reviews

Book Review – The Summoning

Book: The Summoning (The Darkest Powers 1) by Kelley Armstrong
Release Date: September 4th 2008
Genre: Paranormal
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

Synopisis

All Chloe Saunders wants is a life like any normal teenager – the chance to get through school, make friends, and maybe meet a boy. But when she starts seeing ghosts, she knows that life will never be normal again.

Soon ghosts are everywhere, demanding her attention. When Chloe finally breaks down, she’s admitted to a group home for disturbed kids. At first Lyle House seems okay, but as she gets to know the other patients – charming Simon and his ominous, unsmiling brother Derek; obnoxious Tori; and Rae, who has a ‘thing’ for fire – Chloe begins to realise that something strange and sinister binds them all together, and it isn’t your usual ‘problem kid’ behaviour.
And they’re about to discover that Lyle House is not your usual group home, either . . .

Review

The Summoning is your typical paranormal young adult. When I think critically there is nothing that truly stands out in the plot as super orginal. Girl starts having powers, is deemed sick by those around her, but learns then that she truly has powers by a potential love interest. There is no surprise. And yet there is something that drew me in despite that.

The writing and the characters were captivating. The writing flowed easily and made this book a quick read. Chloe was interesting to read about. The first few chapters I thought she’d be the typical rich girl. However throughout the book I felt she developed away from how she was portrayed in those first few pages.

While there are of course love interests in this book for Chloe I feel that she choose more for herself. She even says at some point that love isn’t one of her first priorities. While of course she is a 15 year old girl and does have some interest in a guy, it doesn’t take over the plot in anyway. It is there in the background. But personally I kind of hope she goes a different way with her love interest.

I’m curious to see how the connections Chloe made with Derek, Simon, Liz and Rae hold up in the next two books of this trilogy and if there will be plot elements added onto this story that will surprise me.

One thing that did bother me this as I was reading it was the mental disease portion. Chloe gets this diagnosis of schizophrenia awfully quickly based on one symptom. There are other things that spring to mind that have hallucinations as a symptom, you know. Also how they responded to her saying she wasn’t seeing ghosts anymore and her rather quick accepting after a few days as supposed professionals was weird. Though this wasn’t explained, I expect it to be so in the next book, the events at the end does show me that this was done intentionally by the supposed professionals.

9 thoughts on “Book Review – The Summoning

  1. I’m glad you liked this one! I read these years ago and I feel like I barely remember them now (so I’m tempted to do a quick reread now that you’ve reminded me of them!) but I remember really getting into these books. I think I binged them pretty quickly! I loved that Derek was like a real teenager? you know, spotty and greasy hair ( – the things I do remember are weird). The diagnosis thing bothers me too, now that you mention it! I think I definitely need to reread now to see if that annoys me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

