reviews

Book Review – Ruby Red

Book: Ruby Red (Precious Stone 1) by Kerstin Gier
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Sci-Fi/Romance
Edition : Dutch paperback, published in 2011 by Blossom Books
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Goodreads

Synopsis

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Review

Ruby Red is a book that has pleasantly surprised me. I wasn’t sure if it would be for me considering the romance and something things I hear about, but I was charmed by the book nonetheless.

The idea about time travelling and everything surrounding that I really liked. Sci-fi and time travelling is something I’ve always found interesting. There is a whole set of rules and organization surrounding it that we will hopefully explore more in later books.

The pacing was good and the writing was easy to read. The plot has a bit of a way to go as a lot is still unknown at this point, but I am very curious. There were enough hints to tie one over to the next book. As a complaint, why did you end it there, Kerstin Gier? Seriously, though, why? The prologue and the epilogue of the book were in third person point of view person while the rest of the book was from the first person point of view of Gwen. I don’t necessarily feel it should be like that, but I liked getting to know Lucy and Paul that way.

I didn’t expect to like Gwen. She seemed a bit childish at first, but then she got her sass on. She is a normal 16,5 year old thrust into something unknown to her and her reactions made sense. Her relationship with Leslie is precious. One of a kind friend, because honestly what high school friend would believe you if you said you could see ghosts? Also, I liked Gwen’s mom. Lucy and Paul seem great and are still mysterious, and I can’t wait until I can learn more about them. Gideon changed a bit throughout the book, but I’m not sure if I’m feeling the ending like that at the moment. I have my theories about this.

I haven’t decided if I like the romance portion of this novel because of the ending. We were just left right in the middle. Frustratingly so. Though the bits of romance leading up to the ending were okay, though maybe a little too high schooly for me. Is that even a word? But you know what I mean, right?

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Ruby Red

Leave a Reply

