various

Buddy Reads

Reading is considered mostly a solitary hobby. However I think we book lovers online have shown that reading doesn´t need to be done alone. Next to read-a-thons, sharing our love, rants, fangirling and theories online, there is also such a thing as buddy reading.

Buddy reading means two or more people are reading the same book. This doesn’t have to happen only in real life. It also often happens online.There are various ways to do it. You can both read in your own reading speed and discuss the books afterwards. But you can also set up a reading schedule where you read a chapter (or more) and disucss what happens in it and share your thoughts and theories on the book so far. And I’m sure there is more variations on this.

This form of reading is something I’ve always found interesting. I’ve done buddy reading once before but I’d like to do it again in either way. There are a few books I’d like to do this for, including some books I’d just like to reread.

So if you would like to do a buddy read with me, please let me know. I would prefer the buddy reading to happen before August (considering the baby that will be coming then).

Books I’d like to buddy read
– The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle 1) by Maggie Stiefvater (possibly also The Dream Thieves)
– Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
– Uprooted by Naomi Novak
– Armada by Ernest Cline
– Skulduggery Pleasant (Skulduggery Pleasant 1) by Derek Landy

Books that would be a reread for me I’d like to buddy read
– The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
– Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
– The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

7 thoughts on “Buddy Reads

  1. Nice post! Definitely up for a buddy read! I’d like to buddy read The Raven Boys and the Ocean at the End of the Lane soon though I don’t know when – I’ll give you an update and maybe we can do it together? Looking forward to it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

