top ten tuesday

TTT #46 – Top Books I Picked Up on a Whim

Within the bookish community we love to give out recommendations, and sometimes we actively search out those books that are similar to a favorite book. But are there still books that you come across in the book store that you have never heard of before that you decide to buy and read?

There are so many books that we see and hear about that picking a book up on a whim hardly ever happens for me. I also try to resist that whim when I do see a book like that because I don’t want to buy too many random books.Β  One event that where I do allow myself to buy on a whim is the Boekenfestijn here in the Netherlands because it is cheaper there.

But looking at my shelves I do spot some books.

Books I read on a whim
These books are often those I found in book stores in the past when I didn’t buy as many books, and didn’t hear about as many books.

  • Perfume: the Story of a Murderer by Patrick Suskind
  • FAF637E8-0D57-4592-B7DA-AB7BFD6673A3_zpskaxqwnjbThe Golem’s Eye (Bartimaeus 2) by Jonathan Stroud *
  • The Way of Shadows (The Night Angel 1) by Brent Weeks
  • Indigo Springs (Astrid Lethewood 1) by A.M. Dellamonica
  • The Magicans (The Magicians 1) by Lev Grossman
  • The Mysteries by Lisa Tuttle
  • The Demon King (Seven Realms 1) by Cinda Williams Chima

* I read the second book before the first, haha

Books I bought on a whim (but have not read yet)

  • Endymion Spring by Matthew Skelton
  • Sisters Red (Fairytale Retellings 1) by Jackson Pearce

So what books have you bought and/or read on a whim?

This prompt comes from the weekly meme of Top Ten Tuesday as created by The Broke and the Bookish

18 thoughts on “TTT #46 – Top Books I Picked Up on a Whim

  1. I still occasionally buy books on a whim, and I love it when I discover a book that way, but yeah as a blogger that happens less I guess as I see so many books on blogs now. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I bought the first book of the Bartimaeus trilogy kind of on a whim? I remember reading a review of it years ago and just bought it since it was on sale. Still have yet to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In het verleden deed ik dat nogal vaak op het Boekenfestijn. Ondertussen heb ik een heel deel van die boeken weggedaan vermits ik ze niet meer wil (her)lezen. Enkele titels: de eerste drie boeken uit de Morganvill Vampires serie, Poison Heart van S.B.Hayes, Between the lines van Jodi Piccoult en haar dochter Samantha van Leer, de Dreaming Anastasia serie van Joy Preble, Embrace van Jessica Shirvington, The Vampire Narcise van Colleen Gleason, … Veel te veel titels om ze allemaal op te sommen. Misschien moet ik die geplande blogpost met Op goed geluk-boeken toch maar eens een keertje uitwerken. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ja als je er over nadenkt en kijkt naar de boekenkast dan kom je er altijd meer tegen dan je eerst dacht.Oh, the Morganvilles Vampires eerste boek had ik ook on a whim gekocht bij het boekenfestijn, haha. Helemaal vergeten.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. OH oh Sisters Red is AMAZING. And I have friends keep telling me to read Bartimaeus. XD I read the graphic novel and it was fantastic, so I need to actually read the series. πŸ˜› Ohhhh, and aren’t the Seven Realm books amazing?!? I’m procrastinating the last ones though because I LOVE THEM SO MUCH I DON’T WANT THEM TO END. #logic XD

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, read it!
      Oh, they are. I love The Demon King so much. And I understand. πŸ˜‰ I am currently procastinating on reading Flamecaster, the first book of the generation later, because I am scared it will dissapoint. And if I love it I will have to wait another year…

      Like

  5. Every time I see the Bartimaeus books anywhere I tell myself I need to read them. Do you like them? You are th same as me, now that I get book recomendations all the time as a blogger the only thing I do on a whim is request eARCs I shoukdn’t from Edelweiss and Netgalley. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

