Sunday Post

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #36

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

Personal

How have you all been these past two weeks?

Here things have been okay. The baby is doing fine, but one of our cats isn’t doing so great. And he certainly didn’t have the greatest vet visit (though that was his own fault, not the vets).

He had to get his blood drawn and he went balistic. It took three people to do it and one large glove. Afterwards he had to be put on oxygen so he wouldn’t have something like a heart attack on the drive back. His heart rate is way too high so he has heart medication for now. We have another visit this Tuesday so we’ll see how he is doing then. He is doing better, but he’s getting old.

What else was I going to say? Oh I made a buddy reading page now. And I’ve linked most of the books I have on my physical tbr so you can see if maybe we have some matching books.

I got and finished The Last Star. Now I mostly read without the dustjacket on with hardcovers, and after reading The Last Star I had these on my fingers. I’ve had it happen before. Have any of you had that happen. It’s kind of weird and it doesn’t just wash off very easily.

I had a lot to do this last half of the week. Fun things. But I had a few nights of bad sleep and I didn’t end up feeling too great physically. My voice went hoarse again, and I ended up cancelling on volunteering on Thursday night. But on Friday I felt a bit better. I painted my nails and tried the newspaper nails thing. I guess it turned out okay, but it isn’t perfect.

Then on Friday night there was a book club evening in a book store in Zwolle where we were going to talk about Diversity. Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda was one book we were going to discuss. There was another one but I didn’t read that. It wasn’t entirely nessecary. Unfortunately because of the voice there wasn’t much to say. I always get very awkward with other people that I don’t know and my voice didn’t really help much with that since I’ve had so much trouble with my voice over the years. Hopefully next time will be better on that front. But it was still fun. You can see a group picture on the book stores instagram page.

We got a goodiebag at the end. Here is some of the swag~

Saturday was just busy running around doing things, and tonight we’ll be having dinner with my husband’s siblings. We have to make the starter, so we’ll see how that goes.

Currently Reading

I’m actually not reading anything actively at the moment. June I’ll pick up some books. But tomorrow I have to write out 5 reviews or so, haha.

What I Watched

Lewis Season 8 – I love Lewis. I do. The relationship between the two main characters is great. Though the dynamic shifted a bit in this season, and I missed some of their natural easy humor that we got in earlier seasons.
The Heavy Water War – DNF. It’s only six episodes but the first three were so slow that I lost interest. It was a series I bought on dvd for my husband’s birthday back in March and he enjoyed it, so that was good.
Falling Skies Season 4 – While I really like this show, I have a hard time getting into each of the seasons first 2-3 episodes or so. After that I am back in and I am sad when the season ends. The romance portion of this season was a bit unnessecary for me to be honest, and some of the scenes were shot so dark that it was hard to see what was going on. But I love how Tom and Weaver have united.

Blog Posts

★  (Biweekly) Sunday Post #35
Blog Ahead May 2016 Wrap Up
★  TTT #46 – Top Books I Picked Up on a Whim
★  Happy 1 Year A Dance with Books
Marks on Your Book

TTT #47 – Top Books I feel Differently About
June/July/August New Releases I Am Keeping My Eye on/Need to Have
Book Haul #13

Reviews

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (series review)
The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Melodies of Blood 1 by Maialen Alonso

Instagram

Best liked on my Bookstagram these last two weeks. Find me there! My username is signourney, as it is almost everywhere.

Elsewhere

★ Nikki from Alice in Wonder Book Land talks about how she edits her instagram photos
★ Read Diverse Books shared a list of 20 diverse books you can read
★ Karina from A Reader under the Sea shares some of her Epic Bookstagram Fails
★ Over on Rain City Librarian, Jane talks about using songs to learn language
★ Marcia from Oog op de Toekomst made a website to find a book rec. It’s called Boekvinder. Dutch only.

43 thoughts on “(Biweekly) Sunday Post #36

  1. Sorry to hear about your cat, hope all goes well. I have one that is getting older too and he’s having some problems. And happy blogoversary!! I love bookstore events, it’s always fun to go to stuff like that.

    Good luck with the reviews writing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, some older cats get all the problems. It’s sad to see. But at least he still uses the litter box so that is a plus.
      Thank you! Going to get started in a bit.

      Like

    1. As long as they don’t have to draw more blood I think he’ll be okay, but still pretty stressed.
      Maybe my fingers were particulary sweaty that day, haha

      Like

  2. Aww poor kitty 😦 Good luck with the next visit.

    I actually noticed your newspaper nail before I even got to that paragraph, so I think it looks nice! I’ve always wanted to try that.

    The bookstore thing sounds fun, but I would probably also feel awkward trying to discuss something with a bunch of people I don’t know. Feel better and enjoy your free swag!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve only got the last season of Falling Skies to watch. I’ve not HUGELY enjoyed any after s1 or so but after a few episodes I get more into it. I gather the final season is a bit disappointing so I’ve been putting it off!

    Sorry to hear about your cat and hope things improve!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry about your voice, but it still seems like you got a lot accomplished. I wish I was in that book club meeting, it sounds like that would’ve been a great discussion. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m really sorry to hear about your cat and hope the medication works to stabilise his heart condition so that he can enjoy life. I really like the newspaper nails – so how do you get that effect? Hope you are feeling completely back to full fitness and have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems to be working but we’ll have to see what the vet says tomorrow.

      You paint your nails like you normally would, though preferably in a light color. Then you cut ten pieces the size of your nail from the news paper. You put one piece in a bowl of 70% alcohol, let it float for a while, then pull it out. Dip a finger in the 70% alcohol, pull out then put the newspaper on the nail and hold for 30 seconds. Pull it off and the letters should then be on the nail. Then put on a topcoat so the letters stay on. Repeat for each finger. 🙂

      Today seems to be a lot better so far. Thanks. 🙂

      Like

  6. Oh my!! How did you like The Last Star?! I cannot wait to read it 😀 Like you, if I’m reading a hardcover I take the jacket off. I get that black stuff all over my fingers when I do it too. The only thing I’ve found to take it off is alcohol and even that doesn’t work well. Hope you have a great week!
    My Sunday Post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked The Last Star for the most part. I hope you enjoy it as well.
      It is so annoying when it stays on your fingers for a while. 😦 But I’m glad I’m not the only one who has it. 😉

      Like

  7. I’ll have to check out your buddy reads page! I’m glad that you had fun at the discussion group, I don’t think that my city has anything like that, but it sound really cool! Have a good week! 🙂

    ~Anna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, every city or town should have something like that. You can always ask your local book store or library even to see if they are willing to participate in something like that. 🙂 I know a bunch of the group had asked the book store if they were every going to do something like this before.

      Like

  8. I love those Pratchett book covers! I will be checking out your buddy list. I am happy to hear the baby is doing well. Have you had the problem with your voice a long time? Could it be allergies? Have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those covers are so pretty. Trying to get the ones that are in these editions all, slowly of course, haha.

      Let me know if there is anything you’d like to read together. I’ll keep The Raven Cycle for July if you want to read that together. 🙂

      My voice has been an issue for a while. I’ll send you a dm on twitter about it. Too long of a story for here. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it was. Before when they drew his blood they combined it with something else (like xray) so that they could sedate him and it wouldn’t be so stressful on him. But he’d be gone the whole day. It sucks when they are like that, because I wish I could explain to him that nothing bad is going to happen. 😦

      Have a great week as well.

      Like

  9. Ohh I LOVE your instagram photos! SO GORGEOUS. And aw, poor cat. 😦 My dog is the same at the vet. He’s absolutely horrible and has to be muzzled and ugh, I feel SO BAD when we have to take him, poor little darling. He’s just terrified out of his wits.
    And your nails look awesome! But woah, I’ve never read a book that’s rubbed off on my hands though. 😛 Leaky book? hehe.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you~!
      It is so sad to see. If only we could explain it to them. With vet visits or why we have to give them medication. I got extra medication to try for a few days now so now I have to give him medication twice a day, Poor cat.

      It’s so weird. I only have it with specific black hardcovers.

      Like

  10. Sorry to hear about your cat. Ours are still fairly young, but two of the three dogs are older and are starting to have issues. I also still ahve reviews to write, but that doesn’t seem to stop me from picking up the next book to read. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Our other cat is turning 4 this month and she walks around perfectly healthy (though we have to brush her teeth apparently…) It’s sad to see how they never get the chance to just age somewhat healthy. Though I guess we don’t do that either.
      Haha. I didn’t end up writing all 5 before picking up my next one.

      Like

  11. Poor kitty. Older cats have a rough time of it. Mine has been through something similar about a month ago…the poor vet’s office kept coming up with new ways to keep her from ripping them to shreds, before finally employing a large net type thing with large plastic handles to hold her still. You take lovely photos! I use to be really into staging for instagram but it takes way too much effort to do it, especially in the colder months when the lighting is horrible, and I couldn’t keep it up.
    I hope you have a lovely week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They do. Oh having to use a net thing sounds like it just makes things extra scary for the cat, though I understand they have to do it for their own safety.

      Ah thank you. And I agree that in the Winter it is harder to keep up with it. Then you really have to hope for one better sunny day and take ALL the picture on that day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

