TBR · Wrap Up

June Wrap Up and July TBR

We are at the halfway point of the year. Summer is here. But that is not what I’ve been counting down to. All I can keep wondering about is when this baby is going to be born. It could be as early as the end of July (which I secretly hope on my bad days because I am so done then). So that and how many books can I still read before the baby is here. If you want to be a betting man or woman, go ahead. I’d love to hear.

This month wasn’t my best reading month in amount. Obviously my husband was home for most of it and that always messes with my reading. But there are also days where I am really restless and that I don’t know what to do with myself. I can’t seem to pick up a book then either. I hope that will be better in July. Because it creates terrible days to be honest.

Luckily I participated in a read-a-thon for a Dutch goodreads group that helped me read most of these books.

# Read 90 Books
Read this month: 8
Total:  54/90

  1. Naked in Death (In Death 1) by J.D. Robb – 4 stars
  2. Written in Red (The Others 1) by Anne Bishop  – 3,5 stars
  3. This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity 1) by V.E. Schwab – 3 stars
  4. Vacui Magia by L.S. Johnson – 4 stars
  5. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells – 3 stars
  6. Flamecaster (Shattered Realm 1) by Cinda Williams Chima – 4 stars
  7. The Dragonet Prophecy (Wings of Fire 1) by Tui. T. Sutherland
  8. The BFG by Roald Dahl – 4 stars (reread)

Not a huge amount but not too bad either I suppose. No amazing reads, but a few dissapointments. This Savage Song for instance was a clear dissapointment for me. Written in Red in a way too. I just had a lot of issues with the start. However I did end up enjoying the ending a lot so I am excited about continuing it.

Again some of these reviews won’t show up for a while as I’ve been planning my reviews in for over a few months. I’ve been planning in two per week, but I might up that if I end up too far ahead.

# Unread Books
Total unread books on shelf end of May– 144
Books read in June (that count) – 6
Books bought/received in June (no ebooks or already read) – 25
Books taken from main shelf (and moved upstairs) – 4
Books added to main shelf (from upstairs) – 1

Total unread books on shelf end of June – 160

I moved some things around this month. Since I added so many books this month I took out the A Series of Unfortunate Events books for now and moved them upstairs. Those of that series I have yet to read will be taken from the total amount. But I also moved one downstairs so that I can finish a series that I bought the rest for. So that is why there is a bit more up there. Obviously this goal didn’t go too well this month. But other than pre orders and birthday books I hope to not buy/get too much else, you know.

# Commenting 365 Challenge – Commenting on  365 new to me blogs
This month: 58
Total: 174/365

Doing well on this goal at the moment as I am pretty much halfway as I should be at this point. Yeay for me!

# July TBR

This month, starting at the 9th, and lasts for a week, is the Make Me Read It Read-a-Thon where I made a post for that you could all vote on for a good week. So you all choose the top books for that week for me to read. Now the poll isn’t closed yet, but will be closed later today, but most likely it will be the following five books: Illuminae, Vicious, The Winner’s Curse, Splintered and Steelheart.

Other than those books I’d like to start The Raven Boys and possibly read the rest of the series depending on how the month goes. But I would also like to finish Good Omens that I started halway through June. I just haven’t had the concentration for Pratchett writing. I  also still have to finish the Buffy book, and I started the last Verborgen Universiteit book at the end of June. I took some books from my June TBR pile along with me to July as I still want to read those.

So how was your June?

9 thoughts on “June Wrap Up and July TBR

  1. I am guessing the end of July! I just finished This Savage Song and it is three stars for me too. Let me know when you are going to start reading The Dream Thieves and I will read it with you. You might get some reading in after the baby arrives. I used to read my books outloud and it would calm Sebastian and put him to sleep. They like to hear the sound of your voice. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I hope so. At the moment I have little patience to have to wait until the middle of August when me due date is.
      I will. I was meaning to send you a message about that. 🙂 Yeah, I’m curious how everything will go after the baby is born. Trying not to think too much about that because you always expect the worse, haha.

      Like

  2. That restlessness is the worst! I do hope July is better!
    Aww the baby might slow things down a bit, but I think it’ll be worth it 😉 My sister’s baby is four weeks old now and when I hold the baby and he sleeps I try to read off my kindle sometimes since it’s so light! But… I’m usually distracted by the baby making dolphin noises or just looking really cute, and I don’t really mind. I suspect it will be the same for you 🙂
    I’m glad the readathon helped a little with motivating you! We’re doing one now for diverse reads and I’m really hoping that helps me read through a lot of the actual physical books I have waiting around…!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope so too!
      Haha, probably. I think the first few weeks will be very slow reading.
      I hope it helps you. It always helps me to read with others like that 🙂

      Like

  3. I think you’re doing pretty good considering. This is a good list of books you have. I hope you do continue to read the Others series by Anne Bishop. Maybe you’ll connect more with this first story (Written in Red) if you listen to it on audio, maybe the rest of the series too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ik las minder dan ik zou willen. Maar eigenlijk is dat elke maand zo. Het lijkt wel alsof ik nooit alle boeken gelezen krijg die ik zou willen lezen. 🙂 Rode Letters heeft inderdaad een vrij trage opbouw. Het tempo van Anne Bishop’s boeken is eigelijk steeds vrij gemoedelijk. Dat was even wennen maar ik vind het ergens wel passen bij de personages.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

