reviews

Book Review – Cracked

crackedTitle: Cracked (Soul Eater 1) by Eliza Crewe
Release Date: January 1st 2013
Genre: Supernatural
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

Synopsis

Meet Meda. She eats people.

Well, technically, she eats their soul. But she totally promises to only go for people who deserve it. She’s special. It’s not her fault she enjoys it. She can’t help being a bad guy. Besides, what else can she do? Her mother was killed and it’s not like there are any other “soul-eaters” around to show her how to be different. That is, until the three men in suits show up.

They can do what she can do. They’re like her. Meda might finally have a chance to figure out what she is. The problem? They kind of want to kill her. Before they get the chance Meda is rescued by crusaders, members of an elite group dedicated to wiping out Meda’s kind. This is her chance! Play along with the “good guys” and she’ll finally figure out what, exactly, her ‘kind’ is.

Be careful what you wish for. Playing capture the flag with her mortal enemies, babysitting a teenage boy with a hero complex, and trying to keep one step ahead of a too-clever girl are bad enough. But the Hunger is gaining on her.

The more she learns, the worse it gets. And when Meda uncovers a shocking secret about her mother, her past, and her destiny… she may finally give into it

Review

Cracked is an ebook I bought on an impulse because it was cheap. Soul eaters sounded interesting, but I didn’t have super high expectations. I was pleasantly surprised.

Especially at the start I was enjoying this book a lot. Might I even say, loving it. The main character, Meda, eats souls. She needs to to survive. She was such a treat at the start of this book. The snark levels were high, my friends. She is very high on self preservation and it was a fresh of breath air at the start of this novel. I love characters like that. Me before everyone else with a large dosis of snark. Those that endear you regardless of the crappy things they do. Those that would sell you out in a heartbeat to save themselves with maybe two seconds of thought. Yeah, those.

She is not really on one side or the other and knows little of the supernatural world or about her own species. So when she gets the chance to learn more, she of course takes it. Unfortunately she starts to lose the snark a bit the more she is around other people. She remains bad-ass but what I loved about her so much at the start, faded a little. I guess she starts caring which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. She does grow throughout this book. But the initial spark I had with her character faded for me.

The plot overall was good for the first book in a series that introduces us to this world and the characters in it. It was a bit predictable in places when it came to the Templars and her father though. I also missed a bit of deepening. Everything is very one sided. It is very black and white. Templars are good, soul eaters are bad. I would love to learn more about the soul eaters/demons and the Halflings that exist.

Some of the other characters that we meet like Chi, Jo and Uri were great assets to the story and overall great characters to get to know a little. I was glad to see the love triangle didn’t really become a love triangle, and I hope it won’t in the other books.

I’m excited to continue on with this series. Unfortunately I can’t seem to find the second book where I usually buy my books (though I can find the third one for some reason), so I am a little sad.

One thought on “Book Review – Cracked

Leave a Reply

