reviews

Book Review – The Raven Boys

Book: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle 1) by Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: September 18th 2012
Genre: Paranormal
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Goodreads

Synopsis

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Review

The Raven Cycle is a book series I’ve been hearing so much about that it took me a while to start it. I shouldn’t have been worried because I ended up loving this book. It has been some time since a book would really keep me thinking about it at night as I was reading it or for some time after finishing the book.

I heard a lot of people complaining about the start of this book, how it was too slow, so I had braced myself. But I had none of those feelings. From chapter 3 on I was hooked into the story and into the characters. The plot itself is interesting. The idea of Blue’s true love prediction and what happened at the graveyard early on hooked me. I was scared that maybe this book would turn to romancy and take over the plot but that wasn’t the case at all. While I find the plot, their search for the raven king interesting there are other things that I fell for.

This book however is more character driven than plot driven. Which is something I love. Characters make the book for me. The heart of it all. Especially when characters have a strong underlying bond and have some lovely sarcastic remarks. I laughed out loud a few times throughout this book.  The start focuses on setting up their lives, their backgrounds and the bond they already have before the book started. Then the plot starts in properly.

The boys. Oh my, the boys. I suspect I will get my heart broken with this series. Clearly we are heading towards disaster. Gansey is the one that drew the boys towards him. He has that kind of personality that is magnetic in a way, once you get to see a glimpse of the real him. I can see myself falling for Ronan in the next few books. Even though he is an ass he has something in him that is vulnerable and is loyal to his friends. I’m going to fall for that, damnit.  Adam is the straight shooter. I recognize his desire to want to do things on his own and not accept help when needed. And then there is Noah. I have the least appeal to him, but even so what happened to him did hurt because it effected the other characters.

Blue Sargent is a great main character. I like her. She doesn’t overpower the book like happens in other books. She really becomes a part of the group. And she has attention for all four of them. I also liked how the adults weren’t clueless about something going on and to a point became a part of what happened at the ending.

Like I said, we’re heading for disaster. I’m going to get my heart broken. And I can’t wait to get into it.

11 thoughts on “Book Review – The Raven Boys

  1. As you know I too was “warned” that I was going to have to push through the first 50% of this book (some people even said the ENTIRE book, ha ha) because the next two books (that were out at that time) were worth it. And I, like you, had no problem devouring the book. I gathered from talking with other bloggers that they didn’t like all the scientific info about the ley lines, and the history of Glendower. I loved that content. Also, no romance was a plus for me. Thanks for sharing your review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this series, but for some reason I haven’t picked it up yet. But your review has convinced me to give them a try ASAP! They sound absolutely amazing and I am so glad you enjoyed them so much. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

