top ten tuesday

TTT #51 – Favorite 2016 Releases So Far

We all like to talk about all those new releases that come out and that we are highly anticipating. We almost pee our pants, that is how excited we are. (I don’t know about you but now that I’m pregnant this happens more often, almost I mean. Obviously.) And we get so sad when we have to wait so long or when a release gets pushed back. It’s where rain really comes from. The tears of bookworms.

But how often do we actually read said anticipated release right away? I have to admit that I don’t always read my pre orders right away. Truthwitch being a clear example of that so far this year. But the next few 2016 releases I have read and enjoyed.

This prompt was provided to us from The Broke and the Bookish top ten tuesday meme. This is a reoccuring weekly meme that provides us lovely bookworm with a prompt.

  1. Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles novella’s) by Marissa Meyer
  2. A Gathering of Shadows (ADSOM 2) by V.E. Schwab
  3. On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis
  4. Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands 1) by Alway Hamilton
  5. The Last Star (The 5th Wave 3) by Rick Yancey
  6. Faith and moonlight part 2 by Mark Gelinaeu and Joe King
  7. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (it was released in Dutch this year, it counts)
  8. This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity 1) by V.E. Schwab

40 thoughts on “TTT #51 – Favorite 2016 Releases So Far

  1. I’ve seen most of these around, Rebel of the Sands seems to be on a lot of lists or getting good reviews. I didn’t do a list this week but now I’m thinking about my faves so far and it’s been hard to decide. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read none of these! šŸ˜±šŸ˜± I have Rebel of the Sands waiting for me on my kindle and I have the V. E. Schwab books on my TBR … Hopefully I will enjoy them as much as you did!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been interested in Nimona for a while. Glad to know you enjoyed it. Heard that it started off as a webcomic series and that there’s a film in the work. Hoping I’ll get to it before that comes out.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved ADSOM and I cannot wait to read AGOS during my summer vacation. I started reading This Savage Song last night and I was very disappointed it is an “event” dystopic. I thought it was going to be like fairytale monsters and a guy who plays a magical violin. I didn’t care for Vicious, either. I am almost afraid to read The Archived. Ha ha. šŸ˜‡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope AGOS will be a lot better than This Savage Song for you. I have to say that from this entire list This Savage Song was my least favorite and I even debated on keeping it on this list. So I completely understand. I really enjoyed The Archived and The Unbound, but I have yet to get to Vicious.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t been able to read Rebel of the Sands yet, but I’ve heard nothing but praise for it and it sounds right up my alley in terms of what I like to read. I STILL haven’t gotten my hands on The Last Star and it is eating me up ALIVE. I NEED to know what happens!! I didn’t like This Savage Song as much as I would’ve liked, but I’m glad you enjoyed it šŸ™‚ Great list! Here’s my Top Ten!

    Lillie @Little Lillie Reads

    Liked by 1 person

  6. On the Edge of Gone is one of this years releases I want to check out! I think it will be so much fun to read about a book set in Amsterdam (even if the city gets destroyed.. lol). And I saw Nimona in a book store a few months ago and it looked so good. I’ve never read a graphic novel before but would like it to be my first ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. On the Edge of Gone was pretty great, though it is more about the characters than the plot I feel. Nimona is also really great! I think it is is a great place to start with graphic novels. šŸ˜‰

      Like

  7. Haven’t read these yet, but most of them definitely are on my TBR! Especially the A Darker Shade of Magic series – I MUST start that series soon because my expectations are sky-high šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, start ADSOM, but don’t let your expectations lead you. I was slightly dissapointed in the first book because the expectations were so high with all the praise. :O

      Like

  8. Eeep, I’m TOTALLY guilty of being super excited over a book and then…not…reading it because I’m too excited and I don’t want it to let me down. šŸ˜„ IT’S CRAZY PROBABLY BUT I CAN’T STOP! I have a ton of 2016 releases on my TBR I’m still too scared to get to. hehe. Oh! Oh but I adored Rebel of the Sands too! SO MUCH FUN. And This Savage Song was fjkdaslfdjsak amazing (adorable monsters <3) same with AGOS. I'm pretty sure VE Schwab is an insta-buy and insta-love author for me now these days. SO MANY TEARS. BUT SO MUCH HAPPY.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know the feelings. I had this especially with Flamecaster by Cinda Williams Chima that I finally finished last night. And I’m glad I did though it doesn’t compare to The Demon King. But it was good in the end.
      I now have 5 V.E. Schwab books I recently realized. I just have to read Vicous. So I think she is like a favorite of mine as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

