top ten tuesday

TTT #48 – Top Beach Reads

If you know me a little you know I never read at the beach. Quite frankly I hardly ever go to the beach unless it is for a walk, but certainly not to read. For someone who grew up at in a sea town with lots of beach, that is quite something. I just don’t care for sun burns and sand crawling everywhere.

So when this prompt for beach reads comes up on Top Ten Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish in preparation for the Summer as it did last year, I never know quite what to make of it. I see beach reads often as contemporaries or mystery type of books. And we all know I hardly ever read those.

So for today I am making a list of my top books from my shelves that I think might be great reads for on the beach. These can be books I read or that are still on my TBR.

  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
    A quick and fun read. And hey, you’ll have something in common. You’re both surrounded by sand.
  • UntitledSteelheart by Brandon Sanderson
    A great place to start for Brandon Sanderson, I hope. It’s a lot thinner than his other books so why not take it to the beach with you. And the cover looks quite cooling. Of course the next book in the series doesn’t, but we’re not talking about that.
  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
    A huge book, but if you can find some shadow or have a parasol, I’m sure it’s great to bury yourself in. And hey, at the very least you can pretend there is a wind on those wind still, super hot days with this book. If you flap it around it might actually give you one.
  • The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks
    Another big one, but a good read. And it might help you with getting some shadows.
  • Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
    I’d rather be under a sky, but I’ve been told it is a good dystopian read.
  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
    Because on hot days you need a wave or two. And it’s a good read.
  • Vicious by V.E. Schwab
    Because I know I would be vicious if I had to spend the day at the beach…
  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
    Wouldn’t you rather be in a book store?
  • Starters and Enders by Lissa Price
    Because I know that once this beach day starts I’ll want it to end…
29 thoughts on “TTT #48 – Top Beach Reads

  1. I’ve just got the third book from the 5th Wave series. I do hope you enjoy 5th Wave. It’s a great series. Steelheart was awesome too! Definitely makes me want to read more Brandon Sanderson books! I need to read Vicious this year. I have This Savage Song to read this month and have loved all V E Schwabs other books!

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I finished The Last Star last week and I enjoyed the series overal a good deal. 🙂
      I have the UK paperback of This Savage Song on pre order that apparently comes out next week so I can’t wait to get into that.

      Like

  2. The only problem with a big book like The Name of the Wind is that you might get some odd tan lines from its huge shadow 😉 (I have absolutely, definitely never ever given myself book-shaped tan lines from sitting in the garden in shorts with a book propped against my legs. Never).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Steelheart! Firefight is definitely too hot to look at in the sun. Haha. I’ve heard that Brent Weeks’s books are of a similar style to Sanderson’s. Been wanting to check him out. Is the Way of Shadows a good point to start?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You have so many good picks here! I’ve wanted to read The Name of the Wind for a while but I’m debating starting it until I know I won’t have to wait for the series to be finished. And I really want to read Vicious, it seems like everyone who mentions it has nothing but good things to say about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah Patrick Rothfuss has a bit of a George RR Martin thing going on I heard with the time inbetween books. Though I also heard that the third book was suppose to come out in September I think.

      Like

  5. I need to read Vicious! I think I’m wait until after This Savage Song comes out to read it though, I must space out her novels, so I can make them last longer. Rebel in the Sands was so wonderful and I agree, at the very least there is sand involved in both.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the beach, sunburns and all! I didn’t do this prompt for my Top Five Friday because I read magazines and look at catalogs at the beach. I am not much of an outdoor reader anyway. I don’t know why. I never was as a child either.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

