top ten tuesday

TTT #53 – Underrated Books I Enjoyed

Being a blogger it can sometimes be expected of you to read the most anticipated new releases first. Those most popular authors and books is what can draw others towards visiting your blog. And let’s be honest, those are the authors and books we hear about the most anyway so we have the tendency to pick them up sooner than other books.

But from time to time it can be fun to pick up those books that are considered underrated. Those books not many have read and that give you less expectations. To discover a new book that way.

What makes a book underrated? That is difficult. For this weeks topic The Broke and the bookish have set the bar at under 2000 ratings on Goodreads. I found it interesting to go through my read list and see what some of the ratings are. With some books it is not hard to guess that they have over a 10000 ratings, but with others I was expecting more ratings than they had. Though they had over 2000, some only barely.

I cut out Dutch (children’s) books, and novella’s as I feel that it is not too weird they have under 2000 ratings. These ratings were these numbers at the start of June when I wrote this post.

30EA01B5-1D67-4FCB-92A8-9429A4D30A2A_zpsmhvmr15a

  1. Fearie Tales: Stories of the Grimm and the Gruesome. Edited by Stephen Jones. Illustrated by Alan Lee. (182 ratings)
  2. The Pyramids of London (Trifold Age 1) by Andrea K. Hostย  (214 ratings)
  3. On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis (356 ratings)
  4. The Mysteries by Lisa Tuttle (375 ratings)
  5. It’s a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt (464 ratings)
  6. Indigo Springs (Astrid Lethewood 1) by A.M. Dellamonica (498 ratings)
  7. Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt (725 ratings)
  8. Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis (1412 ratings)
  9. Shutter (Shutter 1) by Courtney Alameda (1503 ratings)
  10. Demon Road (Demon Road 1) by Derek Landy (1587 ratings)
22 thoughts on “TTT #53 – Underrated Books I Enjoyed

  1. Some of these look interesting- I’m especially curious about The Pyramids of London. that’s a fun cover and after looking at Goodreads I’m even more curious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Mysteries! I am glad to see it on your list. I love Lisa Tuttle. I am not familiar with the other titles, but they all sound good. Thank you for sharing!

    Here is my list.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list! I hadn’t heard of any of these but I will have to check them out! I love that we get to discover so many hidden gems this week ๐Ÿ™‚ And like you, most of the books I had on Goodreads below 2000 ratings were Dutch books, or just books I read when I was in high school.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

