Sunday Post

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #35

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

Personal

Happy Sunday and Pentecost

After I posted my last Sunday Post, Maarten and I went to a book market in Hengelo. We couldn´t quite find it in one go so my body protested a bit. But it was nice being there. Though it wasn´t warm it was a nice day to be out with the sun. I quite liked this book market.

After we got home though I managed to fall against-on top of the coffee table and bruised myself rather nicely. The next Monday morning I was so terribly stiff and in pain. Luckily I healed rather fast. I was surprised, haha. But the first half of the week wasn´t a great one for me.

The rest of that week was spend with Maarten, reading or cleaning. From Thursday on we had some great warm weather. 26 Degrees Celcius. It was pretty great, though a tad bit too warm for me to be honest. I kept getting up earlier and earlier so I could do things when it was still cooler. On the up, the warm nights seemed to make me sleep better. Weird, I know. The warm weather stayed until Friday. Now it is cold again.

Last Tuesday I had to go to the hospital in a nearby city to see if I have pregnancy diabetes, a mandatory test. I’m pleased to say I do not have it. I did have to be there for two hours though. You get your blood drawn, then have to drink this glucose drink (big, big cup) and then wait in the waiting room (not allowed to walk around or anything) for two hours, before your blood is drawn again to see your values. But mine were normal apparently.

Other than that we had our second wedding anniversary on Saturday. Maarten had to work though so we didn’t really do anything.

Currently Reading and Read-a-Thon Wrap-Up

RYBSAT and Blossom Books Read-a-thon

I  struggled at the first half of the week to read. But once the weather got better and warmer, I got my groove on. I participated in all of the challenges set for the Blossom Books Read-a-Thon. Overall I did okayish.

★ Armada by Ernest Cline
★ White Sand volume 1 by Brandon Sanderson
★ Uprooted by Naomi Novik
★ XXXHolic Omnibus 1 (1-3) by CLAMP

Currently Reading

★ Melodies of Blood 1 by Maialen Alonso
★ The Awakening (The Darkest Powers 2) by Kelley Armstrong

What Am I Watching?
Every few weeks/months I’ll add in this section to share what I’ve been seeing (not everything, just what is of interest)

Series

★ Continuum (season 1-4) – They started showing the show here and blew right through it. While it certainly isn’t my favorite sci-fi show (Stargate and Firelfy for life) I did really enjoy watching this for the interactions between the characters and to see how some of the changes to the timeline would play out. Kiera and Alec often needed a good smack because they were being stupid to each other (but that generally means I was invested in their characters). I did feel like the last season was too rushed. It was also only half the episisodes that the other seasons had so that was a bit of a shame.

Movies

★ Catching Fire – I was not entirely impressed with this movie. Maybe it was because I like this book the best out of the trilogy. But I missed the nightmares Katniss had in the book, and quite honestly the movie was just too long. Like in the book it took ages to get to the actualy action part of the plot, and the movie just could not hold my attention throughout that first three quarter of the movie.

Others

★ Eurovision 2016 – This week it was Eurovision week. Every since I’ve been little I remember watching the final each day. These days I also watch the semi-finals. I missed most of the second one though, because I had volunteering that evening. I haven’t been very impressed by the songs this year. I’ve heard the Dutch song so many times that I think it’s okay. It’s not something I would put on myself but when it is on the radio I like it.

 The new way of counting is weird. And the voting was weird as well. Some of those that ended up high weren’t that great. To be honest, not a lot were that great. I liked Belgium and Cyprus the most. And Ukraine won. And it ended up being Ukraine and Russia at the last moment in battle which is a bit ironic.

Blog Posts

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #34
TTT #44 – Top YA Characters I’d Love to Read About Ten Years After
Book Haul #12
The Jungle Book Tag
TTT #45 -Top Websites/Apps I Like That Aren’t Just For Books
Book Stores #2 – Donner Rotterdam

Reviews

How to Train Your Dragon
Het Stille Labyrint

Instagram

Come find me on Instagram! You can find the direct link in the side bar or search the username Signourney.

Elsewhere

★ Annika from Hiding Books confessed ‘I read because I can’t not read.’
★  Carrie from Paper Bindings shared with us all HTML all book bloggers should know
★ Josephine from Word Revel talks about stealing photos
★ Alicia from A Kernel of Nonsense is hosting a comment challenge the next few months
★ Aentee from Read at Midnight shares 7 things bloggers should almost never apoligize for

32 thoughts on “(Biweekly) Sunday Post #35

  1. Sounds like you had a busy week. Glad you don’t have diabetes.
    I also watched the Eurovision last night. It was the time in a few years and it brought back some great childhood memories.
    Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey congratulations on your anniversary! And the book market sounds fun. Sorry to hear about the fall, glad it wasn’t serious. The weather’s been wacky here with nice days then rain- all week.

    I liked Continuum a lot even though the characters did do dumb things sometimes. 🙂 The timeline stuff was fun, and I kinda liked Garza. You’re right, that abbreviated 4th season was too rushed… I don’t think the show got a chance to end properly. And I had the same problem with catching Fire- too much lead up and not enough action, all the preliminary stuff about getting ready just doesn’t interest me as much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!

      Garza was interesting, haha. It is a shame because the show and the characters really deserved such a better ending. After seeing Catching Fire I have very little interest in seeing Mockingjay, especially as it was cut into two moves. By the time it ended I had just lost so much interest, the ending did nothing to capture my attention to want to watch the next movie. Obviously I already know what is going to happen in it but even so the ending should have grabbed me.

      Like

  3. I’ve watched Continuum seasons 1-3 but not 4. It started amazingly but went downhill a bit I think.

    Sorry the week started badly though the day out at the market sounded nice.

    I had that glucose test (not pregnant) and I really struggled with it. I felt so tired after the first drink I had to lie down on the chairs in the waiting area at the pathology lab. (It was being renovated and they had no spare room to put me in and I was OUT of it.) Interestingly my results were fine as well though. I’m coeliac and wondered if there was something else in the test that led to me needing to lie down (I actually threatened to lie on the floor, before they let me put some chairs together!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I get what you mean by that. Especially the starts of some of the seasons were a bit shaky in places. Season 4 isn’t long to watch though. Six episodes or so.

      That might have given the reaction, yeah. It’s also a long time to go without food. And if you were a bit active before the test I’d imagine that might be a factor as well.

      Like

  4. Sorry about the fall on the coffee table :-/ Glad you healed quickly though. And that’s good news that you don’t have pregnancy diabetes. Also congrats on the anniversary! Still exciting, even if you didn’t get to do anything 😛 Enjoy your books and shows and have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. We had pie on Saturday, but I don’t think we’ll do anything else. Maarten has Summer vacation in 3 weeks so we’ll probably have some days away then.

      Like

  5. I’m so happy to know you’re okay with the fall and with the pregnancy diabetes. That could be scary :/ The two hours were worth it to know you’re healthy 🙂 I hope you have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Anniversary! My husband and I will actually be going somewhere for our anniversary this coming July just the two of us–although not too far. And not on the actual date because we both have to work. Something is better than nothing, I suppose. 🙂

    I am sorry to hear about your fall, but am glad you healed quickly. My daughter can fall and get right back up again like it was nothing, but not me anymore. I bruise and am sore for days after.

    I am glad your glucose test went well. I ended up having gestational diabetes during my pregancy. On the good side, I was able to keep my numbers within normal range by just changing my diet, and so didn’t have to take any insulin.

    My husband mentioned yesterday Eurovision was taking place. It’s not something available to me where I live, unfortunately.

    I hope you have a great week!

    Like

    1. Thank you. And that sounds like fun. Couple time is needed from time to time.

      Oh yeah, me too usually. The last time I fell down the stairs last years took me a few weeks to get back from. It’s annoying because the stiffness makes you feel even older than you are.

      Glad to hear you didn’t have to take insulin during the pregnancy. It causes so many problems.

      Have a great week as well!

      Like

  7. Happy anniversary! Sounds like you’ve had a busy couple of weeks. Glad everything was ok with the diabetes test and after falling against the coffee table. I tried to watch continum but couldn’t get away with it at all for some reason – I am catching up with Orphan Black at the moment which is great if you’ve not seen it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!

      I can understand that. I think it can be a big difficult to get into for some. I have heard of Orphan Black but I have not got around to watching it.

      Like

    1. Thank you! And you are welcome. I can’t participate myself because I don’t know how the next few months will be for me, but I thought it was good to point others in the direction. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy Anniversary! Looks like you’ve had an eventful week. I liked Armada, but didn’t think it was as good as Ready Player One. I can’t wait to see what else Ernest Cline comes out with, though. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I have not read Ready Player One, but I found Armada to be dissapointing. However since most say Ready Player One is a lot better I am still curious about that one.

      Like

  9. Happy anniversary! I was really crap at visiting blogs last week, so I will be dropping back to some of your posts. It is great that your blood tests turned out fine. Our weather got really cold here over the last few fays, too. I hated having to close the windows again. I like my fresh air. Have a fabulous week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. And no worries. We all take longer some weeks/months. 🙂
      It is such an annoying change in the weather. The cats aren’t happy about it either.

      Like

  10. Al een geluk dat die diabetes-test goed nieuws opleverde. Ik heb zelf al zo’n 25 jaar diabetes. Op zich geen probleem uiteraard vermits er gelukkig al heel wat verbeteringen op de markt zijn gekomen – maar je moet er natuurlijk wel echt aandacht voor hebben en met verschillende dingen rekening houden. Altijd leuk om een mede-Firefly fan te ontmoeten. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ja ik was ook best wel blij, al had ik eerlijk gezegd ook niet verwacht dat ik het had gezien hoe alles gaat tot nu toe. Ik ken wat mensen met diabetes en ik weet dat zij soms wel moeite hebben om alles onder controle te houden. Dus dat is zeker lastig. Wel fijn dat er elk jaar verbetering op de markt komen en er ook meer rekening mee wordt gehouden.

      Dat is het zeker. Firefly is liefde. Mijn Jayne funko pop is het met mij eens, haha. Het is wel een serie waar je niet altijd veel fans van vindt, wat ik wel erg jammer vind. Ik weet nog toen ze het op een van de rtl zenders lieten zien toen ik nog op school zat. Ik was gelijk verkocht, en ze lieten niet eens alle afleveringen zien toen. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

