Book Haul

Book Haul #13

Confession: I bought too many books this month.

I don’t even know how it happened. Or maybe I do. I went to two book markets where I in total bought 6 books. That added on to other books I was planning to get this month brought us to this huge amount of books. Also I had a lot of (pregnancy hormone) mood swings which didn’t really help either. And I went on Netgalley. Oops. But to be fair, I hardly ever go on there. It was more than 6 months since I’d even looked on there.

And I can tell you that next month isn’t going to be a lot better as there is another book market near us, and the bookfest (boekenfestijn) is in Apeldoorn next month. So expect more books coming. I think.

As mentioned in a Sunday Post I went to a book market in Hengelo on May 1st. There were about 60 stalls. And there I found the next four books.

D71D088A-3A14-43C9-8A91-E397A4196347_zpsi4m4qchxMaking Money (Discworld 36) by Terry Pratchett
At one of the first stalls I saw an Englisch sci-fi/fantasy section that had about 10 Discworld hardcovers. You should know that I’ve been collecting Discworld books for a while now. These hardcovers aren’t that easy to find anymore around here. But since they were still a tad expensive for a book market (12,50 Euro each) I didn’t have enough money on me to buy them all. I really wanted to do, but I settled for this one. Maybe they will also be at the book market in Zwolle in June where I would like to go to.

92397E7C-EC48-4909-A898-897A2BEB12F2_zps5hdzvr2qThe World of Pooh by A.A. Milne
I’ve been seeing some editions of Pooh books around online for a while now. But this one was only 2 Euro AND hardcover with illustrations (some coloured). There was no way I was going to pass that up.

25529705-6413-45B0-B3C3-71BA4EBF6698_zps3vte1qsrThe Field Guide (The Spiderwick Chronicles 1) by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi
The Spiderwick Chronicles is one of those series that I learned about from Tumblr, like with A Series of Unfortunate Events. I read a book by Holly Black earlier this year that I liked so I am curious to see how this is. 04313E9F-D401-4D8F-8529-D745756E3D30_zpscyqy7if9

The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking 2) by Patrick Ness
Everybody seems to love the Chaos Walking trilogy. I have the first book in Dutch,  but seeing this in English for 5 Euro made me not care about it being in a different language and edition for a change. I couldn’t really pass that up. Having every book series match is expensive. The woman of the stall was all ‘I have another one of those’ and if I wanted it. Lol, I said it was the first and I already have that one. She looked at me strangely then.

A84126FE-BA87-40D6-9C7A-C8022A78C133_zpshglbclqnMurder of Crows (The Others 2) by Anne Bishop I bought the first one of this series in Dutch last year, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. The Dutch publisher did a crowdfunding so they could publish the fourth book later on this year, and I paid for it as a bunch of others did so we are sure of getting the fourth book. But that does mean I have to start reading and get the rest, haha. I found this one cheap on an online store, boekenkraam (somewhat similar to book outlet I suppose, just not as cheap). 410AFC20-B278-41DA-BCBC-277E2560C875_zps2wnjh752

The Raven King (Raven Cycle 4) by Maggie Stiefvater
I now have all of the Raven Cycle books, though half in Dutch and half in English, so I can bingeread this series this Summer. Who said they wanted to do a buddyread again, haha. Because I am dying to start this series.

21262C26-DF4E-4585-8D14-E83DD1D25853_zps4dsmhfcf Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles 4.5) by Marissa Meyer – Read I finally, finally got Stars Above so I now have this series completed. And I have read it completely. I was torn on getting it though because I read about half of them online already when Marissa Meyer put them up for free. But the hardcover was a tad cheaper at the start of May and I figured I’d need it to complete the collection. And I’m glad I did.

The Iron Trail (Magisterium 1) by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
I was not going to read this series (because Cassandra Clare), but when I saw this Dutch version and the price (5 Euro for a hardcover) I wanted to give it a try regardless. Holly Black had a hand in it and I enjoyed another book by her as I said earlier. D536884C-F10C-41FA-B17F-C3C31D2AC796_zpsbzsw02b5

The Vile Village and The Slippery Slope (A Series of Unfortunate Events book 7 and 10) by Lemony Snickett
On White Monday we went to another book market. I wasn’t really taken by it but I did end up finding these in the Dutch editions that I have been collecting. So far I all got them second-hand so I’m pleased with that.

C6939084-6EAA-41D8-957B-4E5C7568C7E6_zpsfnddjk7dNimona by Noelle Stevenson – Read Nimona! I’ve had my eye on this graphic novel for a while now, but I hadn’t gotten around to purchasing it yet. But earlier this year the Dutch publisher Blossom Books announced they were going to publish it in Dutch. And I knew then I would get this one. It was released this month. I choose to go for Dutch so Maarten could potentially read it as well if he wanted to.

B6826AC2-5AB0-4429-A58D-1C44B10C1818_zps9cdyazycSimon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – read
A contemporary for a change. I’d heard so many good things about this book that when there was a ya evening somewhere in a book store near me and this book was being discussed, I bought it and read it right away. And I really enjoyed it. I know, me and enjoying a contemporary. What is this world coming to? 😛

0E28F534-8452-46B7-B622-B298B44B6055_zpsptflf76nDe Stad van de Alchemist (De Verborgen Universiteit 3) by Natalie Koch The last book to this trilogy had been out for a while but the hardcover was so freaking expansive I had not purchased it yet. However my mom had a gift card to a Dutch online book store which was just the amount this book was priced at, so I got lucky and paid nothing for this huge hardcover. I can’t wait to finish this trilogy. ❤ 2EAA2972-7CC9-48CC-9548-B73DDE7CC989_zpsgmbww2wq

The Last Star (The 5th Wave 3) by Rick Yancey – Read
Another ending to a trilogy that just came out. There seem to be an awful lot of that this year, series ending I mean. Anyway, despite The Infinite Sea being a dissapointment, I am so excited for this last installment.

 

 

 

Netgalley

netgalley may 2016_zpssirrm7ye

White Sand (White Sand 1) by Brandon Sanderson – Read
Through the Netgalley newsletter for comics I saw this was read now on there, and I figured I’d give it a go. Let’s forget I have 5 other books by him I still have to read. I wasn’t entirely impressed by it, but you can read that in my review in June.
A Reaper of Stone (A Reaper of Stone 1) by Mark Gelineau and Joe King – Read
This book I had heard about on other blogs. This duo write various novella’s with different characters set in the same world, which I find very interesting. The overal title is Echoes of the Ascended.
Faith and Moonlight (Faith and Moonlight part 1 + 2) by Mark Gelinau and Joe King – Read
This is another one of those novella’s. I’ll be curious to see how this differs from the one above.

The Stack

And here is the complete stack of physical books. Well not really a stack, just them all put together.

FAA4BE80-2A54-4855-A074-CA1633F789BB_zpsy55yaqh5

So how many books did you get this month? Which books out of those are you most excited about? And which book out of my haul are you excited about?

11 thoughts on “Book Haul #13

  1. My eyes are bugging out! Ha ha! You sure did buy a lot. But to me that is okay. I also do not care for YA Contemporary, but I really liked Simon Vs. I am going to be doing a binge read of The Raven Cycle. If you are going to do it in July or August, let me know! I love the cover of the Discworld book. I got quite a few eARCs from Edelweiss and Netgally, but all of them publish in the fall and winter, so I don’t feel to bad about it. Heh heh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Simon vs. was pretty great! I think I might do it in July, depending on how the pregnancy goes so I’ll let you know nearing the end of June, if that is okay? Discworld has so many nice editions out there. ❤
      Oh that is plenty of time, haha. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

