Topics/Discussion

Five Things That Would Make Me Happy as a Reading Mommy

Now that I am pregnant, and my due date is nearing, I of course spend some time thinking about how things will be after I have given birth. I’m not someone who dreams often about how their child will turn out. You’ll have probably heard me gushing more about the cats than about the fact I am pregnant.  I am more of a realist in this situation. I know it will bring something great, but it also isn’t going to be easy. I mean, how much time will I still have left to read? This keeps me up at night, you know. (I’m kidding, but I do think about it)

I do think about values and things I would like to give my child. One of those things is reading of course. I don’t think I am the only mom to be (or those of you that are already mothers) in the reading world that have certain wishes regarding that subject.

I don’t think it would upset me in anway if this child would not be a big reader or any other future children we might have. You can’t force it on anyone. However I would feel bad if this child, for whatever reason, dreaded or disliked reading books. Because there is no reason someone should dread reading. Reading is a part of life. We all do it. Just some more than others. Comics, magazines, web site articles are also things you read.

But back to the title of this post. Five things that would make me happy as a reading mommy. Would you know I have kept switching around those last two words? Mommy reader or reading mommy? Anyway here are five things I am looking forward to that have to do with reading and my (future) child.

  1. Reading to my child
    Really, you can’t start early enough with this I feel though I don’t think I am doing this during my pregnancy. But reading picture books with my child is something I am looking forward to.
  2. Picking out a book together to read
    At some point he or she will be able to pick out a book themselves, and I’ll be curious to see what book this will be.
  3. Teaching (or helping) my child to (learn to) read
    This differs per child. Some children are ready to start learning to read before school starts to teach them, others aren’t. Either way I am looking forward to helping them with this. I can have patience, you know. Haha.
  4. Taking my child to the library
    Taking this child to the library sounds exciting. I remember going to the library with my mom  well, and just browsing on my own at an older age. And I am interested to see what will appeal to this child outside of the books we have at home.
  5. My child reading his or her first book on their own
    Such a milestone. My first book I read on my own was BFG by Roald Dahl.

What was the first book you read on your own?

16 thoughts on “Five Things That Would Make Me Happy as a Reading Mommy

  1. All of those things are fabulous! I enjoyed all of those things so much when Baz was little. I had him later on (35 years old) and I wished I would have known earlier that I would love interacting with, and teaching pre-school and kindergarten aged children so much when I was younger because I would have gone to school to be an elementary school teacher. I can hardly wait for grandchildren! As I suggested before, reading anything aloud to an infant will tend to put them to sleep, or at least entertain them if you make faces while you read. Ha ha.They don’t understand the words anyway. That is how I got in some reading time. I also read while I pumped breast milk. I didn”t have audiobooks back then, but they would be great while rocking the baby to sleep! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d imagine it being so rewarding to seeing your own kid do something with books. Something you can share with them from an early age and that they will need in the future anyway.
      Oh yeah, in general it is recommended reading to them from when they are super small here.
      Audiobooks and I don’t get along though but audiobooks of children books could be great.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so awesome! I love that you are already thinking about how to instill a love of reading in your child. I distinctly remember the first book I read alone, though sadly not the title. It was about snow/winter coming. I was 4. My mom taught met to read, I think because she was tired of me constantly begging her to read TO me!

    Now, any tips for passing it along to an almost 40-year-old man? :-/ My DH hates reading (but tolerates/feeds my book addiction, haha). 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah I’m thinking about what books are the best to read to them within the first few weeks, haha. I think reading and being read to is important.

      I don’t think I do. My husband isn’t a big reader either. He doesn’t have the patience to sit with a book and read it. Maybe you can find a book that interests him more. Maybe from a show that he likes (like with Under the Dome) or do a readalong of a book with him like Harry Potter or another book that he already knows. But in my experience at this point they can’t be forced to pick up a book and mostly that is okay. At least he feed your book addiction, haha.

      Like

  3. Aww this is SO. SWEET! I love that you are thinking about this! True story: When I was pregnant with my daughter, I was physically unable to read. I have no idea why, but just picking up a book made my head hurt, I just couldn’t- and I had no desire. Luckily, I didn’t have this problem with my son- and as it turns out, so far they are both obsessed with books 😉 Your plans sound so, so lovely- you will have so many great memories with your little one! As for finding time after the baby comes, it wasn’t actually as hard as I expected it to be! I had created my blog the day before my son was born (he was quite early- I wouldn’t have planned it that way haha) and it was slow going for the first couple months, but then it was really fine!

    I don’t remember the first book I read on my own, but I know I was around 4! I remember the first book that I was obsessed with though- it was a Baby-Sitters Club Book (Stacey and the Missing Ring, if you’re curious haha)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was pretty reading slumpy at the start of the pregnancy so I completely get not being able to pick up a book.
      I think once you have a schedule with the baby things should be fine. Obviously can’t spend as much time at once on the blog then but I have a husband to use as well. 😉
      Haha, the Baby-Sitters Club books. I remember those. 😀

      Like

  4. Ik ben gek op lezen en ik merk nu al dat mijn zoontje (20 maanden) gek op boeken is. Het liefst met zoveel mogelijk plaatjes op één pagina, zodat hij alle details kan bekijken. Hij kan echt een kwartier zoet zijn met één boek. Voor het slapen gaan lees ik hem altijd voor. Als ik klaar ben met de één, pakt hij een volgende. Minimaal 4 boeken wil hij dan inzien. Super leuk dat je er nu ook al zo bij stil staat. Ik voed mijn zoontje Engelstalig op (mijn man praat dan Nederlands), dus we hebben ook genoeg Engelse boeken in huis. Ik kan niet wachten tot hij ouder is en de boeken ook daadwerkelijk gaat begrijpen.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Toen één van mijn vriendinnen voor het eerst mama werd heb ik haar een stapel prentenboeken van Tip de muis cadeau gedaan. Wanneer haar zoontje opgroeide bleek hij daar helemaal gek van te zijn en ben ik er nog enkele gaan bijkopen als verjaardagscadeautje. Mijn eindwerk ging over het leesbevorderende effect van voorlezen en hierdoor ben ik er een nog grotere fan van geworden.

    Like

  6. Great list! I have a 2 month old at home, and I did a lot of thinking along the same lines while I was pregnant. So far all I’ve REALLY succeeded at is reading to her — I read my own books out loud on a semi-regular basis. Not nearly as frequently as I’d expected because I’ve found that I have an awfully sore throat from it, and sometimes I just plan need to hands to hold her. But still … those moments I do manage to read to her are a lot of fun. We’ve “read” a few picture books together, but so far she’s way more interested in the nearby windows than in looking at the books.

    I agree that there’s no FORCING the love of reading on someone, but that I certainly don’t want my daughter to dread reading. I feel the same way about math as well, and I plan on doing everything I can to make math-related activities fun before school makes it feel like work.

    ~ Michelle @ FaerieFits

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah but she’s still so young, so you’ll get her interested later on. It’s more about hearing your voice now. Though I don’t think my voice will fare too well if I tried reading aloud too much either, haha.
      Yeah, I guess it is the same for a lot of different subjects. You can only try and make things as fun as possible.

      Like

  7. As a Reading Daddy, right now, I’m reading our little 5 month-old dude pretty much anything at hand, including Cormac McCarthy’s Border Trilogy (which, as you might imagine, is taking me about forever to get through at the moment), restaurant menus at our neighborhood bistro, and the back of the cereal box. Probably the most important thing we’ve done in my mind is to get him his own books that he can chew on and play with. They crinkle, have colorful pictures (and one is black and white) and I’ve been told that this produces a “positive” relation to books… which I think all of us book worms would agree is an important first step in making our little ones little readers!
    First book I remember reading: Clifford, The Big Red Dog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah we have a few of those books the baby can hold themselves for the first while already in house. Also some with a puppet coming out, haha. But yes, creating a positive relation to books is important. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

