reviews

Book Review – A Thousand Pieces of You

a thousand pieces of youTitle: A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird 1) by Claudia Gray
Release Date: November 4th 2014
Genre: Sci-Fi
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

Synopsis

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

Review

From the start we are thrown into action with various flashbacks in between. I found this very hard and the focus of the start of this book really threw me. I think it wasn’t so much that we were thrown into the action, but that I found it hard to connect with the main character. Her focus on the two guys in her flashbacks I found odd as she had just lost her dad. Shouldn’t her focus of flashbacks have been on that? And not on that guy she thinks is a traitor? I understand there being romance in this book. I got that from the synopsis. But that doesn’t mean you have to throw those kinds of connections away. How is her dad less important than her connection with the traitor? Also I wondered what this apparent proof was that he had killed her dad. It was cutting the brakes so what proof did the police have? Later on something was revealed that made feel even more flimsy for me. With that start I considered putting this book down.

Luckily I didn’t. The first world they travelled to didn’t really appeal to me as much (mostly because it wasn’t as build up nicely), but when we got to the second world, I loved that. There could have been more world building there I think but I still really liked the use of the Russian culture for this world. Unfortunately the next world was another dull one. The idea of the last world though was great.

With the change to the second world the plot started to pick up and I found myself more engaged in it. The plot twists later on didn’t really surprise me but some I did not expect. Which is nice for a change.
I’m not completely invested in the characters, though nearing the end I became more open to Marquerite as a character. Her relationship with her father (in the various worlds) and the Russia world Paul were a great addition to the story. More so than the relationships she has with Theo and Paul.

As for the romance, as you might have guessed from the first paragraph of this review, I’m not too happy with it. The love triangle in this between Marquerite, Theo and Paul is so forced. From the start it is so clear she is going to go for Paul anyway. The added in Theo ‘romance’ just wasn’t needed. And even for the later plot twist, it still wasn’t necessary. I think if the start of the book hadn’t been so focused on her relationship with Paul in flashbacks and the added in Theo triangle hadn’t been there, the romance in this book could have been fine

2 thoughts on “Book Review – A Thousand Pieces of You

Leave a Reply

