Book Tags

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

We’ve passed the mid-year point of 2016 and so it is of course that time of the year that the mid-year book freakout tag appears again. The lovely Aimal  from Bookshelves and Paperbacks and Michelle from The Writing Hufflepuff tagged me to do this. Thanks again. ❤

Best Book You’ve Read So Far This Year

Paaz by Myrthe van der Meer

A completely different book that I usually read. No fantasy. But to me it was relatable. It was about a woman who was diagnosed with depression and admitted to a psychiatric ward. Though I have never been admitted and never been close to it, her thoughts throughout the book were often thoughts I had myself. I should get my hands on the sequel.

You can read my review here.

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016

The Kingdom (The Graveyard Queen 2) by Amanda Stevens

I read the first book last year, and while I enjoyed the premise, I had some problems with it in places. This second book however surprised me and I loved every bit of it. I can’t wait for the third book to be rereleased in Dutch paperback in October.

You can read my review here.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet but Want to

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

I got this book on release day, but at the time I was suffering more from my reading slump so I ended up putting it down after 30 pages or so which is a shame. I still really want to read it, but I just haven’t gotten around to it.

Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year

Nevernight / Creeping Shadow / Crooked Kingdom / Heartless

Nevernight was a book I hadn’t heard about until a good month ago. But people keep praising it and it just sounds good and dark. So I am really anticipating that one now. Of course I am highly anticipating the fourth Lockwood and Co. book. I love Jonathan Stroud.

Six of Crows was my favorite read of 2015 so I need Crooked Kingdom ASAP. And Marissa Meyer has been making us wait for Heartless forever it feels like.

You can find me review for the first Lockwood & Co book here.
My review for Six of Crows is here.

Biggest Disappointment

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity 1) by V.E. Schwab

I really enjoyed Schwab’s The Archived and ADSOM books. All clear 4 star reads for me. But this book just didn’t work for me. And I like monsters.

You can find my review for it here.

Biggest Surprise

The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

I had never read a book by this author before. So when I picked this up I wasn’t expecting much. I know his bigger books, like The Shadow of the Wind, are very popular and well known, but you never hear anybody about these shorter stories.

You can find my review here.

Favorite New Author

Kelley Armstrong

I wouldn’t say favorite author but after reading The Darkest Powers trilogy I do really want to read more of her books.

You can find my review of the first book here.

Favorite New Crush

Destin Karn – Flamecaster (Shattered Realms 1) by Cinda Williams Chima

Destin his point of views in Flamecaster were everything, haha. I hope we get a lot more of him in the future books.

You can find my review of Flamecaster here.

Favorite New Characters

Destin Karn / Denise

I haven’t really had an increase of favorite new characters so far. Destin is obviously here considering the previous question. But I also really enjoyed Denise in On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis.

You can find my review of On the Edge of Gone here.

Book That Made You Cry

Paaz by Myrthe van der Meer

I think I’ve mentioned a few times that not a lot of books make me cry. But Paaz hit rather close to home.

Book That Made You Happy

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Nimona was just the cutest read of this year so far. I like humor and there is plenty of humor and weird stuff in this graphic novel to make me smile.

Read my review here.

Most Beautiful Book You Bought This Year

Blue Lily, Lily Blue / Wyrd Sisters / Flamecaster

But I bought so many pretties! These kind of stand out though.

I really like the look of all The Raven Cycle books but Blue Lily, Lily Blue stands out to me. Now just to read this series. And you all know I love the Gollancz editions of Discworld books. And Flamecaster has just a great colour scheme. It always draws my eye towards it.

What Books Do You Need to Read Before the End of the Year?

The Raven Cycle / The Elfstones of Shannara / The Name of the Wind

And plenty more to be honest. But these spring to mind at the moment.

I tag

Everybody!

11 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

  1. Zodra ik deze tag de eerste keer zag langskomen heb ik hem op mijn ‘nog uit te werken’-lijstje geplaatst. Ik ga heus een keertje invullen. Echt ooit gaat het er van komen. Hopelijk lukt dit me voor het jaar om is want anders zou het een beetje onnozel zijn. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great tag! Is that Pratchett book a hardcover? I didn’t care for This Savage Song, either. I had the same feelings about Vicious, too. Have you read Vicious? It is weird because ADSOM was my second best book last year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

