top ten tuesday

TTT #44 – Top YA Characters I’d Love to Read About Ten Years After

In Young Adult we get to meet an awful lot of characters at a young age. And while it is great to get to know them at an age where they often find themselves, whether this is in a romance or amidst dragons, sometimes it would be great to know what they were up to a few years later. Say ten years maybe? To see who they grew up to be and if that meets our expectations about these characters.

This prompt comes from the weekly prompt of Top Ten Tuesday as created by The Broke and the Bookish.

  • UntitledRaisa, Han and  Dancer from Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima
    If you are a regular visitor of my top ten tuesday posts you might have caught on that I am a big fan of this series, and especially The Demon King. These three characters are three of my favorites (though Han had to fight hard to become that over the years). After the conclusion in The Crimson Crown I’m just so curious to see what direction their lives took. Flamecaster will give us some of that but I am curious to the years inbetween. While Raisa’s and Han’s seem straight forward I don’t think it can be with those two. But most of all I am curious about Dancer who is precious and deserves all the best in the world. ❤
  • Kitty from Bartimaeus trilogy by Jonathan Stroud
    Over the course of the books she won me over.  She’s a little spitfighter. I would love to see what she made of her life, and hey, maybe she got the chance to meet Bartimaeus again.
  • Bod from The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
    Bod was in interesting character with an interesting start of life. At the end of the book he goes into the world while before he had led a somewhat secluded life and I wonder how that went for him.
  • Seraphina  from the Seraphina duology by Rachel Hartman
    The end of Shadow Scale left us with an interesting twist to the love triangle. I am rather curious how that played out and how Seraphina’s life continued at court.
  • Denise from On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis
    Denise made an interesting choice at the end of the book. I quite liked her as a character so I would love to know how her life continued in space.
  • Penryn from Penryn and the End of Days by Susan Ee
    While I wasn’t too hapyy with the ending of the trilogy, I am rather curious how Penryn’s life continued with her family.
  • Kari from The Snow Walker trilogy by Catherine Fisher
    After rereading this tirlogy, I am reminded how much potential this setting has and this character. I wonder how the rest of his life went, because there were zero hints at the end.
22 thoughts on “TTT #44 – Top YA Characters I’d Love to Read About Ten Years After

    1. Yeah, it’s hard. We do have expectations on what happens to these characters. And there are so many ways it could go so when we do read one of those it feels so limited.

      Like

  1. I haven’t read Searphina but I heard it was good, and it’s a cool idea. Dragons are always good. 🙂 And I agree, coming back to look at favorite characters after ten years or so would be kinda neat.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely agree! I’d definitely like to visit Penryn as well and see how she’s doing. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

