Sunday Post

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #34

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

Personal


When you are clearly the cutest kitty of ever ❤

In my last biweekly sunday post I mentioned that we were going to see The Jungle Book that weekend. I reallly enjoyed it. I loved seeing how the animals were done. Unfortunately there were a lot of talkers in the theaters, and someone kicking in the back of my chair.

My 23 week check-up was fine. I gained a bit much but my baby bump has grown a bit much. Blood pressure was still good. Yeay for that. Baby moved around a lot. Other than that I’ve been busy still slowly going through each room to tidy up and clean. I have gathered a lot of stuff that needs to be thrown away. Unfortunately we don’t have a normal waste container anymore. Instead we need to walk a few streets with our garbage bags to a big underground one and pay with our pass. >.> It’s annoying and I can’t do it anymore because those garbage bags are heavy.

We had good weather for most of that week. Lots of sun. The week after that was just all rain. At least we never get serious flooding here like in Houston. Wow. They say we should be getting better weather this upcoming week starting with this Sunday, but we’ll see. So far they haven’t been getting a lot right with the forecasts here. It was supposed to be terrible weather on Kings Day last Wednesday, but in Zwolle, where the King visited, it was pretty sunny like it was here.

This coming week we have Commemoration of the Dead on Wednesday evening and Liberation Day on Thursday. Thursday is also Ascension Day though.

Since Thursday I am hoarse again. Fun… Oh well, my pretty voice lasted for two months. I can’t complain about that. That’s a reasonable time considering these pregnancy hormones and acid reflux are a big influence on my voice.

Since Blog Ahead starts today I kept the blogging at a minimum this week (with the exception of writing and planning in some reviews). I didn’t want to get too far ahead, knowing myself, full of excitement about blog ahead, haha. I did change around some pages, and I added a page with some links with various read-a-thons to point you all in the right direction with a short description. Whenever I come across more they will be added.

When you are trying to be just as cute as the other kitty…

Currently Reading and Read-a-Thon Wrap Up

#Dewey’s 24H Read-a-Thon

I picked a lot of easy and short reads. My goal was to read for 10 hours and read a 1000 pages in total. I didn’t succeed on hourly reading. I read only a little over 9 hours. I slept a lot. I can never do these read-a-thons staying awake through the night. Especially not now. But I still like the social component to this read-a-thon. I did succeed in the amount of pages. I read 1266 pages. So that was good!

★ The Prince of Mist (Niebla 1) by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Finished
★ The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events 1) by Lemony Snickett – Finished
★ The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events 2) by Lemony Snickett – Finished
★ The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events 3) by Lemony Snickett – Finished
★ The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events 4) by Lemony Snickett – Finished
★ The Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events 5) by Lemony Snickett – Finished
★ The Ersatz Elevator (A Series of Unfortunate Events 6) by Lemony Snickett – Finished
★ The Soul Thieves (The Snow Walkers 3) by Catherine Fisher – Finished
I also read the first 100 pages of The Summoning by Kelly Armstrong

Currently Reading

★ Buffy the Vampire Slayer volume 3 (bind-up of 3 stories) – On hold until after RYBSAT
★ Flamecaster – On hold until after RYBSAT
★ Armada by Ernest Cline

Blog Ahead

As I posted earlier this week, I will be participating in Blog Ahead Mini. For the record I wanted to mention here that I currently have fourteen planned in posts. Seven of those are planned in during the two weeks of Blog Ahead. So after those weeks I will still have seven planned in blogs. To achieve the main goal I will need to have twenty-two planned in posts after Blog Ahead.

Blog Posts

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #33
TTT #42 -Eight Books That Will Make You Laugh
How to 24H Read-a-Thon
Bookshelf Tour – Upstairs Part Two
Blog Ahead
TTT #43 – Top Ten Bookworm Delights
May New Releases I Am Keeping My Eye on/Need to Have
April Wrap Up and May TBR

Reviews

A Gathering of Shadows
Het Boek van Voorheen

Instagram

Best liked on my Bookstagram these last two weeks. Find me there! My username is signourney, as it is almost everywhere.

Elsewhere

★ Read Diverse Books gives us 10 loopholes to exploit when you are on a book buying ban
★ Karina from A Reader Under the Sea shows us how she made a Marauder’s Map
★ Michelle from The Writing Hufflepuff tells us about The Cat Boat in Amsterdam
★ Read Diverse Books also tells us about 8 Summer 2016 Releases for Lovers of Muliculture Literature

36 thoughts on “(Biweekly) Sunday Post #34

  1. Are those your cats? They’re so cute! That sounds like such a crappy movie theater experience :-/ but it does look like such a cool movie with the animals. Glad your checkup went well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I still want to see Jungle book. And Kings Day sounds fun. The weather’s been less than great here, rainy all week for the most part. Hope it improves there and here!

    Great job on the readathon!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the shout out! 🙂 Your cats are adorable. The weather is great today here, hopefully it will stay that way haha. It did rain here on Kings Day, but only for a little bit, mostly it was sunny. I hope they’re right about the high temperatures next week though! I could use some warmth haha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YOUR CATS ARE SO CUTE. And photogenic. 😂 I LOVE IT. And those photos are amazing…eeep! Also congrats on the amazing reading progress for that readathon. And doubly yay for a healthy baby!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad to hear your last check up was good Annemieke, especially your blood pressure. Acid reflux is a common condition unfortunately.😦

    You are “nesting”! that is fantastic!:)

    I loved that phase of my pregnancies because, unless I’m pregnant [noooo not again please lol] I don’t like cleaning too much:)

    Oh I want to see The Jungle Book so badly! Glad you enjoyed it:) talkers and back of chair kickers are somehow more frequent in children movies:)

    I’m doing Blog Ahead too! It is great you already have seven! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, my mom had acid reflux from the very first start to the very end. So I’m glad I at least don’t have that.
      Haha, I’m the same. I’m not much of a cleaner either normally.
      Good luck to you as well with Blog Ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sounds to me like you did pretty awesomely in that readathon. I’m terrible at them. At soon as I feel forced to read, I don’t feel like reading anymore, so I don’t ever participate.
    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I can get that. For me it is extra motivation and I enjoy interacting with others through twitter and such. It gets me excited, haha. Have a great week as well.

      Like

  7. I never read the Lemony Snickett series, but I can’t wait to read them with my daughter. She is just learning to read, (Proud Mamma moment – She starts Kindergarten in July, so I’m beyond proud of her for learning sooner than she has too. The great thing is that she is doing it on her own. We just read so many books, she’s figuring things out) ANYWAYS, I think she will really enjoy those books. Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Echoing others I love the cat photos. I can’t wait till we get our own, they are so cute. So impressed by how long you stayed awake for the read-a-thon – I wouldn’t be able to manage it. Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amigo (the red one) is guessed around 12 at the moment but we’re not sure. The animal shelter we got him from didn’t know, but the vet guessed his age a few years ago for us so we at least have an idea. Mika is turning 4 in June. I think they are friends. They used to run after each other playfully around the house, but Amigo has gotten a lot older physically in the last few months. But they still sleep next to each other from time to time, and sometimes they do play-fighting.

      Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. You did fab on that read-a-thon! I have never done a 24 hour one before, but I think I am going to try Kimba’s Clean Sweep one. Yay for the growing baby bump. I generally wait to watch kids movies when the DVDs come out for the reasons you mentioned about the Jungle Book . Ha ha. Your kitties are precious. We are thinking about getting a second cat soon. Have a wonderful week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good luck with doing the 24 hour one this month. They can be quite overwhelming the first time, but I’m sure you’ll do great.

      Having two cats is great to see their interactions if they get along.

      Like

Leave a Reply

