reviews

Book Review – The Kingdom

Title: The Kingdom (The Graveyard Queen 2) by Amanda Stevens
Genre: Paranormal Detective
Release Date: March 27th 2012
Rating: 4,5 out of 5 stars

Untitled Goodreads

Synopsis

My name is Amelia Gray. They call me The Graveyard Queen. I’ve been commissioned to restore an old cemetery in Asher Falls, South Carolina, but I’m coming to think I have another purpose here. Why is there a cemetery at the bottom of Bell Lake? Why am I drawn time and again to a hidden grave I’ve discovered in the woods? Something is eating away at the soul of this town, this withering kingdom, and it will only be restored if I can uncover the truth.

Review

I read the first book of The Graveyard Queen series last year as an ebook. Later I saw a Dutch publisher was publishing them in Dutch paperbacks and I had to have them. It still took me until January to pick up the second book though. The Graveyard Queen centers around Amelia who restores graveyards and can see ghosts. These books can be seen as paranormal detectives.

While I enjoyed the first book I certainly wasn’t in love with it. There was still a lot that I found fault for with that book. But the world of Amelia seeing ghosts and her restoring graveyards is what got me interested. This world continues on into this world and gets expanded on. This book deals with Amelia’s history. A history she didn’t know herself. She also meets someone else that can see ghosts. Untitled

The mystery slowly unveils Amelia’s history as well as a portion of the history of the new town that she is working at. The book is a mixture of feelings, action, suspense, and relationships that swept me up and wouldn’t let me go. There was a certain creepiness about the town without it becoming completely unbelievable. I found the underwater cemetery particularly creepy. This book has a great dark atmosphere.

The only fault I find in this book is that at the start I find Amelia still to preoccupied with Devlin. Immediately comparing an attractive guy to Devlin and so on. This is only at the start but it still annoyed me somewhat. For me Thane was a welcome addition to the story and to Amelia’s life. While I don’t suspect him to be a real love interest to Amelia in future books, his difference to Devlin broke Amelia away from her focus on Devlin. I do hope that with that ending we will see more of Thane in the future books.

The other characters in the book were also interesting. The older woman who is perceived crazy by the rest of the town. The young girl who could see ghosts as well. The Asher family. All were great throughout this book to set up the mood and the tension.

I can’t wait until The Prophet comes out in Dutch. I have to wait until the Fall. Insert weeping.

9 thoughts on “Book Review – The Kingdom

Leave a Reply

