about in the early appearances of the epics but that because of bad communication and the chaos it was deemed not so. See I could buy that, if they had pushed it to the side. But the communication had been better now for a while and there was less chaos. If David had access to a bunch of this information, someone else with a brain would have it as well.  I just find it hard to believe nobody else has properly given this any thought again. Because it is one of the first things you’d think about.

The side characters from the first book, Cody and Abraham, are replaced by new side characters in this book as they travel to a new city. While I find the new setting interesting, it is a shame we now get new side characters. I didn’t think they were nearly as striking as Cody or Abraham.

Plot wise this book isn’t as good as Steelheart. It feels messy with various things running through each other like the betrayal, the various epics, the traps. The worst part of that is though that most is rather predictable. However I do feel that the world still has its appeal. The idea of the epics remains interesting. And what was revealed of Calamity I liked and found interesting. Interesting enough to want to see how that is further taken in the last book.

I could potentially rant some more about David but I will save you all from this.

8 thoughts on “Book Review – Firefight

  1. Oei ik heb echt mega hoge verwachtingen van dit boek, dus ik schrik wel een beetje van je kritische review.. Ik vond David in het eerste boek echter een heel leuk personage, dus hopelijk erger ik me minder aan hem 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ik schijn een van de weinige te zijn die deze serie niet zo geweldig vind dus hopelijk vindt jij dit tweede boek wel leuk, ja. 😉 Veel valt en staat met David dus als je hem leuk vindt komt het wel goed denk ik.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I kinda agree with you. The Reckoners is my least favourite Sanderson series. There are some things I like about it but also some things I don’t, starting also with David, the main character. I never really had a connection with him. Although I liked some of the ideas and the setting, it seems to me as if Sanderson wrote the series with an adaptation in mind 😀 It would be perfect for the big screen one day, like the Marvel movies etc. But I am missing something when I am reading it.. :-/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. I think it would make a great adaption some day. The ideas and setting has so much potential. But yeah, something is just off for me when reading it. Mainly David, haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

