top ten tuesday

TTT # 52 – Top Words/Topics That Make Me Want to Buy/Read a Book

We all have our own preferences towards what we want to read. Towards a certain genre, setting or even an author. I have to say that as I have grown older I am more specific to what kind of books I wish to read. Especially after reading a synopsis or a spoiler free review I can quickly tell whether or not I want to read something. So today I will share a few words or topics that spark my interest enough to want to read a book. Or at least spark a big interest in me.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly prompt created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week was a freebie so I went through the previous prompt list.

  1. Dragons
    I have always been interested in mythical creatures in tv shows or books. But in the last few years seeing a dragon on the cover or mentioned in the synopsis, make me very happy and excited. Especially after reading the Seraphina duology by Rachel Hartman.
  2. Wizard/Witch/Warlock/Sorcerer/Sorceress/etc
    I love books that have magic with a main character that wields it. I am always drawn to these type of stories. Regardless of how stereotypical the synopsis ends up making it sound.
  3. Magic School
    Extending from the previous one are magic schools. I know a lot of people automatically scream rip-off Harry Potter these days but I think there are a lot of different ways in which you can approach a magic school and have a plot surrounding that without it being like Harry Potter. So I’m always interested in seeing how that is done.
  4. Whenever the synopsis gives of the vibe it is going to be dark
    So not a specific word though I like seeing the word dark in a synopsis. But I am drawn to the darker (magic) books from time to time. Where not everything is happy and dandy.
  5. Something different in a familiar genre
    Like how The Graveyard Queen is a paranormal detective, but I hadn’t seen before that the main characterΒ  is a cemetery restorer. It is what drew my attention to these books, and I’m glad it did.
  6. Demons
    I find demons an interesting something in a plot, especially when they are a main character like Bartimaeus in the Bartimaeus trilogy.
  7. Sarcasm/Sass/etc
    I am a sucker for snappy, sassy, sarcastic interactions if done well. There is something so good about those types of interactions that fill me with joy.
  8. Books
    As a book lover I find it interesting when a book deals with books in some way. Or book stores!

What kind of words in a synopsis draw you in?

35 thoughts on “TTT # 52 – Top Words/Topics That Make Me Want to Buy/Read a Book

  1. Great post and I pretty much agree with all of your topics! Especially dragons, wizards and the like, magic schools and books!
    I think I would add assassins and roadtrips to that list myself. I don’t think I’ve read anything about assassins ON A roadtrip, but that would definitely work too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dragons usually do it. πŸ™‚ Any mention of a dragon (or any mythological/ fantastic creature) will at least get my attention. Magic schools too sometimes do it -you’re right they can be done so many different ways, there’s no need to pooh pooh them. And a dark vibe in a fantasy also. I also like time travel and fae elements- either of those will get me to at least consider it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love books that deal with books, too! My favorites are the Inkheart trilogy (that is going to be getting more books), The Storied Life Of A.J. Fikry, and The Thirteenth Tale. And dragons… dragons are good, too. As loing as they don’t turn into people and vice versa. I hate that. Ha ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I hadn’t heard about Inkheart getting more books. I’ve had the books in my hands a few times but never picked them up. And I don’t mind the dragon turning into people thing as long as it is done well. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Best wel grappig om dit lijstje te lezen terwijl ik bij vrijwel elk woord meteen aan het Ja-knikken was. Misschien moet ik binnenkort toch maar eens goed nadenken over welke woorden er verder nog op mijn lijstje zouden komen te staan.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah yes! Dragons, I really need to read the sequel to so many of the dragon series I have started. Magic school are so cool, would totally recommend Nevernight not high on the magic but assassin school!? Sarcasm is the best and can be a major deal breaker for me, I really need to read My Lady Jane because it sounds so funny!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

