Book Haul

Book Haul #12

You all know when those things happen. An unexpected sale or an unexpected book you come across. It’s the reason why I have decided to make another book haul post this month. Ideally I would like to have a book haul post every 2-3 months but I can’t quite seem to manage to limit my book buying at the moment. I suppose once the baby comes this will change.

A Dutch online site had 30% of certain young adult titles in English so I had a browse and found some interesting books. I also still had a gift card for 10 Euro because they couldn’t deliver my pre order of Flamecaster on the release date, so I paid 25 Euro for 4 books which isn’t too bad for here in the Netherlands. We don’t often have big sales on books.

Onwards to the books.

Untitled

A Wizard of Earthsea (Earthsea Cycle 1) by Ursula K. Le Guinn
The Tombs of Atuan (Earth Sea Cycle 2) by Ursula K. Le Guin
I had seen these small pockets at the start of the year for the entire series,  and I had regretted since then that I had not bought them. So when we were back to the same book store in Zwolle I had to have them. My husband was so sweet to buy them for me. ❤

Bitterblue (Graceling Realm 3) by Kristin Cashore
I have the other two books in this trilogy though I’ve only read Graceling so far. So when I saw it in the 30% of thing as mentioned above I figured it was good to be able to finish of this trilogy. I do have all different editions and languages in this trilogy, but ah well.
The Young Elites (The Young Elites 1) by Marie Lu
I enjoyed the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu so I have been curious about this new series by her. I have heard some mixed things about it so I had put off buying it for a while.

Steelheart (Reckoners 1) by Brandon Sanderson
Firefight (Reckoners 2) by Brandon Sanderson
Calamity (Reckonders 3) by Brandon Sanderson
‘Did you buy an entire trilogy?’  Yes, yes, I did. It’s done (well I thought Misborn was just three books as well, but you know…)  and it looks to be shorter than his other books so I figured it would be the perfect place to start reading Brandon Sanderson. Anyway Firefight was in the 30%  of thingy, Stealheart wasn’t but the price was reasonable on that one so I ordered it along. Calamity I found in the store a few days after ordering the books so I decided to go with it. Otherwise I would read these two and never buy the last one. I do that all the time.

Flamecaster (Shattered Realms 1) by Cinda Williams Chima
Aaaaaaah. So as I have mentioned a few times I HAD pre ordered the hardcover for this book. But the online web store (coughstupidbolcough) didn’t deliver it to me at all. I heard nothing too, so after a few days we called, I got a gift card (the one I used on Steelheart) and I got an email later saying it would be here on the 22nd. Super late, but okay, I could live with that. However April 22nd went by and I heard nothing again. It upset me so that I impusively cancelled my order. I had a bad day, okay. I didn’t order the hardcover elsewhere because it is now 5 euro more expensive than when I pre ordered it. So I am a sad little bookworm. At least my local book store had the paperback.

 Review Books

Melodies of Blood: The Awakening by Maialen Alonso
The author contacted me to ask if I wanted to review her book. It’s an illustrated novel. And look at that cover. Obviously my black and white e reader and photo don’t do it justice. I can’t wait to get started in this one.

7 thoughts on “Book Haul #12

  1. Ik ben ook nog heel benieuwd naar The Young Elites – de Legend trilogie vond ik echt heel goed 😀 en de Graceling reeks staat ook nog op mijn lijstje om te lezen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Always love reading other people’s book hauls 🙂 Yay for following fellow bookworms! Hope you add my debut novel to your TBR- THE WAITING ROOM ❤

    Like

  3. I had the first three Earthsea books in paperback from my college days, and I had every intention in giving them to my son to read, but with moving so many times they are misplaced. I did not know there were two more novels and a book of short stories written after 1990 until recently. That was awful about the hardcover. I hope you can find one on sale after it has been out for a while. Great haul!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sucks when that happens. Maybe some day they will come back? You never know in which box they might turn up.
      It really sucked. I’ll have to keep my eye on online sales.

      Like

Leave a Reply

