reviews

Book Review – White Sand (Graphic Novel)

Book: White Sand (White sand 1) by Brandon Sanderson
Release Date: June 21st 2016
Genre: Fantasy/Graphic Novel
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

C70E5764-4949-4B92-9C28-CC407D2DBF21_zps6sq6t932

Thank you to Netgalley for this review copy in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads

Synopsis

On the planet of Taldain, the legendary Sand Masters harness arcane powers to manipulate sand in spectacular ways. But when they are slaughtered in a sinister conspiracy, the weakest of their number, Kenton, believes himself to be the only survivor. With enemies closing in on all sides, Kenton forges an unlikely partnership with Khriss — a mysterious Darksider who hides secrets of her own.

Review

Brandon Sanderson is well known for his epic fantasy novels. While I haven’t read one yet I do have some of his books on my shelves, ready to be read.  But this June marks the release of a graphic novel that is by his hands. Story wise anyways. It was adapted by Rik Hoshkin and illustrated by Julius M. Gopez. The story is one he had in his head before Mistborn was even published. And now it finally has gotten the chance to be published in a different format.

I got my copy of Netgalley, and the first thing that struck me was that it looked scanned in. Because of this it was often hard to read and I am sure that took away some of my reading enjoyment. For as far as I could tell with the scanned in version, the art was fairly consistent throughout the entire graphic novel. However I can’t say that it has wowed me like I have had with other graphic novels or manga. The paneling wasn’t very strong in this. It relies heavily on arrows to point you which panel you should read next and it made for a messy and confusing read at times.

The world that is divided into two parts with each their own sections. It is certainly an interesting world that we learn more throughout the first volume of. We go from one small portion towards a huge portion of the world in a few chapters. It expanded rather quickly and there was a lot to take in. There were also a lot of different terms being used, and I doubt I’d be able to remember any of it for a next volume.

Like the world, the plot also expanded over the course of the volume. Where we first start with our main character, Kenton, we later start following a group of travelers and someone else in the city as well when their paths start to cross. It is clear that there is a big underlying plot going on of which we only get a small portion now. I can’t say it has hooked me, for the most part because I just don’t care about the characters we were introduced to. They were okay, not dislikable, but certainly no stand out type of characters.

Overall it is an okay read with potential.

5 thoughts on “Book Review – White Sand (Graphic Novel)

Leave a Reply

