top ten tuesday

TTT #56 – Things That Books Made Me Want To Do

Books are wonderous things where in so many wonderful things can happen whether this is in a fantasy setting or set in our history. Through books we can experience things that we wouldn’t otherwise be able to do or that we would have never considered. So are there any things that books have made us want to do?

Sure. Too many things.

This prompt was given to us by The Broke and the Bookish for their Top Ten Tuesday weekly meme.

⚜

Normal Things

  • Be a part of a play (Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli)
    To be fair I would not do well on stage but maybe a small part would be great. The only time I was apart of a play was when we had to make one ourselves related to society for a college class in my first year. I wrote the script. It was not so pretty. People constantly wanted to change everything. Bleh. But I would like to be a apart of a play where we had someone overviewing things and I would do backstage things. That would be fun I think.
  • Play the violin (This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab)
    I didn’t grow up with learning a music instrument like my husband did or my sister in law. In highschool I learned the keyboard, but most of that has drifted away for me personally. But an instrument like the violin is so different. It would be interesting to learn to play that. Not that I have any real ambitions, don’t worry.
  • Punch someone in the face (multiple books)
    Punching someone in the face just seems so liberating. Don’t worry, I’m not a violent person. I just dream about punching some obnoxious people.
  • Learn to ride a horse (fantasy books)
    Learning to ride a horse seems so cool. Just riding one through nature. However I’ve always had a huge allergy reaction to horses and while it has gone down somewhat, I am not going to risk that.
  • Go to university/college in a different country (Untraceable University by Natalie Koch)
    This is one of those things I wish I had done when I was still studying. But I always thought it would be too expensive and I was really just too scared. But if you ever get the opportunity you all should do it!

⚜

Not So Normal Things

  • Pull of a heist (Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo)
    It is the excitement and afterwards the excitement factor isn’t it of a plan coming together.
  • Summon a Demon (Bartimaeus trilogy by Jonathan Stroud)
    What? You have never wondered what kind of demons you could summon. Though I’m sure they aren’t all as witty as Bartimaes.
  • Pilot a spaceship (sci-fi books, Stargate)
    How cool would that be?
  • Visit an alternate universe and see how your life turned out differently there (Firebird by Claudia Gray)
    Aren’t you curious sometimes to see how some things would have played out if you had made a different choice?
  • Own a (baby) dragon (fantasy books)
    Duh.
42 thoughts on “TTT #56 – Things That Books Made Me Want To Do

  1. Punch someone in the face! lol that’s one of the better ones I think I’ll see this week. πŸ™‚

    And the heist and alternate universe ones are good too. I have ridden horses but the first time I ever did I was thrown. I wasn’t too keen about getting back on, but I did eventually…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your selection of not so normal things books made you want to do! Yes, owning a dragon would be my life goal for sure πŸ™‚
    And I also agree about how Simon made you want to be in a play. It did the same to me even though I don’t think I would be any good at it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maybe you can summon a demon and punch it in the face. Ha ha. I too wish that I had taken at least one semester abroad, but I was chicken, too. I also wanted to do something like the Peace Corps, but I was scared to do that, also. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wat een super leuke lijst. Paardrijden zou ik ook wel willen kunnen na het lezen van sommige boeken. Ik fantaseer dan graag dat dat een uiterst bevrijdend gevoel moet opleveren. Bijna even bevrijdend als iemand een slag verkopen. Daar heb ik nog nooit behoefte aan gehad – ik heb eerder de neiging om weg te lopen. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh hell yes to baby dragons and piloting spacecraft (I nearly put both of those on my list, but I resisted for some reason – big mistake!) – but I’m not as brave as you. I wouldn’t dare summon a demon…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s gotten better that I can come near them (before my head would swell up) but I still feel the effects.

      Books have thought me not to put your thumb in your fist so you don’t break it. πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. I want to own a baby dragon SO BAD. Actually a whole horde of baby dragons. I’ll run a baby dragon daycare and my life will be infinitely better.😊 OH and learning violin is awesome! Although hard.πŸ˜‚ I started when I was 13 and I think my family wanted to murder me…okay, cut the “think”…I know they did. πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, I’ll drop of my baby dragon at your daycare so they don’t have to be so lonely. πŸ˜€

      I can imagine it being hard. In high school we are already not allowed to learn the guitar because they though that would be to hard as a starter music instrument. Let alone the violin.

      Like

  7. Such a cool list! I’d seriously love to do all this stuff! Well, the going to uni in a different country sounds awesome in theory, but, even though I’m starting uni in September, I was never seriously considering it. I feared I’d feel like an outsider, and I’m already horrible at socializing, soooooo probably not for me. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought the same, but at the same time going to a different country for uni would force you out of your comfort zone and you’d have to socialize to an extent. (But I completely get it because I felt the same way when I was in college)

      Like

  8. Hi Annemieke! Somehow I’ve missed your TTT. Very cool! Your number 1 goal is something I haven’t picked up anywhere else. I’ve been in numerous plays and still direct school plays when ever I get a chance. Summon a dragon? Ever been a teacher for 26 5-year olds?? It sure feels as if you’ve summond a demon from the deepest pit in hell. I’m on my cellphone, so can’t/don’t know how to send you the link to my TTT! But you can find it on my blog marelithalkink.blogspot.co.za (To do or not to do)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great that you still direct school plays. That must be a lot of fun.
      No but I used to want to become a teacher and interned at a group with 30 4 year olds so I have an inkling. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

