top ten tuesday

TTT #54 – Ten Facts About Me

Nobody can deny that there is a person behind each blog. However with the internet it can sometimes be easy to forget about it as they don’t look you right in the eye. I always think personal posts even on a book blog are good to do if you are willing to. It reminds people that you are real.

So this ten facts about me as prompted by The Broke and the Bookish this week I find great to do. Except you know, now I actually have to think up ten facts about me. Right…

  • Let’s start with a fact that if you know me in real life will scream in your face. I am really short. I’m about 1.50m which should be about 4ft ’11.
  • 84249073-FCDA-452D-97EA-21B9F197A504_zpssofxjxjhAnother thing you will easily see when you come to our house is that my favorite color is yellow. I had yellow in my baby room and as I grew up that yellow remained and became my favorite color. There is no yellow in the room for our baby though, don’t worry, haha.

 

  • Extending on that, I have a bit of a thing for The Minions. You might have seen from the intro to my bookshelf tour that I have some minions on my shelves. They just amuse me endlessly. I am not the only one, right? I almost bought a small picture book of minions at the Boekenfestijn (bookfest) but it was in English. I know.

 

 

  • When I was younger I wanted to become a teacher at primary school. I actually went to college for that for one year, only to discover that it was never going to be my thing. Large groups are such a no for me. So I changed to Social Work of which I now have my bachelor. Which sounds like I just got it but I graduated in 2011. (Thanks to LaLa in the Library for this suggestion)

 

 

  • I make a book wishlist for my birthday months ahead of time. I’m not obsessed with my birthday. I just like making lists, haha.

 

 

  • One of my all time favorite character is Colonel Jack O’Neill from Stargate SG-1. He has the sass, people.

 

 

  • I am socially awkward, also online. So if you ever receive an awkward message from me, I’m sorry! I just want to be friends!Β  ❀7F4AB3AD-C192-45C5-AFEC-F4243A82C3A2_zpsqg13aliw
  • For most of the year I wear socks in the house, because my feet get cold so easily. But if it is really hot and sunny out I can be seen bare foot around the house. But it isn’t my favorite thing in the world, haha (Thanks to LaLa in the Library again for this suggestion, and for the next two).
  • The first pet I remember having at my parents was a dog called Sloeber. He was attacked by other dogs though and had to be put down. Then years later my parents got another smaller dog called Minoes (a name I picked haha). She was the sweetest. I think she passed away in 2010 because of kidney failure. I’ve also had 3 hamsters. Now that we have our own house we have two cats you have seen around in some of the Sunday Posts and Books and Cats posts (that last one I haven’t done in a while).
  • Oh my gosh, nicknames. Mostly my nicknames have been shortenings of my name Annemieke. Mieke, Miekje, A.M. But the only person that still uses a nickname sometimes that is Mieke, is my mom which I secretly find really annoying to be honest. Parents should not use nicknames, haha.

 

44 thoughts on “TTT #54 – Ten Facts About Me

  1. I like seeing inside the blogger! πŸ˜€ I also make my birthday book list in advance. I have to continue to edit it because I buy books off of it for myself and need to remember to remove them. The list is important, though, because my family isn’t all that great at buying gifts for me. So it’s helpful. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My husband never knows what to get me either besides that I really like books so giving him a list where he can order some off is just easy and I still don’t know exactly what I’m getting. πŸ˜€ Win win situation haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the Minions too, I don’t know why they’re just fun. Although I haven’t seen the Minions movie (I know, right) And I wonder if O’Neill from SG-1 was supposed to be the same guy from the Stargate movie (played by Kurt Russell?). I don’t remember…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are. Bad Greg, go watch the Minions movie now!

      It is actually a bit of a joke in the show where O’Neill says his name is written with double L, not like the other O’Neil (which is a reference to the movie one). It is funnier when he says it. πŸ˜› But they do reference to the events in the movie, mostly in the first season as it is a continuation a few years later, as they return to Abydos. He’s kind of the same guy with the same background and so on but I I like the tv show O’Neill better personality wise.

      Like

  3. I love this post. It’s so fun to get to know other bloggers a little more. πŸ˜‰
    And about those minions.. You’re definitely not the only one. They are sooooo cute. I don’t have any minions in my home myself. But that’s just because my fiancΓ© (see I’m doing it :P) things they’re a little weird. LOL!
    To be honest.. I’ve never seen Stargate SG-1. I think I would have loved it though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is!
      The minions are the best. I’m lucky that my husband likes them too πŸ˜€ (Go you! :D)

      Oh you should watch it now. There are only 10 seasons, 2 movies and 2 spin-offs to watch πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. I always have problems with creating a book wishlist for my birthday – I always, ALWAYS, have a huge list of books I’d love to buy, but somehow when the time comes when people ask me what I’d like to get as a gist – my mind goes blank, and it’s like I forgot everything about my TBR list on Goodreads, and wishlist on amazon and other sites.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah I used to have that too which is why I start making a wishlist a few months ahead of time. I often still move things around the next few months, but when people ask me what I want I can just send them a link to that wishlist which makes things so much easier.

      Like

  5. I love this week’s topic – it’s a fun way to get to know a little bit about the people behind the blogs πŸ™‚
    Fun fact: I also went to college for one year to become a primary school teacher and then decided it was not for me! Glad I’m not the only one πŸ™‚
    Also, minions are amazing πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Socks are nice, you can slide around the house in it, unless it gets wet, then it’s just icky. I’m socially awkward too, I try not to worry about too much but I always end up overthinking it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m really short too. My license says 5’2″ but I don’t think I’m quite that. I wouldn’t call myself socially awkward, but sometimes it’s just so draining to talk to people. And small talk, I hate small talk. It’s easier on the internet, but it can still be awkward.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I have that with my ID as well, haha. I think it says I’m a few cm taller than I actually am.
      I agree, talking to people can be draining, even on the internet. Sometimes the internet is just as bad though because they expect a fast reply or something when I’m not in the mood.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m small too, I think I am just over 5 foot tall, I love it though my two daughters are already up to my shoulders. The oldest is 9 but the youngest is 7 so I dread to think how tall she is going to end up.

    Have you seen the new Secret Life of Pets film, it has a new minion short before it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is a good chance our kids are going to be a lot taller than I am seeing as my husband is about 5’11. It is funny to see though I guess, haha. At least they will be tall enough to start reaching things you can’t reach soon.

      No I haven’t but I just read that on Facebook as well.

      Like

  9. Happy I could help with Ideas! Ha ha. I am a no sockser. I even have to have my feet out from under the covers when I sleep. XD I knew you said you were short, but I never would have guessed under 5′! No wonder you looked like you were ready to pop the baby out in that photo. I fought long and hard to keep people from nicknaming Sebastian. I managed to do it until he hit high school, but even then my preferred nickname of “Baz” (I only use it when I am writing a note or labeling something, I never speak it), didn’t get used. His friends call him Seabass. UGH! All I can think of is a big fish. 😦 😦 😦 I am looking forward to seeing what you name the baby. πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Haha.
      Yeah, I don’t meet a lot of people that are shorter than me. πŸ˜‰ Midwife said it has no place to go but forward so forward it shall go.

      Baz is cool but Seabass? The things they come up with, haha.
      Kind of curious to see what people will think too. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Ohhh you are tiny.πŸ˜‚ YAY. I mean, ahem, sorry…it’s just I’m 5’1 and almost EVERYONE uses me as a headrest so you would be a good person to stand beside. :’) bahhaha
    My life is basically making lists of books! IT’s SO FUN. IT’S LIKE THE GREATEST OF EVER.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wat leuk om je zo wat beter te leren kennen. Ik heb hier zelf ook een paar Minion-sokken liggen en daar word ik iedere keer dat ik ze draag super vrolijk van. Dan strek ik mijn been zodat mijn echtgenoot ze kan zien en zeg vervolgens met wiebelende voet ‘Papoj’ … ‘Papoj’. Waarna hij me uiteraard met rollende ogen aankijkt. Wenslijstjes samenstellen vind ik zelf ook heel erg leuk. Al heb ik evengoed een zwak voor lijstjes in het algemeen.

    Oh en ik vind het net heel leuk om reacties van jouw te ontdekken op mijn blog. Die vind ik zeker niet awkward hoor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ja, ze zijn zo leuk om naar te kijken. Ik ben stiekem blij dat mijn man Minions in huis hebben niet zo erg vindt, haha. πŸ˜€ Ik heb ook zo’n t-shirt. Daar word ik ook altijd heel blij van.

      Haha fijn. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  12. This is so fun! I agree with you that getting to know the blogger is always so much fun! I also make book lists wayyyyy in advance. I mean, I maintain one all year round, but I get serious about my birthday list like… now (and my birthday is in November hah). And your minion socks are adorable!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

