top ten tuesday

TTT #43 – Top Ten Bookworm Delights

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, where we get a bookish prompt to create a top ten for.

Bookworm delights. What makes us as book lovers happy? We can complain about a lot of things, but there is a lot that makes us happy as well that isn’t even actually reading the books. So what delights me as a book worm (or book dragon as Cait keeps telling us)?

  1. When my books in a series have matching editions and have matching heights
  2. Surprise illustrations on a naked hardcover
  3. Detailed maps at the front of books
  4. Giving people recommendations or books as a gift and them loving it
  5. Finding someone who loves an underrated book like I do
  6. Finding that one book you’ve been meaning to get in a second-hand book store in perfect condition. Bonus for it being a hardcover
  7. Pre order books that arrive before release date
  8. Seeing other people in public read
  9. When the sun shines on my book shelves
  10. When an author likes or comments back to your photo or tweet
28 thoughts on “TTT #43 – Top Ten Bookworm Delights

    1. Books with maps are the best. The few times I took the train to the nearby city I did see more people with books yeah, but when we go further away by train we hardly see anyone with a book or an e reader. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I had an author reply my tweet once. I was jumping around for days! Is that Seraphina? I saw it in a bookstore the other day and was tempted to get it. The cover looked amazing. But I ended up getting something else instead. Is it good?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this is the first bookworm delight I’ve read that mentioned the sun and books. Most of the TTTs I’ve read thus far (including mine) have rainy days as a staple. But to each his own. 😉 And now that you’ve mentioned it, the sun shining down on your bookshelves conjures bright and warm feeling. 🙂

    I totally get you re matching covers… And heights! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I considered putting rain on this list, but to be honest I get the urge to read on a really sunny day as well, haha. And I love how the spines look when the sun hits the shelves. Nice and bright.

      So important!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Those are all great! I especially love 2 and 3. I love illustrations on a hardback, and maps- gotta have maps. A good map is an awesome thing. 🙂 And finding that book in a used bookstore- one of the best things. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oooooh matching books! This gets me in so much trouble. I have a number of favourite series (inevitably of big heavy epic fantasy novels) in trade paperback because I loved the first one and they had to match. And they’re so HEAVY.

    …but I do love designs printed onto a naked hardback. I don’t know if I would have bought Jeff Vandermeer’s Annihilation if it hadn’t been so damn eye-catching (but I’m glad I did).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Epic fantasy novels are so heavy and big often. O-o It’s also annoying when you see the next book in the store but it doesn’t match my edition. I have this with The Kingkiller Chronicles.

      I’m so tempted to buy Passenger just for the naked hardcover, haha. So I know how you feel.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

