Sunday Post

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #37

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

⚜

Personal

The last two weeks have been okay. The discomfort from the pregnancy is growing in my sleeping (or not sleeping), but also in that I am getting more easily tired and my feet hurt super quickly. It is a bit annoying to be honest. But I’m 31 weeks now so we are slowly starting to count down. I’ll be giving birth at home if nothing happens before week 37 (from this week I can give birth at home safely). But I’ve heard from a lot of people this isn’t quite so normal in other countries.

Amigo, our cat, is doing better on the medication and at our last vet visit we got some medication added. He’s doing fine now but the vet said that if he gets worse again there is nothing she can do for him. 😦

I won some giveaways. One will be mentioned in my book haul whenever that appears. But at the end of April I won a giveaway for a bookish necklace. If you follow me on instagram you will have seen it. It is so pretty. I won it from Suze Lavender over on Facebook, who does a lot of giveaways. It was needed as I was feeling a bit down from the bad sleeping.

Since last Sunday my husband had been off from work so I’ve had a lot less time to spend on the blog (none to be honest), and to reply and comment back. So if I have missed one of your comments I appologize.

Last Sunday, to start of his vacation, we went to Zwolle to go to the book market. I am apart of a Dutch goodreads group. And some of the girls from there also went to the same book market as we live reasonably close together. Some of them I have actually seen at the book club I mentioned last Sunday Post. It was fun seeing them again and walking around the book market. Of course I bought books, but that will be dealt with in my book haul for this month. Let me just tell you, I am ashamed of myself for this month.

On Monday we went to a monkey zoo in Apeldoorn where in some areas the monkeys can roam free. It’s great fun to see them. We’ve been there a few times before. It is one of our favorite and closests zoo’s.Β  One of the Lemurs had twins! It was so cute to see. And they are reasonably used to people, though petting them would be stupid because they bite.

Other than that this week we spend some time cleaning the front and the back outside and doing some things for the baby. There was also the bookfest (boekenfestijn) but we shall not talk about that. More books.

How have you all been these last two weeks?

⚜

Currently Reading

β˜… Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

⚜

What I Watched

β˜… De Jacht Season 1 – DNF – This is a remake of a Finiish (I believe) detective. Normal Dutch crimes are only 50 minutes for each story line, but in this theyΒ  made it like an English detective. Unfortunately the characters are bland, and the answers come to them a bit too easy. I coudn’t finish it despite there being only 6 episodes.
β˜…Β  Black Sails Season 1 – So we finally started this. It is okay so far. But as I was just starting to care for some of these charactersΒ  I felt it took a strange turn in places. So I feel a bit eh at the moment. But we’ll start the next season regardless.

⚜

Blog Posts

β˜… (Biweekly) Sunday Post #36

β˜… TTT #48 – Top Beach Reads
β˜… May Wrap Up and June TBR
β˜… Why Do I Love to Watch Detectives, But Not Read Them?

β˜… TTT # 49 – Top Reasons I Love High Fantasy
β˜… Bookshelf Tours of Others

⚜

Reviews

β˜… A Reaper of Stone by Mark Gelinaeu and Joe King
β˜… A Series of Unfortunate Events (Books 1-6) by Lemony Snickett
β˜… The Last Star by Rick Yancey
β˜… The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

⚜

Instagram

Best liked on my Bookstagram these last two weeks. Find me there! My username is signourney, as it is almost everywhere.

⚜

Elsewhere

β˜… Padfootandprongs07 over on Booktube got a lot of manga!
β˜… Rabbitbookz talks about why she reads a lot of English as a Dutch person (Dutch)
β˜… Lovely Cait from Paper Fury explained how to translate what the bookworm creature is saying. She also posted about who Young Adult is intended for yesterday, a reaction post to a recent article in the Guardian
β˜… Inge from Of Wonderland talks about why authors need bloggers
β˜… Some bookish confessions from Annika over on Hiding Books. She confesses she can’t DNF
β˜… Karina from A Reader under the Sea talks about gaining more exposure on bookstagram
β˜… Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperback shared some of her wallpapers for A Gathering of Shadows.
β˜… Victoria Schwab, author of A Gathering of Shadows, shared that her mental illness is a storm

29 thoughts on “(Biweekly) Sunday Post #37

  1. That book mart and zoo both look fun. πŸ™‚ And best of luck w/ Amigo, hope he stays well.

    I hope Black Sails picks up for you. It’s been a while since I’ve seen S1 so I don’t remember what all happened, but the characters on that show do have a tendency to be ambiguous- sometimes I like em, sometimes i don’t lol.

    I love that cover of the Hobbit all in black.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing my post! πŸ™‚ I hope your cat will be okay, because he looks adorable. I’ve always wanted to go to Apeldoorn and hang out with all the monkeys. One day…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are welcome, Inge. πŸ™‚ Me too. I hope the medication will help him for a long time still.
      Yes, go when you have the chance. It’s a lot of fun, especially when you can see them walking around free in some of the areas.

      Like

  3. I hope you’re resting and taking care of yourself – being pregnant sounds like a lot of work. πŸ˜€ And I hope your cat gets better too, he looks adorable. πŸ™‚ Those book markets sound like A LOT of fun, clearly you had to indulge! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can imagine it must be nice to finally start counting down. I’ve heard the same thing about other countries: it must be nice to give birth in your own home, being in a safe, comfortable, known environment. Instead of sterile, white, hospital. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

    Haha, I haven’t been to Apenheul in a long while. Then again, I haven’t lived closed to it anymore for a long time.
    The bookmarket looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Countdowns go so slow though. πŸ˜› I think it is nicer to give birth at home when possible. No driving home after giving birth and the baby can go to his/her own bed right away.

      The book market was pretty great. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Here in the US giving birth in the hospital is the norm and having the baby at home is rare, although most mothers and babies now get discharged in 24 hours if there is nothing wrong. The hospital stays used to be a lot longer. Does a midwife come to your house? I am glad your kitty is doing better. I wish we had book markets like you have there, here, but I would probably spend too much money. Ha ha. I will be looking forward to your bookshelves post. Have a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, there is a protocol as to when you call the midwife. They come to your home then and if you are in a far enough stage they stay with you until after the birth. If I recall right there is likely also going to be someone from maternity care there when the midwife requests it.

      Haha. it is too easy to spend money at book markets.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I haven’t had kids but I suspect it’s the exciting and stressful time. You’re tired of being pregnant but worried you don’t have everything organised.

    Enjoy the next few weeks. (And giving birth at home in Australia isn’t unheard of, but having hospital births is more common).

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m sorry you’re not sleeping well! My sister just had her baby and she had the same especially in the last weeks of the pregnancy. Winning giveaways definitely helps with feeling better, right? πŸ˜‰
    Your bookstagram looks so pretty, I need to make sure I’m following you!
    And a MONKEY ZOO. I am so jealous! I haven’t been to one in a few years but those are my favourite!
    Aww and thanks for the shout out! That’s so sweet of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am glad Amigo is doing better. It’s so hard seeing our fur friends suffer. You are in the final stretch! I wish I could say things get easier from here. One of my friends is due the end of October and just found out her baby has Downs Syndrome. It’s been rough for her and her family as they go through the grieving process–grieving their expectations of a perfect baby. She’s going to be a great mom and her daughter will be her own kind of perfect. But there are so many unknowns and possible health issues. That’s neither here nor there though. Congratulations on your wins! And it sounds like you had a lovely vacation with your husband.
    I hope you have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That has to be hard to hear during the pregnancy which is why we didn’t do those tests. But like you say, she will be a great mom to this child as well once those ideas of having a ‘perfect’ baby are let go.
      Thank you. πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Ah yes those finally weeks are tough. Have you begun nesting or have you been there done that? No in the states most babies are delivered in the hospital, and we go home the next day. Rest…it will be the last time you do so!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. After my work contract ended at the start of April I started tidying up around the house. But now my husband is home and everything is back to being a mess so I’ll have to restart a bit in July, haha.

      Like

  10. Sorry the pregnancy has been uncomfortable lately :-/ But congrats on winning some giveaways!

    Ooh that monkey place sounds like fun! There’s a place somewhat near where I live that seems kind of similar to what you described. Basically the humans walk around inside a caged pathway, and the monkeys just run around and hang out wherever, and there are little buckets on chains where you can put food they sell (like raisins), and the monkeys will then pull the bucket up and take the food. I used to love going there because the monkeys were so cute, especially when they’d sit and wait for you to put the food or try and get your attention. And that book market you went to sounds fun too!

    Have a great week πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it is kind of like that. But we aren’t allowed to feed them, and you get a special monkey proof bag to put your own bag into since they like to steal things, haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

