Sunday Post

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #39

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

Personal

I hope you all had a good two weeks.

I have to be honest and say I am very up and down. The pregnancy hormones are making me very emotionally unstable. I’m not comfortable, I have restless legs in the afternoon and half the time I don’t know what to do with myself. I need to take naps in the afternoon most days (which I hate.) Most things are so draining for me. I’m just kind of done with it all, haha. I guess that goes with being 35 weeks. So close, but not yet.

Now I’m done complaining #sorrynotsorry

Amigo also didn’t have the best weekend last weekend when my parents visited. Poor thing. I’ve had to up his medication a bit. The dog was a bit too much I suppose and even our other cat lashed out at the dog when I wasn’t around. She behaved when I was around, haha.

I noticed in June someone used the search term of how does the Dutch version of Hex end? to get to my blog. Hex is by Thomas Olde Heuvelt and he went for a different ending with the English version that was recently released. I’ve had people on Goodreads ask me this too, earlier this year. I find it amusing. But if the author wished you all to know he would have shared something more at the ending of the book. He didn’t so I don’t feel like it is my place to share the Dutch ending of Hex.

Also, this happened:

tweet jay kristoff

With everything that happened in America this week, there are just no words. I’m so sorry.

Currently Reading

Make Me Read It Read-a-Thon
The poll turned out these books as the top 5 so that is what I am currently reading.

I’ll also add in the complete poll results. It’s always interesting to see what was voted for and how many votes they got. I was surprised to see Splintered end up so high.

What I Watched

Independence Day: Resurgence – My husband is a big fan of the first movie so of course we went to the theatres for this second movie. While I find this a highly enjoyable movie I do think there are some plot holes (some things just aren’t explained that well) and characters that could have been cut easily from this movie because they didn’t add anything. But it was interesting to see how our world rebuild it self after the first movie and to see some of the older characters back, and in some cases grown up.
Supernatural Season 9 rewatch – I finally finished my rewatch of season 9 so I can start season 10 that I just bought. No spoilers please. I work hard to avoid them.
Sports – There are various sports on tv at the moment. The footbal Euro championship is coming to an end tonight. Who do you think will win? I hope France. Portugal has no sympathy points with me. Tour de France has also started last weekend. Like with speed-skating I grew up watching the tour every Summer so that has stuck with me though some years more than others. The climbing has started, and I love watching those days the most. And lastly this week the Euro atheletics championship was held in Amsterdam so that is getting plenty of attention on the Dutch tv.  All these sports help getting me through some days.

Blog Posts

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #38

TTT # 52 – Top Words/Topics That Make Me Want to Buy/Read a Book
June Wrap Up and July TBR
Bookshelf Tour 2016 – Part 1
Why Do I Review Books by Dutch Authors in English?

TTT #53 – Underrated Books I Enjoyed
(Pregnancy Induced) Reading Slump

Reviews

Uprooted by Naomi Novik
This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity 1) by V.E. Schwab
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
The Snow Walker trilogy by Catherine Fisher

Instagram

Best liked on my Bookstagram these last two weeks. Find me there! My username is signourney, as it is almost everywhere. I’m in that point where I’m not too happy with the pictures I have up for this week. It is also not surprising to not see any of them featured as the best 4 liked. I had so little inspiration again for those few. But at the same time they aren’t terrible either so I feel like I don’t want to retake them, but maybe look how to do things differently next time.

Elsewhere

★ Jamie from Watch Game Read wrote a far better review on White Sand by Brandon Sanderson!
★ Kaitlin from Inks and Quills shared some writing tips for the grammatically-challenged novelist
★ Claudia Victoria shares 5 things all bloggers should know.
★ On Saturday morning I discovered the Bookly Bird which is a subscription box in the Netherlands with an English book. Their first book box will be shipped in August.For now only if you live in the Netherlands you can order this box but they are looking to change that in the future.

 

34 thoughts on “(Biweekly) Sunday Post #39

  1. Aww, I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well because of the pregnancy :-/ And sorry your cat hasn’t been feeling well either.

    Love the Twitter thing though! That’s awesome lol.

    I still want to read Vicious but my library doesn’t have the ebook :-/ Maybe I’ll get to read it eventually… Anyway, have a great week and feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At least he has medication to help him feel better. 😉

      I hope your library will get Vicious at some point or there is some great deal on the ebook somewhere soon.

      Like

  2. It’s been a rough week over here with all the violence but it seems like it’s happening everywhere these days. Tough stuff. I’ve always enjoyed what I’ve seen of the Tour de France and I’d like to watch if I can have time. I’ll root for France too in the Euro championship! 🙂

    I love that cover of Wings of Fire. And how cool that Kristoff saw your tweet! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the violence seems to be getting worse. You would think we had learned from our past but I guess not. France lost. 😦

      The Wings of Fire series has great dragon covers!

      Like

  3. Sorry to read you haven’t been feeling well. I’ve seen some of my colleagues working with their pregnancy hormones.. and they are definitely something else. I hope it gets better for you soon! 😉
    I heard very different things about ‘Independence Day: Resurgence’. But I still really want to see it for myself. It would definitely be fun to see some of the characters again.
    I’m also hoping France will win the football Euro Championship tonight. I just feel annoyed watching Portugal play.
    Have a great week and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it won’t get better until I’ve given birth, haha.

      Just for seeing the old characters I do think it is worth to watch it. It is enjoyable as long as you don’t analyse it.
      France lost. 😦 I hope you have a great week as well.

      Like

    1. It is always great when authors respond to you~
      I pre ordered Nevernight. I’m really curious about it. I finished Illuminae last night and I really liked it.

      Like

  4. Thanks for featuring me!
    Sorry to hear that you aren’t feeling well. Hope you’ll feel better soon. It’s awesome to have an author respond to your tweet!
    I’ll be supporting France too. I think they have a great team and should be able to win.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are welcome!
      Thanks.
      France lost. 😦 They should have won, but they seemed to have resigned to penalties in the extra 30 minutes so Portugal scored. So stupid on their part.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m also doing the Make Me Read it Readathon! Reading A Darker Shade of Magic. Illuminae is on my TBR list though. Hope you will have a great readathon and get through all your books… Sorry to hear that you are not feeling well. I know how crappy hormones can make you feel. You are welcome to hop over to my blog and see my Sunday Post at http://marelithalkink.blogspot.co.za/2016/07/the-sunday-post-caution-serious.html

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jay Kristoff is the best!! He commented on an Instagram post I had of Illuminae, I was made up!

    Those last few weeks of pregnancy are tough, my eldest came at 36 weeks putting pay to maternity leave plans of feet up and lots of reading so enjoys those naps and look after yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I said the same thing about Independence Day Resurgence! I was like “What? Back up! How did…”
    Sorry about the pregnancy hormones. I had lunch with my best friend yesterday and she is 31 weeks and miserable! Her feet hurt, she can’t sit for too long, she can’t stand for too long, etc. She says basically, she is miserable all the time.
    hope next week is better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right? I was like how did you get to that?

      Yup. Miserable all the times with dashes of somewhat better and so much worse and I’m not sleeping added sounds pretty accurate. Counting down~

      Like

  8. That is so cool about Jay Kristoff! I would have lost my mind! I’m sorry you’re feeling on the miserable side. That last trimester is tough and it’s just impossible to be comfortable. I never could sleep in bed but I’d fall asleep on the couch no problem. I don’t know why I didn’t just sleep there but logic wasn’t my strong suit at the time. Hope you’re getting some rest and taking it easy. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was pretty great! I’ve slept on the couch once but it is just so bad on my back and the cats see it as the perfect oppurtunity to walk all over me and lie on my side, waking me up a lot too. 😛

      Have a great week too.

      Like

  9. Sorry to hear your pregnancy is making you feel bad, but in the end it will all be happy happy times. 🙂 My dad and I went and seen the Independence day Movie as well and I found it entertaining but not really that different from the first one and no great speech like the first one…lol.

    Happy reading,
    Stormi
    Week in Review

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let’s hope so. 😉
      Yeah, it is entertaining as long as you don’t analyse it. If you don’t know the first movie that well, I guess it can be good. I don’t know the first movie that well but it was shown the week before it came to the theatres, haha.

      Like

  10. Sorry about the pregnancy hormones… at least it’s temporary. Well… that part of pregnancy anyway! (The overall outcome is pretty permanent!) 😉

    And I love it when authors engage on social media. It reminds me they’re just like you and me!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I was surprised Splintered wasn’t higher! Ha ha. It hit the NYT bestseller list last year. I was so proud because I met the author on Goodreads when she was an unknown. I love a good success story. I was loving Nevernight, but Jay said some things on Twitter that made me really angry and it was affecting how I was enjoying the book, so I set it aside for now. Aww… poor Amigo. My cat would probably have a heart attack if there was a dog in the house. Only about five more weeks? You can do this! I still wish you could sleep sitting up because I will tell you that is the only way I got any decent sleep the last two months of my pregnancy. My son’s Godmother had a recliner at her house and that was the best place to nap! Have a wonderful week and I hope the temperatures stay cooler for you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that is always so cool to see how an author becomes more known. 🙂 I’m curious to see how I like it if I get to it. Though likely it will stay on the tbr for this month or next month past the readathon anyway.

      Yeah, I read the whole thread of what he said. I don’t think he meant what he said for 12 year olds but 16 year olds (though this is my interpretation). Young adult has become more of a marketing tool than a real classification I feel. I agree with him on that. But I commented about it on your sunday post as well. 🙂

      Usually Amigo doesn’t care too much as long as the dog stays away from him which the dog does because she is scared of him, haha. But now that he has heart problems a lot of things going around the house or heat can affect him more. I’m curious to see how that will go when maternity care is going to be here the first week after the baby is born. I am expecting a lot of ‘accidental’ peeing besides the litter box from both….

      Last night was just too warm. It just doesn’t cool off enough upstairs. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The problem is that here in the US parents rely on that rating for appropriate books for 12-18 year olds and libraries use it, too. All of the YA in the library is together. Parents aren’t usually book bloggers and they have no idea that there are being YA books with crude sex and pretty graphic sex and violence written for YA! The fact that he is fine with Nevernight being pushed as YA sickens me. Parents will let their child go into the YA section and freelky pick from tne books thinking the content is aporopriate like it used to be. They started the NA category for YA tropes with mature content. Let the authors write there graphic sex and violence there and let the parents have some peace of mind.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. I got Illuminae as a gift! I can’t wait to read it! I should be participating in the Make Me Read It Readathon but I’ve been slacking already :/

    Like

  13. BInnenkort lopen we weer geluk wat Supernatural betreft. Als ik me niet vergis ben ik nog maar tot aan de 12de of 13de aflevering van het 10de seizoen geraakt. Ik ben het een beetje aan het uitstellen in de hoop ik dan minder lang moet wachten op het 11de seizoen dat pas in september in de winkels zou liggen. Die Bookly Bird moet ik nog even in de gaten houden – blijkbaar willen ze hem in de toekomst ook naar België versturen.

    Like

    1. Ik heb nu de eerste 4 gezien maar ik kon me deze week nog niet erg lekker concentreren op het kijken van series. Volgende week maar weer.

      Ja dat zag ik van de week ook al passeren. Zou wil mooi zijn ja.

      Like

Leave a Reply

