reviews

Book Review – Darkfever

darkfever.jpgTitle: Darkfever (Fever 1) by Karen Marie Moning
Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
Release Date: October 1st 2006
Rating: 3,5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

Synopsis

When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death—a cryptic message on MacKayla Lane’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed—a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae.

Review

The Fever series is a series I’ve known about for a while through online friends loving this series. Finally this January I decided to start reading the first book. Though I had heard much about it and I had not read the synopsis. I knew it was set in Ireland and that there were Fae, but that was about it. With this start I did have some other expectations than the book turned out to be, but I still enjoyed reading it.

The book starts off with Mac hearing her sister was murdered in Dublin. She travels there to find out who killed her sister, only to uncover her sister was mixed up in a whole other supernatural world. One thing that I loved about this book is the world. I loved learning about the different Fae, and I can’t wait to learn so much more because clearly Mr. Barrons isn’t telling us everything. I mean telling Mac everything. I especially am curious about meeting the other seers.

Another thing that I enjoyed or rather appreciated that after some events (that I wasn’t nesseciarly happy about) Mac is aroused and the masturbation afterwards is normalized in the sense that she isn’t embarrassed about the masturbation in itself. Some would go into debate about masturbation being normal through the character but that wasn’t here and I think that made it more real. She masturbated. That was it. As normal as peeing. The almost rape was a bit disturbing though and I can understand that people would not want to read about it.

I suppose the book could be considered slow, but that didn’t bother me as we were learning about the Fae. However I had hoped to learn more about what Mac’s sister had discovered exactly. The mood set throughout the book is dark and even a little sultry in places.

As for the characters, I had a different idea of Mac before I started the book. She certainly took some getting used to. I don’t like her but I don’t dislike her, and throughout the book she started growing on me. You could see her slowly growing. I fully expect her to grow more so in the next four books.

Jericho Barrons was exactly what I expected before I started this book. One of those mystery guys, that isn’t always particular nice. His relationship with Fiona bothers me in that I wish she was more than just a side dish in this book. I hope she might be deepened out more in the next few books. I don’t particular like her or anything but now she just means nothing.

As for the romance, that will be a slow burner. I am happy about that and I am curious to see how it will further develop.

While I certainly wasn’t in love with this book, I read it in a rather fast pace. It was certainly a page turner. I just wanted to know where it would lead to.

10 thoughts on “Book Review – Darkfever

  1. Very nice review!!
    I’ve recently bought the first three books of this series.
    Since I’m obsessed with FAE I just had to have them ❤
    Haven't read them yet though.. My TBR is just to freaking LARGE haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Het derde boek uit deze serie ligt nog op me te wachten sinds ik het cadeau kreeg met kerst. Jammer genoeg is het er nog steeds niet van gekomen om het te lezen. Net als jij moest ik in het begin wel even wennen aan Mac (ze deed me soms een beetje denken aan Sookie Stackhouse). Bij Jericho had ik dat niet. Dat mysterieuze pas perfect bij hem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well articulated review! You’re right that the whole book community seems to be ranting or raving about this series. I tried to read this book, but I ended up DNF’ing it! O_o I just didn’t care that much about the characters. Your point about how challenging Mac was to get used to? Oh yes. 100% that. But I’m glad to see you’ve kept going!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

