Sunday Post

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #42

 

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

āšœ

Personal

Look what a friend made for the baby!

For most of these last two weeks there hasn’t been much to report on a personal level. I’ve just been going through each day, wondering if this is going to be THE day. We are past my due date. I waved at it. My check-ups are all fine so it just remains a waiting game.

On the up I got a bunch of pre orders in that I already ordered in June which is always a great feeling.Ā  My husband also just paid for all the pre orders I still wanted to get for the rest of the year. He really is the best. I also got some lovely gifts from people. ā¤ It was a good package week, the week of my due date, haha.

As you might have noticed, La La in the Library and I have been buddy reading the last three books of the The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater. I highly enjoyed doing this buddy read with you. šŸ’œĀ  Here is to many more.

āšœ

Currently Reading

ā˜… The Elfstones of Shannara (Original Shannara trilogy 2) by Terry Brooks
Why is the letter type of my mass market paperback this tiny? I’m reading about 30 pages a day because the writing is a tad dry and it’s hard for me to focus on reading as is.

ā˜… Charmed Life (Chrestomanci 1) by Diana Wynne Jones

āšœ

What I Watched

ā˜… Fantastic Four (2015) – I was super hesitant about this movie but I ended up enjoying it a lot more than I thought I did. They changed a lot about the original story from the other movies, but I didn’t end up minding that. The start however was rather slow getting to the point. I did love this new Ben.
ā˜… Supernatural season 10 – Some of the episodes are a bit hit or miss. Some just worked better than others. But the ending, those last 3 episodes or so. This … and then…. and then…and then. :O (if you have watched this season or later seasons, please no spoilers if you want to comment/talk about it)

āšœ

Blog Posts

ā˜… (Biweekly) Sunday Post #41

ā˜… TTT #58 ā€“ Books I Wish I Read as a Kid/When I Was Younger
ā˜… Bookshelf Tour 2016 ā€“ Part 4
ā˜… The Book Sacrifice Tag

ā˜… TTT 59 ā€“ Books That Have Worlds Based On Our Own
ā˜… On My Radar: September 2016 New Releases

āšœ

Reviews

ā˜… Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
ā˜…Ā  Naked in Death (Eve Dallas 1) by J.D. Robb

ā˜… Buffy, the Vampire Slayer bind-up volume 3
ā˜… Steelheart (The Reckoners 1) by Brandon Sanderson
ā˜… Valley of Embers (Landkist Saga 1) by Steven Kelliher

āšœ

Instagram

Best liked on my Bookstagram these last two weeks. Find me there! My username is signourney, as it is almost everywhere.

āšœ

Elsewhere

ā˜… Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperbacks created a new weekly meme with diversity. Go check it out.
ā˜… Inge over on Of Wonderland has posted a masterlist of books to do with mental health
ā˜… Crini from All About Books shared some statistics on her genre reading.

30 thoughts on “(Biweekly) Sunday Post #42

  1. Still waiting huh? šŸ™‚ At least you’re getting some preorders in to keep you busy until baby comes! And I hope you like Elfstones- I haven’t read that in years.

    Nice review of Illuminae. I agree there were a few issues I had with the romance element in the early going, but I liked it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. At least opening packages and being excited about all the stuff gives you something to do while you’re waiting!

    I actually stopped watching Supernatural after Season 9 since that was all they had on Netflix when I had the free one month trial lol. I just didn’t really fall in love with it though, so I’m not really bothered about missing out on Season 10 or however many there are now.

    Have a great week and good luck with the baby!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yeah. It is needed.

      I can understand that. I mostly watch for the characters and their interactions than some of the plot lines. I think they are filming season 12 or were filming season 12…

      Thanks. šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I did not realize you were past your due date! Now I am going to be asking even more times, via Twitter, how you are feeling. Ha ha. I am excited you are starting to read the Chrestomanci books because I have been interested in reading them for a while. We seem to have similar tastes in stories, so I am looking forward to hearung what you think. I have loved our buddy reads and look forward to many more. ā¤ The baby toy your friend made is precious. I have always liked handmade gifts. Here's hoping there is a picture if the bambino on Twitter soon! Have a stellar week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Put your feet up and relax if you can… I know the waiting is trying, but this, too, is a time to savour. A time before everything changes:). I hope you enjoyed the Chrestomanci novel – I love, love LOVE this series. Best of luck – it’s going to be an amazing journey:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nothing to savour about the pain though or having to be induced when it comes to that. šŸ˜‰

      I thought the first one was just okay. But it is clearly more of a set up book so I’ll be curious to see how I like the second one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I take your point – and REALLY wasn’t trying to be all breezy with it’s-all-fine-don’t-you-worry – more about savouring the WAITING bit! As for the book – looking forward to hearing how you get on with it:)). Take care.

        Like

  5. Enjoy all your books…great Instagram shot. My first two babies (many years ago, they are now grown!) were two weeks late. The first one, exactly two weeks, and the second one, two-and-a-half weeks. So I can relate to the waiting…and how it seems to go on forever.

    Get your sleep now, though…LOL.

    Thanks for sharing, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t get into the first one. I quit after 30 pages or so. But so far the second one is pretty okay.
      I agree, I liked the second part of Charmed Life better as well. Curious to see how the second book will be.

      Like

  6. Lovely Bookstagram pictures. Something I have not gotten into yet. I am tempted. Have a great week! Next week I bet you’ll have baby in arms!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

