top ten tuesday

TTT #38 – Five Books I Really Love But Feel Like I haven’t Talked About Enough

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, where we get a bookish prompt to create a top ten for.

Aha, I really like this week’s topic. A chance to gush about some of my favorite books. Who doesn’t love to do that. And I don’t think I talk too often about my favorite books. Can you name one before taking a look at this list? I thought so.

I think I might leave it at five as to not overwhelm you, haha.

  1. The Demon King (Seven Realms 1) by Cinda Williams Chima
    The Demon King is a book I read in Dutch years ago. I loved it but it took me years to continue on with the series (that is really worth a read by the way). In recent years I reread the book and I completely fell back in love with the characters.Ā  I love the world of this series. Raisa, Dancer and Han (even though the last mentioned frustrates me beyond imigination I still secretly love him) are really worth a read. All characters are to be honest. And hey, it has magic and thiefs. Who doesn’t love that?
  2. Seraphina duology by Rachel Hartman
    I love this duology with a passion. There are dragons and kick ass females. Also in the second book we get a better understanding of their world. And despite there being a love triangle of sorts, I was not displeased by the ending of that. It felt realistic even if I’m sure it didn’t satisfy everyone. Rachel Hartman’s writing is also amazing.
  3. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
    Howl. The biggest reason I love this book is Howl. He’s such a weird wizard. Add in Sophie and Calcifer and you get some great banter and relationships. I also love the magic we get and the world.
  4. Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud
    This trilogy, especially The Golem’s Eye and Ptolemy’s Gate is my big love. Bartimaeus and Nathaniel are amazing and real characters that both need to get their ass kicked at moments. Apparently these are the type of characters that I love. Magicians, some thieving, sarcastic banter, and so on.
  5. Indigo Springs (Astrid Lethewood 1) by A.M. Dellamonica
    What I love about this book is the set-up between the current situation and the past where we slowly learn about the main characters and the magic system. I really enjoyed the magic system. Unfortunately the sequel was a bit of a let down.

 

9 thoughts on “TTT #38 – Five Books I Really Love But Feel Like I haven’t Talked About Enough

    1. I liked Castle in the Air as well, though I still have to get and read House of Many Ways. Hopefully your library has them. Yes, there need to be more Stroud readers. šŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

