TBR · Wrap Up

May Wrap Up and June TBR

Hello June. Goodbye May.

And to wave off May properly I am of course doing my monthly wrap up. This month my reading was mostly okay. I read some shorter books like novella’s. Some weeks I had more problems with picking up a book. Other weeks or days I steamed through a book in one go. Even so for being home every day I don’t think my reading is where it could be.

# Read 90 Books
Read this month: 14
Total: 46 /90

  1. White Sand (White Sand 1) by Brandon Sanderson – 3 stars
  2. Armada by Ernest Cline – 3 stars
  3. Uprooted by Naomi Novak – 5 stars
  4. XXXHolic Omnibus 1 by CLAMP – 5 stars
  5. Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles Novella Collection) – 5 stars
  6. Melodies of Blood 1: the Awakening by Maialen Alsono – 2,5 stars
  7. The Awakening (The Darkest Powers 2) by Kelley Armstrong – 4 stars
  8. Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – 5 stars
  9. A Reaper of Stone (A Reaper of Stone 1) by Mark Gelineau and Joe King – 4 stars
  10. The Last Star (The 5th Wave 3) by Rick Yancey – 4 stars
  11. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson – 5 stars
  12. The Reckoning (The Darkest Powers 3) by Kelley Armstrong – 4 stars
  13. Faith and Moonlight part 1 by Mark Gelineau and Joe King – 4,5 stars
  14. Faith and Moonlight part 2 by Mark Gelineau and Joe King – 4,5 stars

So it’s been a pretty good reading month considering the amount of 5 stars I’ve given out. I don’t normally give out this many in 6 months, let alone within one month. And the amount is pretty okay. I try not to inhale books in one day. Even so I do think I could (and maybe should) be reading more seeing as I’m home every day. On the other hand I have also been working on the blog to be ahead for August, and also I’ve been tidying up and cleaning around the house a lot. I’m also now 10 books ahead so I can’t really complain. Though I’ll probably need it with the baby coming.

Also I’ve been spreading my reviews out so I’ll have some that will be ready for August in a bit, so that is why you won’t see the reviews for some of these online for a while on the blog.

I’m well ahead of my goodreads challenge at the moment. I did count some novella’s because they were around a 100 pages, and hey, I read those as well you know. Do you count novella’s?

 ⚜

# Unread Books
Total unread books on shelf end of April – 138
Books read in May (that count) – 8
Books bought/received in May (no ebooks) – 14
Total unread books on shelf end of May –144

Obviously I got too many physical books this month. I also read 5 ebooks and a manga that don’t count towards this goal. I didn’t count along my manga with my unread books because technically I have read most of those ‘unread’ already online.

So I’m up 6 books from last month. So here is to hoping that next month will be better.

 ⚜

# Commenting 365 Challenge – Commenting on  365 new to me blogs
This month: 41
Total: 116/365

I’m actually doing rather well with this goal now. I’m still a bit behind on where I should be considering this is technically one comment per day. I should be around 150, but I am catching up rather nice seeing where I was at the end of March. I did make this really hard for me by picking new to me blogs, and quite honestly I don’t think I can keep that up. So right now I’m going also for blogs I already knew but hadn’t commented on before.

 ⚜

# June TBR

There are so many books I want to read at this moment that it is hard putting this TBR together. Also this one is probably a bit ambitious as my husband will have his 3 week Summer vacation this month and I will probably not get around to reading that much throughout the month. But hey, I’ll have plenty to choose from when I do read I suppose, haha.

First I’d like to get around to  finishing Flamecaster, and my reread of The Hobbit. I would also like to finish the Buffy the Vampire Slayer omnibus, finally, and finish rereading the illustrated The Philosopher’s Stone. When This Savage Song comes out (that different cover paperback according to various sites) I want to read that. Then I’d like to read the conclusion to De Verborgen Universiteit by Natalie Koch. Other options as you can see on my pile are the first two books of The Others series by Anne Bishop, The Jungle Book and Naked in Death by J.D Robb. But also Steelheart, Soul Music and Good Omens. Such a big pile, haha.

23 thoughts on “May Wrap Up and June TBR

  1. I love Buffy but I’ve never read any books, only seen the TV show. As for novellas I am never sure where a novella becomes a fully fledged novel so I’d count them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have to say I wouldn’t recommend reading them based on this omnibus. So far I’m not impressed at all. Novella’s are usually anywhere from 18.000 to 40.000 words if I remember correctly, but even so there is such a fine line between the bigger novella’s and novels.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, man, I think I need to get my hands on Nimona ASAP. I don’t think I’ve seen a single bad review/rating for that one. You had a great reading month! I wish I had a month where I could give several books 5 stars. 😦 I’ve only given out one 5-star rating this entire year, and that sucks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, you must~!
      It’s a first time I’ve had a month like this. Usually I’m pretty stingy with my 5 stars. But I hope you are able to find more books this year that are 5 star worthy. 🙂

      Like

  3. I totally count novella’s! Though I haven’t read any for a long time. I also usually blog ahead with my reviews, it saves me from thinking of posts when I’m just not feeling creative! Though with a baby on the way, I can imagine you might need some blogging ahead. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am planning in reviews from now in August which just seems so far away, haha. I have also written other posts in advance I had been meaning to do to make it easier on myself. Though I’m not as far ahead as I would secretly like.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, jij hebt grote leesplannen voor juni. Eigenlijk zou ik zelf gewoon eens enkele dagen offline moeten blijven – zodat ik eens in één keer kan doorlezen. De laatste tijd is het steeds enkele hoofdstukken hier én dan een dag later weer een paar terwijl ik het liefst in één keer een boek wil uitlezen. Zonder onderbrekingen en afleiding.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ik heb in ieder geval wat te kiezen. 😉
      En dat klinkt herkenbaar. Hoe leuk social media en dingen zijn, ze leiden toch echt af van het doorlezen.

      Like

  5. Novella’s are just difficult because the size of them vary so much, I personally don’t count them on my Goodreads goals unless they are in a multi-novella bind up like Stars Above but other people do. Uprooted is one of those books that I have seen so much love for and fantasy is one of my fav genres, but the synopsis hasn’t really sold me the book and I hesitate every time I go into the bookshop, but I am glad you enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very true. I didn’t use to count novella’s at all but these days I do when they are over a certain amount of pages.
      I thought Uprooted was really good, but it has to be your taste I think. It does have a bit of a fairytale/folkore feel to it.

      Like

  6. Wow, that is a lot of books this month, congratulations! And also glad to hear you enjoyed so many of them 🙂 Hope June is just as awesome in relation to books, but also that you get some nice relaxing time with your husband for his time off 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

