reviews

Book Review – Steelheart

Book: Steelheart (The Reckoners 1) by Brandon Sanderson
Release Date: September 24th 2013
Genre: Sci-fi/Dystopia
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

0E3AC7A2-C666-4230-95E6-ABA8CA4EC90C_zpsjya3cfku

Goodreads

Other books/reviews by this author
White Sand

Synopsis

How far would you go for revenge if someone killed your father?
   If someone destroyed your city?
If everything you ever loved was taken from you?

David Charleston will go to any lengths to stop Steelheart. But to exact revenge in Steelheart’s world, David will need the Reckoners—a shadowy group of rebels bent on maintaining justice.

   And it turns out that the Reckoners might just need David too.

Review

Though I knew this was about people that had super powers I’m not sure this is entirely what I was expecting when I dove into this book.  I didn’t hate it as can be seen from the 3 star rating but there was so little that impressed me. Maybe this is the downfall of hyped authors once more that create such expectations.  But I was expecting more of this dystopian world.

I was expecting more in the plot. It is reasonably straightforward. And quite honestly not that subtle with some hints towards plot twists. I could guess who Firefight was halfway because of that one thing. And the other Epic was a bit obvious too. However the last quarter of the book was a lot better. Some things did start falling together.

But my main problem was with our main character, David. I’m not drawn to revenge plots but I can enjoy them a lot if I like the characters. However in this case David felt boring and bland to me. I needed a bit more than just his revenge, being a fan of The Reckoners and his clear crush on a girl. I just couldn’t connect with him at all. Which was a shame because his intelligence certainly wasn’t lacking. On the other hand I do wonder why he was able to see some things that adults or other Epics had missed. He wasn’t just analyzing Steelheart.

Then there was the instalove from David’s side as mentioned. It was awful at the start. There was nothing cute about this crush. He was impressed by her, I get that, but I wish he had moved away from that and had seen her as a person instead moving right into crushing mode.  They did have some bonding moments nearing the end, but mostly because they were forced together or because he forced it.

Having said that all, I am curious to see what will happen now after the events of the ending. I have been promised that Firefight is a lot better than Steelheart so we shall see. I want to see more of this world than what we got in this book, and I would love to find out more about Calamity. Though considering the title of the third one I think we’ll get most of that in that book.

9 thoughts on “Book Review – Steelheart

  1. I get what you’re saying about revenge plots, they do have the tendency to make the character all about revenge and just lack in any other sort of personality or development sometimes. And when you can’t connect with a character, that usually has an effect on your enjoyment. And I don’t understand why authors are still using instalove?? But hey, maybe the worst is over and the rest of the series will get better!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love reading ‘average book’ reviews because those are where you can really tell what the book is about, in my opinion. Reviews where people love or hate the book just don’t do as good a job (typically, but not always) talking about the good and not so good parts.

    Basically what I’m saying is thank you for your review! Many reviewers stray away from reviewing average books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

