top ten tuesday

TTT #36 – Top Five Characters Everyone Loves but I Just Don’t Get

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, where we get a bookish prompt to create a top ten for.

This week we are talking about characters. We could choose between characters everyone seems to love but you don’t get or characters I like but others seem to dislike. It’s interesting because we all have our own personal preferences. However some characters are clearly fan favorites. People can be very confrontational when you say you don’t like their favorite characters. Below are some of the characters that everyone seems to love but I just don’t get.

  1. Chaol from Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
    Is this a suprise to anyone? I’ve mentioned a few times before that I don’t get why he seems to be everyone’s favorite or why everyone gets so defensive when others say they don’t like Chaol. I’m sorry, I just don’t. I couldn’t connect with him throughout the books and I thought he was rather bland for my taste.
  2. Mark Whatney from The Martian by Andy Weir
    I mentioned in my review in January how I had a hard time with him. While the start was great, his jokes and seemingly feelings wise disconnect from the situation did nothing for me. Which is funny, because usually I like sarcastic characters, but I found his not that funny at all.
  3. Harry Potter, Ron and Ginny Weasley from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
    I’m just going to duck now. I’ll admit that I’ve grown to somewhat like/appreciate Harry himself, but I can’t say the same for Ron or Ginny. I don’t understand why everyone is so up and arms about how Ginny was portrayed in the movies because I just remember her so little from the actual books. I just never cared about her. I was in Harry Potter for the other characters, haha
  4. Katniss from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
    I’M SORRY. I just could not connect with her in the books and as you all know I am not a big fan of The Hunger Games in general.
  5. Frodo from The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
    I always hated reading his bits the most, especially with Sam. Ugh.

Now I’m just going to sit here and wait for you lot to lynch me.

16 thoughts on “TTT #36 – Top Five Characters Everyone Loves but I Just Don’t Get

  1. Mark Watney – I’m with you all the way. I didn’t like his sense of humour at all – the way that even when stranded alone on another planet, a surprising number of jokes were just being mean to other people. Sure, they left him there πŸ˜‰ but it just felt a bit bully jock in places and I didn’t get on with it. I much preferred the film.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. He’s much better in the movie – or well, Matt Damon is an awful lot more charismatic. Also, you do get more of a sense of the mental / emotional toll of being abandoned on a hostile planet(!)

        He still cracks jokes at the expense of others, but there’s less of it and they get more of a chance at response.

        Like

  2. This is like the 5th post with Chaol on it. I had not idea he was such a polarizing character.

    I adored Frodo and Sam, but The Lord of the Rings isn’t for everyone. It’s ok. πŸ˜€

    Nice list. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it is because there was such a harsh judgement on Tumblr last year if you disliked Chaol that I saw in any case. I just think he’s a bore.
      I like the story, just not those two, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ik vind het altijd grappig om dit soort bekentenissen te lezen. Ergens vrees ik dat Harry en Ron bij mij niets mis kunnen doen. Dat er een soort van ‘eigen kind, schoon kind’ regel voor hen telt omdat de Harry Potter-boeken mijn allereerste fandom waren. Ik snap wel wat je zegt over Ginny – die lijkt in de boeken minder naar voor te komen als in de films.

    Ook Chaol kan ik me in terugvinden en Katniss. Tja, ik vond de boeken best wel ok toen ik ze las, maar ze zijn me toch minder bijgebleven als andere verhalen Γ©n dat zegt uiteraard wel wat.

    Oh ja, ik heb LoTR nog steeds niet gelezen … *duikt weg*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ze zijn inderdaad heel leuk en bij iedereen zo verschillend.
      Klopt. Ik moet ook eerlijk bekennen dat ik de film van The Hunger Games met meer plezier heb gekeken dan hoe ik het boek heb ervaren toen ik het las.

      Daar kan ik me wel iets bij voorstellen hoor. Ze zijn een beetje droog (maar toch leuk). Als ze niet waren verfilmd dan was er een grote kans geweest dat ik ze ook nog niet had gelezen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

