top ten tuesday

TTT #57 – Books I’d Buy Right This Second

There are so many books coming out every year that it is hard to keep up with them budget wise. And lets not even talk about all those backlist titles that seem equally as wonderful. I’m sure I’m not the only one that struggles with choosing which books to go for when the budget does allow book buying. And the top books change daily depending on my mood, other people’s reviews or just good prices.

So The Broke and the Bookish gave us the prompt of books we’d buy right this second if someone handed you a fully loaded gift card. And as I am typing this I am sure that I really want these books, but by the time this posts some of these might be different for me. But I’m sure I’m not the only one that switches around like that, right?

It’s kind of ridiculous how many of these are first in books… I swear I have days where this wishlist is mostly sequels. Honest!

⚜

ttt 57 2016 p1.png

  • The Crown’s Game (The Crown’s Game 1) by Evelyn Skye
    I’ve heard some good things about this book and the hardcover underneath is yellow. Hello favorite color.
  • The Forbidden WishΒ  by Jessica Khoury
    Another new release I’ve heard a lot of good things about.
  • Ruined (Ruined 1) by Amy Tintera
    I blame this one on Cait. Her review made it sound so good.
  • The Rose and the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn 2) by Renee Ahdieh
    I have yet to read the first book but with this being a duology I kind of want to binge read it.

ttt 57 2016 p2

  • The Circle (Engelfors 1) by Mats Strandberg and Sara Bergmark Alfen
    I’ve been eyeing these books in Dutch for a while now but never pick them up.
  • The Copper Promise (The Copper Cat 1) by Jen Williams
    Another one I’ve been eyeing for a while. The covers is what drew my attention. Hello, dragon. I hear very little of this series though.
  • The Sea of Shadows (Age of Legends 1) by Kelley Armstrong
    I am slighly in love with the covers of this series.
  • The Wizard of Oz (Oz 1) by Frank L. Baum
    I need this specific edition. I have never read The Wizard of Oz though I’ve seen and read plenty of things inspired by it. And this edition matches my Mathilda.

ttt 57 2016 p3.png

  • Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
    Finally, a standalone. I’ve heard some mixed reviews about this one, but it still sounds interesting and I really enjoyed Cinder which has a similar combination. That cover also helps.
  • Vision in Silver (The Others 2) by Anne Bishop
    I need this because in November the fourth comes out in Dutch and I am getting that as I gave money to the fundraising for it. So I’ll need to get the third one at some point before November.
  • The Winner’s Crime (The Winner’s Trilogy 2) by Marie Rutkoski
    I read The Winner’s Curse earlier this year and enjoyed it. So I am curious about this sequel.
  • Much Ado About Magic (Enchanted Inc. 5) by Shanna Swendson
    I have mentioned this series before. I currently own the first four of this fantasy chicklit and while they aren’t the greatest books of ever I do really enjoy them. And I need to get around to finishing this series after all these years.

 

Do we share any of the same books?
Of course after I made this list my husband offered to buy me one book. So guess which one out of this post it was! (If you follow me on bookstagram and twitter your guess doesn’t count, haha)

39 thoughts on “TTT #57 – Books I’d Buy Right This Second

  1. This looks like a really fun list- I love the covers of Ruined, The Copper Promise and Sea of Shadows. Kelley Armstrong must be quite prolific as I’m constantly seeing books by her and they all seem different.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed Spinning Starlight, so I got Stitching Snow from the library afterwards and actually DNFed it! It was so disappointing. I actually thought Stitching Snow has a lot in common with Starflight, which I liked much better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry that happened. I personally haven’t heard of Spinning Starlight, but I’ve heard the comparison being made to Cinder/the Lunar Chronicles a few times.

      Like

  3. I’ve seen Copper Promise on a few lists today. It kind of feels like everyone has heard a little about it but not enough to dip their toes into the water just yet. I certainly feel that way about it. Hopefully I’ll be able to read it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really curious because I hear so many different things about The Crown’s Game. And I am so curious to see in what direction The Winner’s trilogy goes.

      Like

  4. Oh I really want to get The Forbidden Wish as well! πŸ™‚ Sadly I finished The Crown’s Game recently and didn’t really enjoy it :/ Hopefully you’ll have a better experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great list! I want to read every single book you’ve mentioned! The Enchanted Inc. series is fantastic! I recently bought The Forbidden Wish and I can’t wait to read it! The Wizard of Oz is on my list as well, in exactly the same edition! It’s gorgeous! Happy reading!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So many good books! I loved The Crown’s Game! And I really want to read Ruined, The Forbidden Wish and The Rose and the Dagger as well. I didn’t know about The Copper Promise but I’m defiitely adding it to my TBR. If only for the dragon πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh ja de boeken van Shana Swendson. Ik was echt zo ontgoocheld toen ik na de eerste drie boeken ontdekte dat ik de volgende delen niet kon vinden in de bibliotheek. Nadien bleek dan dat ze niet meer vertaald werden. 😦 Eigenlijk wil ik zelf ook wel weten hoe de serie verder gaat want voor zover ik het me kan herinneren heb ik me echt wel geamuseerd met die drie eerste verhalen.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I quite liked The Circle! It was still a pretty standard Young Adult, but somehow grittier. I think because it’s Swedish and their books are more raw somehow? I’m not sure how to explain it, but it was a fun take on witches. I also received The Forbidden Wish in a FairyLoot box and that was quite a fun retelling! Aladdin was a total babe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that is why I am interested in it as it is a swedish young adult and I haven’t read one of those so I’m curious to see how it was done. How it differs.
      Aladdin being a total babe is a good reason to read it. πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

