reviews

Book Review – Saphire Blue and Emerald Green

This week I’ll be skipping the Top Ten Tuesday post as I have no ideas for a freebie at the moment.

Series: Precious Stone trilogy by Kerstin Gier
Genre: Sci-Fi/Romance
Book 2: Saphire Blue
Release Date: January 5th 2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Book 3: Emerald Green
Release Date: December 8th 2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Saphire Blue (Goodreads) / Emerald Green (Goodreads) / Ruby Red (Book 1 review)

Synopsis (Saphire Blue)

Gwen’s life has been a rollercoaster since she discovered she was the Ruby, the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. In between searching through history for the other time-travelers and asking for a bit of their blood (gross!), she’s been trying to figure out what all the mysteries and prophecies surrounding the Circle really mean.
At least Gwen has plenty of help. Her best friend Lesley follows every lead diligently on the Internet. James the ghost teaches Gwen how to fit in at an eighteenth century party. And Xemerius, the gargoyle demon who has been following Gwen since he caught her kissing Gideon in a church, offers advice on everything. Oh, yes. And of course there is Gideon, the Diamond. One minute he’s very warm indeed; the next he’s freezing cold. Gwen’s not sure what’s going on there, but she’s pretty much destined to find out.
Review
After reading Ruby Red earlier last year I finally decided to finish the series last December. When I started this series with Ruby Red I was a bit hesitant, but I ended up liking the book more than I had thought I would. This was the same with the other two books in this trilogy. For the most part the trilogy was concluded satisfactory.
There is something addictive about these books. Despite the thickness (of Emerald Green for instance) it doesn’t feel like a long read. Overall the books propel forward in a pleasant enough speed. There is also something about the plot that did catch my interest. The time travel aspect is something I of course love. But there is also the mystery that you want the answers to. And even though I had already guessed some of the answers I still wanted to know if I was right. I do think I would have enjoyed this trilogy even more if I had actually been in my teens.

Untitled

Gwen isn’t a character I usually like. However her strange antics almost became endearing and caused some funny scenes. I don’t know how Gideon remains his sanity around her though. I did love the addition of the gargoyle.
The romance aspect is a little tricky for me. While I do like Gwen and Gideon together, I feel like the procession towards it, especially in Saphire Blue, was a little wonky. Gideon’s reasons for being hot and cold weren’t completely believable to say the least. Not to me anyway. It just felt like an easy way to create drama in the romance department.
2 thoughts on “Book Review – Saphire Blue and Emerald Green

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this one. I really liked it as well (though probably would have more if I was actually in my teens, but it’s still pretty good). The movies aren’t too bad either, though some things are changed around (for whatever reason)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

