top ten tuesday

TTT #47 – Top Books I Feel Differently About

After each book that we read we form an opinion. Each book shapes our reading taste a bit more. So when we think back on those books we read years ago we might feel different about them than we did before. A reread might also make us feel different about the book than we did after the first read. A few of these I have myself which I will share down below. Beware of some unpopular opinions.

Do you change the ratings on Goodreads when this happens? In general I only do this after a reread.

This prompt comes from the weekly prompt of Top Ten Tuesday as created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Books I Like Less or Dislike Even More

    • Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas (first three)
      I know this is a big favorite but the first two never were any favourites of mine and the more I think about those two books the more I realize that there are a lot of things that don’t work for me in these books. I loved Heir of Fire, but after discussing the book with someone, I realized why. It had more of a fantasy setting that I love, however it is somewhat disjointed from the other two. After hearing things about Queen of Shadows I have completely lost any interest in this series. It just goes back and fort. It doesn’t feel like some of these things were planned out from the beginning because they weren’t well incorporated in the previous books.
    • Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
      I was not a big fan of this book after I read it, and as time passes my negative feelings have increased in a way that is unfamiliar to me. This book angered me so much for some reason. Oops.
    • UntitledThe Magicians by Lev Grossman While this book still holds its 4 star rating after my reread last year, it has lost its status amongst my favorites. I found it harder to get into the characters, and some of my love for it has been lost throughout the years. (But I desperately need to see the TV show.)
    • The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare While I wasn’t a big fan to begin with, reading The Infernal Devices made me see how much better that trilogy is (in my opinion), and how especially the last three books of The Mortal Instruments should not have happened (again, in my opinion). I think the first three could have been fine on their own but the saga of Clary and Jace had to go on and on and on and on and on. Magnus and Alec’s relationship is one of the few things that can get me excited about with this series.

 

 

 

 

Books I love More

    • The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima I read The Demon King ages ago and really liked it, but when I reread it was when I truly fell in love with it. The world and the characters.
    • Seraphina by Rachel Hartman UntitledI love this duology, but I have Shadow Scale rated higher than Seraphina. I was being a bit picky with the first book. However with more time to think about the book I think I love the first book more than the second book.
    • Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
      The ending of (the Dutch) Hex left me confused. It was such a shocking ending that I was a bit conflicted over the book. However now that more time has passed and my shock has faded, I can really appreciate this book for its horror.

 

 

18 thoughts on “TTT #47 – Top Books I Feel Differently About

    1. I prefer finishing series too, but once my interest goes too low or annoyance gets too high there is no way I’m going to pick it up even if I have it on my shelf. Or I really have to force myself. It justs feels like such a waste of reading time then.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Funny that you mention Queen of the Tearling, I just read that recently and I’m not sure how I feel about it. I liked it I guess, but then started the next one and got thrown out of the story by the twist. Now I don’t know if I’ll finish. I haven’t even reviewed it on the blog yet as I’m still trying to figure out how I feel about it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same way about the Throne of Glass series, it started out strong, but it does feel that Maas did a completely makeover of her world and the storylines later on, which made much of it feel inconsistent. Still not sure if I’ll finish the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel exactly the same way of the Mortal Instruments. It should have stopped after the first 3 books because I really did not like the last 3 books. Except for the Alec and Magnus bits 🙂 I like The Infernal Devices and the new Lady Midnight so much better than TMI.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

