top ten tuesday

TTT #55 -Books That Are Set Outside of USA

If you read a lot of (international) books it can’t have escaped your notice that a lot of books are set in America. I suppose it is easier for American authors to have their books be set in their own country for research. However it is not just the American authors that set their books in America. Recently Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt was translated to English. It was originally set in the Netherlands but for the translation it was set in America which I find highly annoying. Who says that readers outside of the Netherlands wouldn’t find it interesting to read a book set in the Netherlands? Readers like to learn things through books.

In any case I did strugle to come up with a good list as I mostly read fantasy. A lot is high fantasy and is not set in our world but I felt that didn’t count. And others are often set in America unfortunately. But I gave it a go anyway.

This prompt was given to us by The Broke and the Bookish for their Top Ten Tuesday weekly meme.

82224CE3-9C01-44D3-9B62-5F096AEDE956_zpsq88rxfem

The Netherlands

  • On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis (Amsterdam)
  • Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt (original Dutch version in any case)

United Kingdom

Others

28 thoughts on “TTT #55 -Books That Are Set Outside of USA

  1. I have The Book Thief on my list too.I don’t think I have read anything set in Netherlands. I will definitely try get one of those titles. Happy reading šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really like it but it is a bit more focused towards a slightly younger target group and not as dark as Bartimaeus.

      It is. I had some people who had read arcs of the english edition say that after reading they wondered if it may have taken place elsewhere orginally, because they didn’t get the America feeling.

      Like

  2. I like reading about other countries, I get enough books set in America lol. And I would be mad too if a book set in the Netherlands was changed in translation! Good grief. I need to read the Riordan books at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would hate that the book was changed from the Netherlands to the US, too. I love reading books set in other countries. In fact, now that I am thinking about it… I might even prefer stories set in other countries. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great list! It’s so weird that they would just change the entire setting of the book for a translation. Like you said, I’m sure people would appreciate reading a story set in the Netherlands just as much. I didn’t know Hex yet, but I’ll definitely check it out (I can read it in Dutch so I can at least keep the original setting) šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Why would they change the setting of a book just for translation? That doesn’t really make any sense to me at all. Weird. Anyway, good pick. I’ve read several on your list (The Infernal Devices and the Lunar Chronicles to name a few). Have a great week!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it might have to do with a tv show being made of the book in America (that I hear very little about). Even so that doesn’t mean that the books setting would need to change. They could just do that for the tv show (not preferable either but better than the book) and people could still read the original source material. He also changed the ending in the English edition so I really need to read it to see how it compares.

      Have a great week as well.

      Like

  6. Harry Potter made my list too šŸ™‚ Is The Infernal Devices good? I’m pretty sure I have the first book around somewhere but for some reason I never get around to picking up books I already own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

