reviews

Book Review – The Awakening

the awakeningBook: The Awakening (The Darkest Powers 2) by Kelley Armstrong
Release Date: April 28th 2009
Genre: Paranormal/Supernatural
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Previous books/reviews in this series: The Summoning

Goodreads

Possible spoilers for book 1.

Synopsis

My name is Chloe Saunders, and if you had met me a few weeks ago, you probably would have described me as an average teenage girl – someone normal.

Now my life has changed forever and I’m as far away from normal as it gets. A living science experiment – not only can I see ghosts, but I was genetically altered by a sinister organization called the Edison Group. What does that mean? For starters, I’m a teenage necromancer whose powers are out of control: I raise the dead without even trying. Trust me, that is not a power you want to have. Ever.

Now I’m running for my life with three of my supernatural friends – a charming sorcerer, a cynical werewolf, and a disgruntled witch – and we have to find someone who can help us before the Edison Group finds us first. Or die trying.

Review

The Awakening continues very quickly after the ending of The Summoning. Yet again this book is an easy, quick read, and one that is hard to put down. While I did thoroughly enjoy this book, I do miss the wow factor to rate this any higher than 4 stars.

From the first few chapters we learn some new information about who had been holding the kids and why they were all put together. We also get some answers about what happened to Liz, though I think most of us already knew what had happened to her. The plot itself is not too complicated. This book is a lot more character driven than it is plot driven. Plot wise it really feels like an in between book that brings them from point A to point B. But that didn’t bother me as much as like I said, this book is more character driven. We do get to know these characters better.

One thing that I really liked at the start of the book is how Chloe is trying to figure out ways to get away, but that the adults aren’t being entirely stupid about it. So there were a few moves going back and forth. It wasn’t super easy to get away. Unlike the ending I felt. It just felt way too easy for me, and I kind of hope there is a bit of a twist on that in the next book. However they have gotten to a point that sets up the start of the next book nicely.

I like most of the characters in this book. The relationships Chloe, our main character, has with the others are being deepened out. Chloe gets to know more about Tori for instance. While this doesn’t redeem her actions from the first book, it does give us more of a background about Tori. She becomes more of a real character, and she does even out Chloe’s more goody two-shoes nature. I do think Chloe is being a bit too nice to her.

As for her relationships with the boys, I like that Chloe isn’t completely smitten with one. Obviously she is a 15 year old girl so she does have some feelings but it isn’t the focus of the book, and I really like that. I do feel her relationship with Simon is more superficial. It’s more of a ‘I think you’re cute, you think I’m cute’ kind of thing where they are slowly building from. Whereas with Derek I feel they have a genuine bond that is deepening in this book, but they are also both fighting it.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Awakening

Leave a Reply

