reviews

Book Review – Buffy, the Vampire Slayer bind-up volume 3

Book: Buffy, the Vampire Slayer volume 3 (bind-up) by Christopher Golden, Nancy Holder and Kirsten Beyer
Release Date: November 16th 2010
Genre: TV Show/Supernatural/Paranormal
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

Synopsis

In every generation, there is a Chosen One. A slayer destined to protect the human race. She alone must fight the demons of hell. She alone must risk her life to stop the spread of evil.

Buffy is the Chosen One.

A night at the fair becomes a night of terror for Buffy and her friends when their personalities start matching the amusements in the park in Carnival of Souls.

In One Thing or Your Mother, Buffy must face a fear worse than her typical demon: children.

In Blooded, Willow accidentally turns her body into a vessel for the spirit of an ancient warrior—and he’s out for revenge.

Review

This volume 3 is a bind-up of three stories that are set in between episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. So these are not recounts of episodes. They are new. These specific stories are set in season 2 and early season 3, and are around 300 pages each.  I haven’t read the previous two bind-ups and there is no reason you have to read these in order if you have watched the entire show.

Personally I was very excited to read these because I really like the tv show and I had hoped that these stories would enrich the tv show in some way by focusing on certain characters. Unfortunately I was disappointed for the most part.

Carnival of Souls – 1 star

I had a really hard time getting through the first book of this bind-up which shows in the rating I gave this specific book. Initially the book was off to a good start. I though in the first scene with Buffy she captured her personality really well, but after that there was a certain lack of depth in the characters that I would expect from this.  A lot of this had to do with the fact that it felt like it was written as an episode. There was a lot of switching between ALL the characters, almost as switching between scenes throughout an episode. There was no room for depth. At that I also had no appreciation for the plot. Very predictable.

One Thing or Your Mother – 3 stars

The second story was a definite step up from the first story. The story offers us less characters whose point of view we follow. We stay mostly with Buffy with a dash of Willow, Angel, Spike and a new character thrown in. There are about three story lines we follow in this. The main one having to do with principal Snyder who got a bit more depth than he did in the show. Something I truly appreciated. The other two were more secondary. I found the one with Spike interesting to read. It fits with the character growth we later on get with Spike in the show. The other secondary story line was less interesting to me but served as a link to Angel and the mayor throughout this season.

Blooded – 2 stars

This story focuses mostly on Willow who has just experienced a traumatic experience. While her reaction to it is believable I do wonder if the direction we went would be the direction Willow would have gone. It is possible, but I’m not sure I felt it. Willow has been in a lot of traumatic, dangerous situations and it took a while for a good reason as to why this one would give such an impact to come forward. Even then I felt it could use more depth, more attention.

There are moments where I felt that Xander’s point of views were not nessecary. It didn’t add to the story except to show his interaction with Cordelia. There are also chapters and scenes that focus on the history of the vampire that wasn’t that interesting. Mostly because I didn’t care about our villain all that much. I wanted the deepening of Willow, not of some random villain.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Buffy, the Vampire Slayer bind-up volume 3

  1. I have four Buffy books (not the bind-ups) but I have no idea which ones they are haha (1 because my memory is bad and 2 because they’re in Dutch) I remember really liking them, but I read them years ago, before I even watched the show, so I don’t know how I’d feel about them now. I think I’ll stick to the show though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Best to stick to the show I think. Though I can imagine them being interesting if you haven’t watched the show. I think the only good to read would be the season 8 comic.I’ve heard mostly good things about that one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

