top ten tuesday

TTT #35 – Top Five Books to Read if You Are in The Mood for Detectives

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, where we get a bookish prompt to create a top ten for.

As you might have noticed I haven’t posted a top ten tuesday in a while. The last few topics did not appeal to me very much, and since I hadn’t been feeling great I just decided to skip them for a bit. But today I’m back with this week’s topic.

This week the topic is Top ten books if you are in the mood for x. I am choosing to go for detective (or mysteries), and just a top 5. It’s a genre I don’t read a lot and where a lot of books don’t work for me. But these have.

0AA5CD48-F718-4C0A-A8C6-95CB03F38AFB_zpsltipnloj

  1. The Graveyard Queen by Amanda Stevens
    Paranormal, and it doesn’t follow the point of view of a detective or a coroner which is why I like it. It’s different, this series.
  2. The Mysteries by Lisa Tuttle
    A detective that deals with a private investigator and a missing person with some paranormal. A very nice combo.
  3. Blindsighted by Karin Slaughter
    A book I’ve been reading currently and while there are some things that annoy me, it’s an interesting detective story.
  4. Midwinterblood by Mons Kallentoft
    I read this years ago but I remember loving it.
  5. Incendio by Tess Gerritsen
    This is actually a short story that was given as a book week gift in the Netherlands last year if I remember correctly. But I loved it.
15 thoughts on “TTT #35 – Top Five Books to Read if You Are in The Mood for Detectives

    1. Ah, I agree that with a lot of them I have a hard time with the main character. The first two worked for me because of the paranormal aspects. Also in The Graveyard Queen series it’s not a coroner or a detective who narrates the story and I liked that a lot. With the short story Incendio I was surprised by the ending. And with Midwinterblood I just really liked the story. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

