reviews

Book Review – The Dream Thieves

Book: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle 2) by Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: September 17th 2013
Genre: Paranormal/Fantasy
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

9FBB321E-64B5-4F12-9B3C-DE04D3F2FDF8_zpst8761pyf

Other books in this series I reviewed
The Raven Boys

Goodreads

  Possible spoilers for the first book

Synopis

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take? Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself. One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams. And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things. Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

Review

Do you know that feeling when you finish a book but you don´t know what to say or write about it because you loved it that much? Yeah that is this series for me so far. I don’t even know where to start. While this book is yet again character driven, just how I like them, there are plenty of things that I enjoyed about the plot. I suppose because it is so character driven, the plot is also heavily influenced by the characters decisions. While you can never quite separate these things, I feel like in this series the characters decisions really drive the book forward and not random things happening around them. Sometimes it can really feel like plot happens because of random things and the characters have to react to that. I don’t feel this is quite the case here. There are things in this plot that did surprise me. The addition of Kavinsky for instance. I did not make the connections as easily as Ronan did and I loved that. It shows that he is smart instead of it constantly being told to us. He explains to us how he made the connection instead of us shouting at the characters what is going on. Of course Ronan still deserved shouting at because that doesn’t stop him from making stupid decisions…

0EF4C905-D83C-408D-BB55-423388FAD35B_zpspkyfn7usI don’t want to go into the plot except that it focuses more on Ronan and his abilities. We get to know him better. We also continue on from what happened at the end of The Raven Boys with Adam.  The ending itself is somewhat chaotic in that I had to read certain passages twice just to make sure I got everything out of it and that I was making the right connections. But I don’t feel this is a bad thing. It made you think, especially afterwards. Some things you really had to connect yourself to understand because otherwise you wouldn’t understand. Not everything is said straight out and I love that. This wasn’t just with the ending but with other things throughout the book like I mentioned with Ronan but also with things from The Raven Boys that carried over into this book.

Of course the characters in this were great yet again. The author manages to make us care so quickly about these characters. Their interactions feel so real. I get each of their sides. I get why Gansey tries so hard with Adam and Ronan, but I also understand why it makes Adam pull away. And while I am not a fan of triangles, the triangle of Adam, Gansey and Blue doesn’t bother me. I get why Blue is struggling with them. Who wouldn’t? Like is mentioned, Blue has her head on right and isn’t really impulsive.  And she genuinely likes Adam.

Ronan’s past is deepened out as is he. And I love how in so little moments we get this relationship/bonding between Ronan and Adam.  That is talent right there.  I also loved to see Gansey’s parents like that. It is clear where he gets his ways from when it comes to Ronan and Adam.  And again I love how they aren’t completely nonexistent and that they know what he is up to.

There was also the addition of the Grey Man. Initially I was a bit upset by this because I felt he got a lot of chapter point of views and I just wanted to read about our main characters, not this new one. However throughout the book his point of views became less and he grew on me. He was an interesting addition as a murderer. And his interaction with our main characters and Blue’s mom was certainly amusing.

If I had one issue, though I wouldn’t really call it that, it is that Neeve was hardly mentioned after her disappearance at the end of the previous book. I hope that will be straightened out in the next two books. I’m curious where she ended up at.

10 thoughts on “Book Review – The Dream Thieves

  1. This book really made me love Ronan. I was on the fence before that. The Gray Man is an interesting addition, though the end of his story arc was a little weird. Hopefully we’ll see more of him in the sequels. And Neeve too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love a character driven story, too. After reading a few reviews I was surprised that there are some readers who don’t like Ronan. Weird. Ronan was the major reason I loved this book so much. For some reason I didn’t think that Neeve was going to show back up until the last book, so I wasn’t expecting her here, but as you know I was wrong about that. Ha ha. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

