Sunday Post

(Biweekly) Sunday Post #32

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

⚜

Personal

So as you can see the Sunday Post will now be here once every two weeks. It just works out better for me.

Sunday two weeks ago, when I drove to work I got pulled over by the police. I was freaking out in my head, but all they wanted to say was that one of my front lights was broken. Fiew.

That next Monday I had a weird shift. Someone had a morning/afternoon shift but was feeling ill and wanted to go home. So I sat there from 12.00 until 15.00, with basically nothing to do. I cleaned their kitchen a bit just to pass the time, because the clients weren’t home, but I had to be there for phone calls and if some clients came home early. Felt like such a waste of time though.

The Tuesday after that I had a check up with the midwife. The baby was fine and my husband got to hear the baby’s heart beat. Unfortunately when we got home we heard the news about what happened in Brussels. It is terrible, and there really are no words for attacks like that. Hugs to all. Also, all these other attacks that have been happening make me sad. 😦

I had two more shifts that week, short morning shifts and that I was done with work. Its bitter sweet in a way because I will miss working with the clients, but I’m glad I’m done with everything else.

On Sunday it was Easter. Here we get two days of Easter. On the Sunday we had a brunch at the inlaws. On Monday we went to a garden centre and got some plants for inside and outside.

Tuesday we went to a zoo we’ve visted before in the past. It turned out to be a bit much for me at the end. Too much walking around without enough sits in between. But it was still a lot of fun for the day. I actually changed the header for the sunday post on my main page with one of the pictures that I took there.

It made me think about headers at the front page though. Most of my posts have the butterfly book mark header. I wonder if I should all change them to that, with the exception of Sunday Post as that is quite a different type of post. But at the same time I like having a bit of a different header from time to time. So maybe I should make them all different so it doesn’t look so random? What do you guys think?

Anyway the rest of the week we did things around the house. Maarten had his birthday on Thursday, turning 29. We had a bit of pie. And of course he bought too much pie and now we still have pie.

On Friday we went to Rotterdam to have another day out. The trains were terrible though. Usually it would be a 2 hour train trip there but in the morning it was 2,5 hours and in the afternoon 3 hours. This was without all the waiting we did. But it was a very nice sunny day.

On Saturday we just did things around the house again, and this Sunday my parents should come for a few days for Maarten’s birthday.

⚜

Books Read These Last Two Weeks

β˜… Peter Pan and Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens by J.M. Barrie – Finished
β˜… Buffy the Vampire Slayer volume 3 (omnibus of 3 stories) – Currently Reading
β˜… The Warrior Heir (The Heir Chronicles 1) by Cinda Williams Chima – Currently Reading

⚜

Blog Posts the Last Two Weeks

β˜… Sunday Post #31
β˜… TTT #38 – Five Books I Really Love But Feel Like I haven’t Talked About Enough
β˜… Blogger Recognition Award
β˜… April 2016 Releases I Am Keeping My Eye On/Need to Have
β˜… TTT #39 – Ten of My Recent 4.5/5 Star Reads
β˜… March Wrap Up and April TBR

⚜

Reviews the Last Two Weeks

β˜… Book Review – Demon Road
β˜… Book Review – Rebel in the Sands

⚜

Elsewhere

β˜… Claudia from Penmarkings talks about diversity in books always being scrutinized
β˜… Josephine at Word Revel shared another Bookstagram 101 where she talks about consistency
β˜… Amy from Curiouser and Curiouser shares some female sf writers for women’s history month
β˜… Aentee from Read at Midnight talks about when your favourite books are problematic in her discussion post

31 thoughts on “(Biweekly) Sunday Post #32

  1. Oh, the finishing up at work sounds bittersweet, but hopefully the good outweighs the bad!!!

    As an aside I think your idea of the biweekly post is probably a good one. I’ve struggled a little lately and really read nothing in the first week of this fortnight. I caught up this second week, so am glad I left it for two weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a bit, but for my pregnancy it is better so I guess the good already outweighs the bad. πŸ™‚

      Yeah, sometimes I just have so little to update in only one week, it’s almost a waste of post.

      Like

  2. Being pulled by the police is never fun but one can get used to it, especially if that one likes to speed πŸ˜‰

    Baby’s heart beats are the BESTEST sound in this universe and all the adjacent multiverses as well. So happy for you and your husband

    [sadden about Brussels too, tough]

    Enjoy! see you in two weeks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, yeah that happens too. πŸ˜‰

      They kind of are, haha. It’s this sign of life everyone can hear in this stage, instead of just what I’m feeling in my stomach that only I can feel right now.

      Have a good two weeks. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. It sounds like you had two good weeks, Annemieke. I bet it was bittersweet to say goodbye at work, but I’m sure you’ll find something that suits you perfectly when the time is right πŸ™‚
    I agree about the attacks we’ve been seeing around the world lately, it made me cry that someone bombed a park in Pakistan 😦 all those children.
    I hope you’ll have a wonderful week ahead, with good books to keep you company.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The attacks are horrendous, and I hope we never get used to them….we must hope and do all we can for peace.

    I love your butterfly, too….and I can feel the bittersweet of your leaving the work.

    Enjoy your reading….and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It would be horrible if we did get used to them. Though I think there are some countries that have gotten used to it because they get so many attacks compared to us in the west. The news doesn’t even mention those anymore here. 😦

      Keeping the butterfly. πŸ™‚

      I hope you have a good week.

      Like

  5. The attacks were awful. I know ending the job left you with mixed feelings. The zoo sounds nice, and I a glad you had a wonderful Easter. There is nothing like the sound of that little heartbeat. As for the header, I get wanting to switch it up, but I look at that is branding. It helps folks identify you and your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It sickens me what terrorists will do, all those poor innocent people.

    I am so happy for you, I remember when my pair where still in the oven”, those special moments of hearing their heartbeats, now I get to hear them for real shouting at the other end of the house!

    I only started driving again at the end of 2014 and I dread the police pulling me over or having a bump, the road I drive on is full of boy racers and slow Sunday drivers so there is a lot of dangerous driving going on – not from me though!

    Have a good week (or fortnight I should say!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, those angelic voices. πŸ˜‰

      It was my first time being pulled over. Kind of scary. Oh, having those differences of speed on one road is terrible.

      Have a great week, Heather!

      Like

  7. I hate getting pulled over by the police, I was visiting friends once and stopped at a store on the way home and noticed I had a headlight out. I was like oh now I gotta replace that and not a mile down the road the guy pulled me over. sigh.

    Like the zoo pic. I’ll have to check out some of thise links. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This was a fantastic recap! It sounds like you’ve had a pretty busy time. I do my recaps every 2nd week as well if I can keep up with it because they take a while to write up. Great photo! I like to use different pictures for the Sunday posts as well to highlight different parts of the week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. :3
      Yeah, when I did it every week I often wanted to put in more things (more links to others and such) but I didn’t always have the time since you can’t really schedule these half a week ahead.

      Like

  9. You got the Barrie books read! I need to follow your example. I love zoos, too. We have a zoo here in our city so I get to go quite a bit. I bet your husband was smiling brightly with hearing the baby’s heartbeat. Have a wonderful week. Well, two weeks! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Finally, haha. I didn’t really enjoy it so much.
      Oh having a zoo that nearby must be great!
      My husband doesn’t really show it. I think he’s secretly still scared of becoming a dad for the first time. πŸ˜‰
      Have a great week as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m glad the police only warned you! Some cops give tickets for having it broken :/ And yay for the baby’s heartbeat! I’ve never had that experience since no one I’m close to are pregnant but a close friend of my mom’s is pregnant and she sends mom all of the videos. She’s two months along I believe and we were able to see the baby’s leg and foot! I was so excited. I can’t imagine the excitement your husband had πŸ™‚
    I hope these next two weeks are good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I got it fixed right away when I got home because if they’d seen it again they would have given me a ticket.

      It is exciting, and such a miracle to see how this baby grows from that first echo to the baby that comes out of you.

      Like

  11. I love the photos. πŸ™‚ I am glad your husband got to hear the baby’s heartbeat. So exciting!

    It really terrible what happened in Brussels. I agree , there are no words. So much hatred and death out there. 😦

    I hope you have a wonderful week. I need to finish filling out the paperwork for my daughter to start kindergarten. How is she five already? Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And it is.

      When they start growing up time flies by so fast. Hope you got the paperwork filled out. Here they start school kindergarten at 4. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

