reviews

Book Review – The Mysteries

Title: The Mysteries by Lisa Tuttle
Genre: Paranormal Detective
Release Date: September 4th 2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Goodreads

Synopsis

Laura Lensky’s daughter, Peri, has been missing for two years. For the police it’s a closed case – she wanted to run away – but for her mother and boyfriend, Henry, it’s a different story. When Laura hires private investigator Ian Kennedy, it is a last-ditch attempt to find her daughter before she leaves for America. Drawn in by strange parallels to an obscure Celtic myth and his first, almost unexplainable case, Ian takes the job. But his beliefs are about to be stretched to their limit – there are darker and more devious forces at work here than any of them imagined.
 

Review

The Mysteries, as the title suggests goes into a mystery. It is a detective wrapped in paranormal world. Don’t let the Goodreads rating fool you. This can be a very entertaining read if you let it sweep you away.

Detective type of books are not books I tend to read very often. Though I love to watch detective type of shows on the screen, detective books can’t often captivate me. But when they are drizzled in a paranormal world I am more interested. At the start I did wonder in what way the paranormal bits would come in to this missing person case, but fairly quickly hints were dropped towards the type of paranormal this story would drag us into. Don’t worry, while it is easy to guess, I won’t spoil it for you.

This was also one of the things that could have been done better. It was also a tad bit too obvious where it was going to end up going. The pacing was also a little of in places. This was due to incorporated scenes from the past from unknown people to add to the mystery. Unfortunately that didn’t really work. It just drew me out of the story. And none of it was wrapped up along with it in the end. It was just there and because of that it didn’t really mean anything to me. I also felt that the ending missed the climax feel. While this does appear to be a standalone I feel that the ending is open to a point where I wouldn’t mind a second book, and learn more about this world and the decisions the main character decided to make.

The main character in itself felt very bland at the start. I couldn’t imagine myself liking him. And while he won’t become a favorite character of mine it was more than fine to follow him around in this story. Perhaps a portion of his blandness made the rest of the book stand out, and perhaps that was the whole point. Sometimes we find our own world mundane, bland, and seek out the extraordinary. There was also his back story that made me wonder how it would play out with the rest of the story, but that link became clear. And especially the second portion of his back story interested me.

Next to the main character the other characters did stand out. Especially some people from his past I found interesting characters and I would have liked have to have known more about them.

8 thoughts on “Book Review – The Mysteries

  1. Ooh this sounds interesting! I confess, I don’t read a lot of mysteries?! But I do so love one that’s well constructed. Sadness about the main character being a blob of bleh. 😦 That does tend to spoil a book a bit…but glad you ultimately enjoyed this one! YAYY!! 😀
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

